๐ŸŽถ Heavier Music A Fun Test For Your Vocal Range - My Top Picks ๐ŸŽถ

in #music โ€ข 7 years ago

There is nothing I love more than an awesome vocal challenge, better than that is a vocal challenge accompanied by heavy music full of power and emotion.

When I first started to really sing when I was around 12 years old, I had very limited control and I think in some ways I was hindered by my four octave range the power behind it.

I spent hours singing songs on repeat driving my family insane when I went out of key, or with my constant range changes - I had this tool but no idea of how to use it.

I didn't love to sing when I was very young and I think my insecurities over my hearing impairment, may have led me to shine away from anything that made me rely on my hearing - including singing.

Once i realised how much I truly loved to sing I couldn't be stopped, I had to turn the songs up to insane volume levels to be able to hear them properly - but then meant I had to really pelt out the song.

So the first way I started to learn to control my voice was through sheer volume and power, maybe because of this I have always been drawn to strong powerful vocals.

Heavy songs fulfill most things I like about music, they are full of passion and emotion and often tell a story along the way - so here are my top picks for heavy music with a vocal challenge.


Evanescence
Sweet Sacrifice

Evanescence cops a lot a flack about their status as a band, are they rock are they metal and to be honest I don't really care - I just like their music.

I have found Amy Lee's vocal range to be an amazing challenge and she performs songs that tell a story - I like the challenge and the sound so what's not to like?

Some of my favourite songs from Evanescence are Call Me When You're Sober, My Immortal, Hello and Lithium all brilliant and all provide some serious vocal challenge when you're belting it out with passion.

They have heaps of great songs that provide a variety of different challenges from range to ability, worth checking out with the mainstream bias on your mind.


System Of A Down
BYOB

Again another group that are not nearly appreciated enough, their songs fit two main styles those with a message and those for fun - both are awesome.

System is an American Armenian band, they have countless brilliant songs some of the best are those that pack a political punch like the one featured above.

Some other songs worth checking out would be Aerials, Toxicity, Chop Suey and Hypnotize, these are all amazing tracks and definitely worth your time.

BYOB is a perfect example of their truly unique style and really well worth a listen, but there are so many amazing songs of theirs to check out - no wonder they are one of my favourites of all time.


Tool
The Pot

A slower softer song at times it still meets my heavy standard, the beautiful thing about Tool is their ability to use the soft with the heavy to pack more of punch when things really get going.

Known to have hidden meanings in their music, I have listened keenly to their songs for over a decade and still tonight while writing this post - I found myself struggling to choose which song of theirs to feature.

Unique in style and imagery I get lost in the long instrumentals, that can make you feel as though you are physically being moved - their music builds to a point where it all comes crashing down.

Some other songs of theirs worth listening to are 42 and 6, Anema, Sober and Lateralus, just beware their songs are a lot longer than most these days.


Korn
Coming Undone

Amusingly Korn was the first single I ever bought Freak On A Leash, I loved it and just couldn't get enough and I guess in a way was the beginning of my love of heavier song and music.

It was unlike anything I had ever heard before, up until then I had only really been exposed to poppy mainstream top 20 style music - which don't get me wrong will always hold a place in my heart, but nothing gets me psyched up like heavier music.

Korn music felt strong and powerful and full of emotion I just couldn't go past them, I really recommend checking out not only this song but Freak On A Leash as well.


Drowning Pool
Bodies

To be honest I don't know a lot about this group, but I remember the first time I heard this song I just couldn't help but get caught up in it.

The feelings and emotions it brought to the surface just felt so raw and primal, I really love this song even given it's darker undertones I can't help but find myself singing as it builds along the way.

Great to get you pumped up and going, I used to listen to this song when I was running late for the train - I found I'd be walking with such an intense focus and speed.


Disturbed
Down With The Sickness

I have featured Disturbed before with their rendition of the Sound Of Silence, now one of my altime favourite songs.

Disturbed's lead sings has an amazing vocal range and ability, their songs aren't just noisy screaming - but actual challenging melodies that some of the pop singers today would struggle to replicate.

I love the deep tonality of his voice and the immense power behind it, I really recommend checking out the above song and The Vengeful One, The Light and The Sound Of Silence.


There are heaps of amazing heavy and metal bands out there, that take their genre to the next level and allow their natural abilities shine through.

What's your favourite heavy song/band?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort: ย 

Great post. Fort someone that is not a good singer, where would you suggest they start to improve their voice?

