You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dance Of Eternity - (Dream Theater Guitar Cover)

in #music7 years ago

And as far as not everyone liking it. It happens to be one of my favorite bands. DT is who I listen to when I want to melt my mind over just how all the cogs in that band are working together and how insanely difficult it is.

Sort:  

There is a taste for everyone... I do realize DT may not be appealing for everybody, although is my favorite band...

Well I love Dream Theater. If people want the epitome of complexity and technical skill I think they have no equal. Sure you could find individual musicians that might be on par with some of these guys but the fact that what they do is so insanely difficult and they manage to do it together live just has me sitting there with my mouth sagging open catching flies. I will forever be a Dream Theater fan.

Now I do have a question for you on this Dance of Eternity. Did you work this song out so you can play it by feel, or are you having to do the insane counting that goes along with all of these crazy time changes? I ask because I have nowhere close to this skill level, this is a song I'd be wary to attempt myself even if I was in shape and back at decent skill level. You are quite beyond where I ever managed to get.

Though it does appear we have very similar music taste. :)

I do not count, that would be way too hard lol, i kind of learned the song by listen it very much times, and when it came to learn the chops, it kinda was already there, mostly by feel... I do have the original transcription book and studied that, its a crazy song, it took me some time to achieve of course, i first learned this back in 2001 (some time ago lol), and recently re-learned with an improved technique...

I do not count, that would be way too hard lol, i kind of learned the song by listen it very much times, and when it came to learn the chops, it kinda was already there, mostly by fee

Good... I have to learn them by feel. I'd get lost trying to count that and play at the same time.

Pretty sure that even DT members themselves play it by feel, maybe only Jordan Rudess will count some parts...

Yeah Jordan is insane... he has quickly become an amazingly important piece of that band. They are pretty amazing. So fun to watch live too.

Yep, nowadays they are pretty much a live band, as their latest album are not great, they are still good live...

By the way those are probably my three favorites but there are A LOT of bands I like a lot. If I was forced to pick my top three though, those are them.

I also like Symphony X a lot, and I really like some of the Haken stuff.

I've started listening to some Animals as Leaders with Tosin Abasi... but if you decide to cover any of those you're going to need some 8 or 9 string guitars. :)

and yeah this stuff is insane...

Though the closest to Dream Theater that I really like lately is Haken and I really love the song "The Architect"

They have a great vocalist too... Mike Portnoy sat in on one of their songs so apparently at least some if not ALL of DT tend to follow these guys progress too...

That's enough spamming your post with music... I could do this all day if you get me started.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63192.94
ETH 2476.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69