Vocal Journeys - some heavy amazing vocalists you may not have heard of... if so, you're missing out... let's rectify that

in #music7 years ago (edited)

steemit.jpg
I have been speaking to @krystle as she posted a great post on heavy vocalists. I ended up pointing out a few vocalists to her including my older spotlight on Warrel Dane who is one of my favorites. I realized she had inspired me and I was chomping at the bit to share a lot of things with her. I realized that familiar mental sensation was nagging at me. It's time for another post.

These will be mostly HEAVY acts as she referred to but, will hopefully be things many of you have never heard of and thus some gems that hopefully you will enjoy.

Warrel Dane


I want to touch briefly on Warrel Dane, but if you want to know more about him then please look at my older post from months ago dedicated just to him. I am going to share the vocal range video for him here, as I linked to it in the other post, but didn't actually embed it. If this video interests you and you want to know more see my other post.

I also am sharing the following video as the one for this song on my original post no longer exists on youtube... SURPRISED?
Nevermore - Dreaming Neon Black

Daniel Gildenlow


The next vocalist I started talking to her about right before I decided it was time to write another post was the vocalist for Pain of Salvation. His name is Daniel Gildenlow.

The first time I really paid attention to the song King of Loss I thought he did ALL of the vocals and that instantly made him perhaps my favorite singer. Later I'd realize that some of the vocals were other band members, though most of them are him. That pushed him back to being ONE of my favorites. He is still insanely gifted.

Pain of Salvation - King of Loss


Here are a few videos I found combing youtube that are collections showing off his vocals.

In the Passing Light of Day - Pain of Salvation - [Progressive Metal][2017] - 1:11:50

Ayreon


Ayreon is not a single person. It is a project. It is a set of concept albums with a theme telling a long set of stories across the albums. Think of them as a rock, metal, pop opera. There is something quite unique about them. They are the creation of Arjen Lucassen and they are works of art. He invites vocalists from many bands all over the world to voice the characters, and he does the same for musicians. I've never encountered anything quite like it. The remainder of this post is going to be dedicated to Ayreon as there is so much that can be covered about them. In fact, every album they made could be a post of its own (yes, I got a thoughtful look... might be a future project).
Click here or the image for the official website

Ooooh... and yes I am super excited as I didn't realize there is a new album, and I love all of the vocalist listed in that screenshot. :) Something to listen to after this post.

The album that first sucked me in was 01011001 from 2008.

It is actually a double album... and I watched and read all the making of videos. This got me hooked on Ayreon. Let us see if I can pass on the addiction to you.

They have making of videos... for ALL of the singers on this album...
Singers of 01011001: Simone Simons, Tom Englund, Wudstik - 5:22


Singers of 01011001: Hansi Kürsch, Daniel Gildenlöw

Singers of 01011001: Steve Lee and Anneke van Giersbergen

Singers of 01011001: Bob Catley, Marjan Welman, Jørn Lande

Ayreon 01011001 Release Party

Now that is just ONE of the many concept albums. They are ALL awesome. If you are a glutton for punishment or you are already addicted here is a two hour + video on the making of an album after 01011001 called The Theory of Everything.
Ayreon - The Theory Of Everything Full Making Off

Here are a few cool shorter videos focusing on the vocalists...
Guess the vocalist 1 - Ayreon "The Theory of Everything"


Guess the vocalist 2 - Ayreon Theory of Everything

Guess the vocalist 3 - New Ayreon Theory of Everything

Guess the vocalist 4 - New Ayreon Theory of Everything

Guess the vocalist 5 - New Ayreon Theory of Everything

Guess the vocalist 6 - New Ayreon Theory of Everything

Guess the vocalist 7 - New Ayreon Theory of Everything

There are guest guitarist and musicians on his albums too, but this post was about vocalist. I hope you are interested. I'll consider whether an Ayreon project is something I want to pursue. It also depends on the level of interest. It would be similiar to my 30 part Metal Tree series.

Sort:  

This post is great, but when I linked to your Metal Tree...mind blown. Looking forward to your future posts.

Yeah the metal tree series took a lot of work. I believe it spanned 30 posts.

Awesome post, gotta have you some Dane in your life, that guy shreds some raw talent in everything he does with that voice. Definitely following you, being a musician myself I follow these guys like people follow sports teams lol

Fantastic post .... But you have single handedly farked up my weekend ... There must be a good few hours viewing and listening here... And if I love the music as I suspect I will... How much does a double vinyl set cost these days... Especially in my piffle fiat currency...woe is me.
But super excited to discover new artists....

At the very bottom of the post I mention Metal Tree... and provide a link. Follow that and it will likely steal more than your weekend.

Listening now instead of getting ready for corporate .... my little cubicle 5 days a week...
Started with Warrel ... jury out at the moment.

Warrell Dane is the best at that style. Him and Halford IMHO!!! Great looking out!!!

I met Warrell at a Nevermore show in ATL. Jeff Loomis and him are super nice guys!!

I've covered Jeff Loomis quite a few times in various posts too. Great musician.

Brother God Bless You Very Nice

Awesome post and thank for the link to my post I really appreciate it, I have so much work to do now - checking out all of these brilliant artists you've suggested.

Ayreon seems pretty amazing, I will be definitely be trying to check it out - I love music that tells stories so this should be perfect!

Upvoted and resteemed - Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59