10TH WEEKLY OPEN-MIC CONTEST DETAILS; & HAPPY HOUR: Marvin Gaye/Ed Sheeran Crossover by My Brother ;)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago (edited)

CLICK ON THE LINK TO CAST YOUR VOTES, CONTEST ENDS TOMORROW!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/open-mic-week-10-see-who-played-this-week-at-open-mic-and-vote-for-your-favorite-steemian-musicians

 WORLD'S FIRST BLOCKCHAIN BASED MUSIC RECORD LABEL HERE ON STEEMIT! 

Details in link below:

https://steemit.com/thirsty/@thirstyrecords/thirsty-records-update-we-are-official

Sort:  

This was really good Voted up! Going to head over to the other link.

Thanks, that's my brother...I usually state that in the title. He's not on steemit yet, I'm just getting him some exposure before he gets here! There's originals on my page as well.

Yeah, I thought so too haha!

What a great voice! I enjoyed the song.

Oh good! There's a few originals of his on my page as well, which are great. And I haven't even put the ones I consider his best up, going to leave that to him ;)

My own personal taste in music, with regards to male singers, has always been more drawn towards the deeper tone of voice, and it quickly became clear that this guy can certainly get those deeper notes, especially in the chorus line "Let's get it on". My initial reaction was: "Whoa how did he get note, it was so low down his chin must have hit the sea bed". I mean what exactly is it that makes a great performer? As the saying goes: it is the singer or is it the song that moves us, captures us or makes us think. Well I suppose in theory a great singer could sing anything and it would still sound good. But then does that mean the opposite is true, meaning if a bad singer sang a song, which had great words, would that also sound good. Well after years of X-factor on our TV screens we all know that is not true. For a song to live one needs to at least a voice and it is clear this guy has a voice which has the potential to become even better. I actually listened to the song twice and on the second occasion I put the page in the back ground (so I could not see him) so as to not to be distracted by watching the performance. This is a great way to find out if it is the singer or or is it the song. I liked it even more second time round. Every singer I have ever loved is because they have a particular sound to them and that sound somehow vibrates my very being and this vibration makes me feel alive. This is the gift that great singers bring to the world and it is a honorable position. One singer comes to mind, with regards to this, is Michael McDonald, who also has a deep voice, and what makes his voice stand out is because it has a particular smoothness to it. I know, from listening to interviews, that McDonald worked hard to develop that smoothness quality in his voice and it took many years. Thus perhaps this singer could develop this "deep ocean sound" quality of his voice in the same way as Michael McDonald developed his "smoothness". Just some thoughts I had. Needless to say I very much enjoyed the performance. Cheers!

Awesome feedback @arthuradamson. I do love a good bass/baritone with rich tones. Then again, I always listen to the bass line of a piece, find the bass, cellos and tubas in an orchestra. LOL
I like that @dreemit's brother has a little rasp too, but not to the point where it feels like my throat is bleeding, if you know what I mean?

I think we can forgive "bad" singing if we have an emotional connection to the performer. But a singer has to find the connection and meaning in the lyrics and notes then emote that to the audience. Anyone can sing notes. Not everyone can transform those notes into a musical journey.

Hey @merej99, good points, totally agree with you.

I do know what you mean @merej99, actually you'll notice that not all of his songs have as much rasp, more so when he's been doing alot of singing or stretching his range @arthuradamson thank you both for listening to him, this all helps bring more talent to steemit :)

I'm glad you liked it! You should listen to the one beneath it, it's an original of his called Leap. I have more down the page too, a couple more covers and originals. I actually haven't put up what I consider his best originals, I want to leave those for him when I finally drag him on here, haha! I think what draws me to a singer is their passion. My brother has that in spades, sometimes he sings with such feeling it makes me tear up or feel joy depending on the song. Anyway, thanks for checking him out!

Your brother can sing! I really enjoyed it!

I'm glad! I'm working on recruiting him, he should have his own account one day soon. For now I've been looking into the music community for him, making connections and helping them out when I can. Pave the road ahead so to speak :)

Ha, that is so nice of you! I hope he will appreciate it lol

That is sick!!! I did not expect you singing like that wowowowowowow

Hi there! That is actually my brother singing, I am recruiting him to steemit shortly :) He is in fact at this very moment awaiting his first baby's arrival, so it will be just a bit. I know, he's awesome, haha! I have a few of his originals on my page too, he's multi-talented ;)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52