Loading...

Melissa Cross's vocal lessons are great!

Nice post. Keep up the good work. I like music posts and I tend to enjoy metal (aka heavy in your post) genres and sub-genres the most. It has a lot of very cool sounds, and not just whichever one the people who claim to not like it get a mental picture of when they think of it. Good stuff.

That's just it people judge by the name and don't listen to find out, I tried to incorporate a varied view that actually included singing rather than the stereotyped screaming.

Most people probably wouldn't think I'm into metal just by looking at me, but I love any music that can make you feel like metal can it's some of the most emotive music out there.

Thanks for the support and glad you liked it :)

Here is one I particularly enjoy:

Oh massive thank you for bringing this to my attention, love the juxtaposition of the conflicting sounds so awesome.

Just love the feeling when it kicks into gear, and damn I love a bassy voice - probably from my own inability to hit the deep notes, but just damn awesome stuff thanks again :)

This video someone made will likely be a lot faster than my post though. :)

That is pretty phenomenal range and control, and the thing is because he is pelting it out I think he is just in his head voice and hasn't fully geared up to his falsetto - though I could be wrong.

That was awesome thanks so much :)

That vocalist Warrel Dane has a truly insane range... when he was younger he could sing so high I used to joke that his nuts were in a vice. chuckle

He is one of my favorite vocalists... I wrote a post about him over 4 months ago if you are interested in more... some REALLY good stuff.

https://steemit.com/music/@dwinblood/vocalist-spotlight-warrel-dane-poetic-operatic-unique-metal

Wow that looks like an epic post and I am definitely going to be reading it but as it's 1:50am here in Aus, I'll have to leave it until the morning.

He has such a beautiful soft sound at the beginning and then boom deep as fuck lol, absolutely love it :D

Niiiice! Love all these vids.๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks, glad you liked them :)

Grew up with them๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Yeah these are my teens to twenties here.

Really appreciate Tool. The rest, I'm iffy :P

upvoted
@shayne

Tool is awesome!

I can appreciate why you're iffy on some most people are, I studied music and I mingled with all the different groups of musos - I try not to get caught up in what others think is good music and stick to what I like.

This is probably why there are a heap of single songs from artists that I love, but I can't stand the rest of their music.

To each their own I just love the feeling each of these songs creates for me, plus some are just awesome to rage out with :P

These are heavy, and not only on vocals! :)
I really like your first one: Evanescence - Sweet Sacrifice

Sweet Sacrifice is perfect for getting out that pent up anger and frustration, I love it nothing like going off with it when you're in a bad mood - suddenly things start to feel better.

I can imagine....Will try actually next time I have a bad mood :)

You really should, nothing like pelting out the line "One day I'm gonna forget your name,
And one sweet day, you're gonna drown in my lost pain."

Just gives you a full on emotional release as it washes over you, I love it :)

so nice music video. thank you for sharing.
Upvoted :D

Thanks :)

I've just post an abstract art : you may look into this @krystle : https://steemit.com/art/@royalmacro/in-memory-of-martyrs-at-manchester

Loved the post! I'm a singer of a rock/metal band and 'The Fighter' by In This Moment is a favorite for me to practice!

This is really an interesting style, I love it when she really gets going - I'm not a big fan of vocal rasp but when used to add texture and depth to a song and in this case executed perfectly.

Awesome choice, it can be so hard to find good female metal singers to listen too - thanks for the comment.

So true! She definitely has a certain style of her own. I also enjoy Halestorm and The Pretty Reckless. They all have great ranges and are fun to practice to. At least for me. ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿค˜

I will check out the others you have mentioned, I'm always up for abit of a vocal challenge - Cheers :)

Cool! Thanks again for the knowledge!

No worries :D

Being an owner of a record label and musician/producer myself with heavy punk and metal backgrounds I agree with everything you've said. If you like TOOL check out Brand New as well. MY favorite band of all time, and they're legendary. They're breaking up soon so maybe you can catch a show before and trust me you won't regret it. You have to listen to the Devil and god album to really get a feel for all they offer.

I listened to a good 20 mins of the video and they're not bad, it's a little more mellow overall to what I'm used to - but that has nice effects in and off itself.

I will definitely check them out more when I get a chance, I have had so many great suggestions it's going to take a while to properly check them all out.

Cheers for the comment and recommendations :D

CHEERS! STEEM ON.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46