Dealing with earworms

in #music7 years ago (edited)

If you think that this post is about hygiene and ears maintaining, you're dead wrong.

I heard some melody this morning in car and it just reminded me on some trashy but well known song from the nineties. Suddenly, that whole song and it's arrangement reconstructed itself in my mind. And now I can't get rid of it! I never listened that song intentionally, but in one period all radio stations and TV programs were literally raped by that song. So that's one of those songs that you never wanted to know by heart but you do!


While I'm trying to figure out how to get that song outta my head, be free to check what I was writing lately:

Sounds and humans
A440 - Universal Tuning Standard
Why do plants like music?
The oldest surviving notated musical piece (and brief history of musical notation)
Evolution of drum set
How technology killed music industry?


Now let's get back to the subject!

Dealing with earworms


IMAGE SOURCE


Earworms/brainworms/stuck songs are songs or some pieces of melody that remain stuck in your mind when you don't listen it!

The point is that in 90% of cases people can't stand those earworms. Earworms are usually simple songs with catchy melody and constant rhythm. Almost always those songs were intended to big masses and they have one recognizable part that is easy to remember.
People usually don't listen those songs but they were great HITS on all charts so it is possible that you always hated those songs but you know every word and note by heart.
And it is not strange that earworms are simple minded songs! They are simple and catchy just to make them easy to remember and that - brings the money!


There are few things in everyday life that can trigger an earworm in your head.

  • The most usual trigger is when you hear that damn song first thing in the morning and now it is stuck in your head and you can't get rid of it!
  • An earworm can be triggered if you just heard a similar melody and your brain just turned to play that old song over and over again!
  • You just remembered some situation from the past related to that song and your brain makes connections that you are not aware about!
  • You just heard somebody whistling, singing or saying a quotation from that song and now you just want it out of your head!


IMAGE SOURCE


Earworms can be very bothering and unpleasant!

It is just streaming in your mind over and over again and when you catch yourself in the middle of singing it, that means that you need some help. Maybe joining some earworm support group could help!

  • Hello, my name is @dumar022 and I don't have access to my brain since one song decided to move in and it doesn't want to get out!
  • Hello, @dumar022!

I'm just kidding! Just focus on something else! On something where your memory and brain are needed!

Keep your mind #busy for ten minutes with something like little sudoku or a good book! Surely, the worst way to deal with an earworm is replacing it with another!


Thank you!!!

logo

logo

Sort:  

You now that you can increase you payouts fast just using BOTs?

Learn how here! / https://steewit.com/utopian-io/@yabapmatt/steem-bot-tracker-send-bids-directly-from-the-site

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 1 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you @dumar for revealing the through meaning of earthworms and how they can be getting rid of.

You just remembered some situation from the past related to that song and your brain makes connections that you are not aware about!

The above is always the case with me but I have also learnt how to deal with it here. Thanks

@eurogee

Thank you for the comment

What was the song?

Some nasty Danijela Marinovic shit

Uuuuuufff. That's the worse.
I Have Halid in my ear for a couple of days now. I heard my colleague singing and now can't get it out.
Still better than Danijela.

I personally enjoy them. I don't actually know if it is just ok, or some kind of disorder, but what I can tell is that earworms have their energy that needs to be dissipated. resisting them will not help.
Thanks @dumar022 :)

Depends on how good your earworms are.;) thank you

You are welcome :)

Lol.... So at last, I will know the name of that seemingly harmless thing.
Earworm you are called. For knowing your name today. The battle is already won 😁 😂

Thank you for not infecting us with your particular worm!
Have you tried putting your earphones on blast the damn thing out with really loud music?

Yes! When I take them out, earworm comes back

The best way I clear my head of the song...is to find the song and give it a good listen. That usually clears it believe it or not .

This is what I will try next, thanks

Authenticity BOT!


Great job! We found more similar posts, but your post is the 1st one posted.
GrumpyCat / https://steewit.com/@grumpycat
can give you a downvote because of the copies!
Defend yourself! / https://steewit.com/delegation/@erodedthoughts/defend-yourself-against-grumpycat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94