| ⍟ A dream come true ⍟ | Photos from last night's gig with my bandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

My dad bought an acoustic guitar from his first paycheck, back in '86. He is what you'd call an occasional folk singer. I remember it sitting behind a closet with a few broken strings. I occasionally picked it up but never had the curiosity to hold it in my hand s more than a few minutes. I liked how it smelled (like old vintage furniture), and I peeked inside the sound hole because there was a picture of the Beatles there.

I grew up listening to rock-n-roll music, mainly classic rock, but it wasn't until I had the opportunity of seeing and touching an actual electric guitar that I picked up my interest for the instrument.

I was around 15 and just transferred to my new high school in Iasi. The only guy I knew in the city was A., who was a friend from back home that was studying geology at the University. So I went to visit on the weekend, and met his flatmate too, who had an old Stratocaster copy. I grabbed it and put it on my shoulders, and everything felt right.

There was no Youtube back then, so most of us had our own music-video collection stored on our computers. The guys were in the middle of an audition. I found myself with the guitar in my hands and music playing. The video was Give in to me by Michael Jackson, featuring Slash (he was-still is- my favorite guitarist-his style speaks to me in a particular way). So I started fooling around with the guitar feeling the solos (and boy, what solos does that song have!) - but it felt like I was playing. It always feels like I'm actually the one playing when I listen to his music. For the rest of the night, I fooled around with the guitar on all the videos that followed.

Next day I asked my dad to put some strings on that old guitar we had.


Last night my band, Beauty and the Rat opened the last day of our local Rock festival, called Rock n'Iasi. The show was a blast, lights and sound were excellent.

1.jpg

2.jpg

8.jpg

7.jpg

Earlier this week I made myself some presents: a new strap and a custom pedalboard (it wasn't such a great idea to change it right before the concert with no prior rehearsals, because my feet weren't used to the new set-up)

3.jpg

This is Cip. He's covering the growl part of our music.

4.jpg

Manu, rocking that bass.

5.jpg

Codrin has one of the most cool playing styles I know.

6.jpg

Me and the other Alex, the lead vocal.

It feels amazing to be on stage!

If you want to watch my journey, you can follow me @demostene. If you really like this story, please upvote and resteem. Thank you!

[ BONUS : Here's the music video I made for one of our songs with live footage I collected ]

Sort:  

Cool stuff !! I Loved it. Your band is super. And as always, your text is interesting. Loved the video. But the music blew me. Wish you lots of luck in your journey @demostene. Damn cool and awesome to be a guitarist.You guys have talent. 100% Upvote.

Your words are so kind @nehab, thank you! ^_^

Most welcome @demostene . My pleasure :)

It seems that you had really wonderful time on the stage. Keep going

Wow so nice, you should post a video on dtube as well. I would love to hear it :)

Thank you @teodora! I tried to upload to d-tube last week but it was a bad experience :(

it will not work from the mobile. Try it on a laptop :) and have patience

I did :)) ended up uploading to youtube instead, I'll keep checking the platform though, I'm sure it wil get better

also, I followed you :)

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

#life
Abraham Lincoln : In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.

words of wisdom @ainal! Thank you for the resteem. I have followed you :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @demostene to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

All bro cool stuff man I really like it. This is great I love music and doing music for many years now and I tried to collaborate with many other artists this is great I grew up listening to rock to and classic rock. Be well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55