The Dance Of Eternity - (Dream Theater Guitar Cover)

in #music7 years ago

Good night dear steemians!, here is another of my guitar covers!, this one is again from Dream Theater:

This is one of the funniest songs to play from this band, it is quite difficult, a lot of time signature changes, but once you finally learn it all, it is super fun to play, i can play this dozens of times and never get bored... Although this kind of music may not be appealing for everyone!

Hope you like it!
Best regards!
Rafael

Sort:  

Monstruoso!!!! Saludos!!!!

Gracias mi pana! saludos!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dreamrafa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks my friend!

Great performance man! Awesome!

Awesome job! Not an easy song to play..you nailed it!

Thanks man!

Not an easy song man. Respect!

And as far as not everyone liking it. It happens to be one of my favorite bands. DT is who I listen to when I want to melt my mind over just how all the cogs in that band are working together and how insanely difficult it is.

There is a taste for everyone... I do realize DT may not be appealing for everybody, although is my favorite band...

Well I love Dream Theater. If people want the epitome of complexity and technical skill I think they have no equal. Sure you could find individual musicians that might be on par with some of these guys but the fact that what they do is so insanely difficult and they manage to do it together live just has me sitting there with my mouth sagging open catching flies. I will forever be a Dream Theater fan.

Now I do have a question for you on this Dance of Eternity. Did you work this song out so you can play it by feel, or are you having to do the insane counting that goes along with all of these crazy time changes? I ask because I have nowhere close to this skill level, this is a song I'd be wary to attempt myself even if I was in shape and back at decent skill level. You are quite beyond where I ever managed to get.

Though it does appear we have very similar music taste. :)

I do not count, that would be way too hard lol, i kind of learned the song by listen it very much times, and when it came to learn the chops, it kinda was already there, mostly by feel... I do have the original transcription book and studied that, its a crazy song, it took me some time to achieve of course, i first learned this back in 2001 (some time ago lol), and recently re-learned with an improved technique...

I do not count, that would be way too hard lol, i kind of learned the song by listen it very much times, and when it came to learn the chops, it kinda was already there, mostly by fee

Good... I have to learn them by feel. I'd get lost trying to count that and play at the same time.

Pretty sure that even DT members themselves play it by feel, maybe only Jordan Rudess will count some parts...

Yeah Jordan is insane... he has quickly become an amazingly important piece of that band. They are pretty amazing. So fun to watch live too.

Yep, nowadays they are pretty much a live band, as their latest album are not great, they are still good live...

What is funny here is if you made me pick my favorite bands at the moment it would be Dream Theater, Opeth, and Nevermore. For different moods. Opeth I'm not as into their new stuff, but I love everything up through Watershed a lot. Not the most complex but man it has a unique sound... DT is for when I want to melt my mind due to the "holy shit factor"... Nevermore... just great vocals, great thrash, and nice guitar work.

Now Nevermore not being together anymore means that eventually I'll need to fill that top three slot with someone else.

The funny thing is you've now covered TWO of my top three bands... and this song... man YOU did this song. Impressive.

Yeah, maybe i can do some Nevermore too!, any suggestion?... Hehe, also Opeth is one of my top favorites but the old albums, also same with DT, i like the old stuff better, although i have done some of their new stuff too...

Nevermore has some great stuff. Might be more complicated than Opeth, but not anywhere close to Dream Theater. Has some absolutely brilliant vocals (perhaps my favorite vocalist) and very powerful guitar work. They definitely skirt the edges of thrash metal + progressive metal.

Let me see if I can find you some good ones... might suggest Obsidian Conspiracy from their final album... there is a good video of Jeff Loomis playing it at a guitar center without vocals... will give you the track with vocals too.

wow those are some challenging songs!... I forgot Jeff joined Nevermore, definitely some kickass stuff...

Jeff didn't join. He formed it with Warrel Dane and Jim Shepard. He actually left Nevermore to join Arch Enemy, and Warrel Dane and Jim went on to reform Sanctuary.

Yeah you are right, i was confused, Jeff leaved Nevermore!

Their songs are pretty much all great. That one is likely one of the more challenging ones. You could pick any number of songs though and they sound great.

Does Dance of Eternity actually require the 7th string? I was telling my wife that you were a bad ass and this is not a song I could see myself attempting. She got a look on her face and said "Well now you just have to practice a lot, because I want to see you play this". I don't think she truly grasps just how much of a monster this song is. I currently only have a 6 string so if it requires the 7th string that may give me an OUT for awhile. :)

Some parts have 7 strings, but can be arranged for 6 strings :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59149.53
ETH 2749.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29