🎵How I Discovered Enya🎵steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago (edited)

One song of hers, in the soundtrack of a movie, captured me instantly...

This is the true story of how I came to appreciate the music of songwriter Enya.

At the request of @bleujay, I selected this topic as my next post from a list of "future articles" that I maintain here ...

L.A. Story - Los Angeles

L.A. Story - Los Angeles - Photo courtesy of Josh Rose and http://unsplash.com

Can you guess what Enya song it may have been?

If you are an Enya fan, you probably have your own Enya favorites. The first Enya song I ever heard, and still my favorite, is this song: "Exile."


Video courtesy of YouTube

I was watching the movie "L.A. Story," starring that comedian I almost always enjoy, Steve Martin. Suddenly, I was immersed in that haunting, deeply moving music and song.

Here are a few phrases from the lyrics to "Exile:"

Cold as the northern winds
In December mornings,
Cold is the cry that rings
From this far distant shore...

How can I chase away
All these fears deep inside?...

I will wait the time to come.
I'll find a way home...

When the deep, resonant sounds of "Exile" began playing, I was instantly smitten, and became desperate to know who the artist was. Of course, I later learned that it was Enya. Since that day, I have taught myself to play "Exile" on the keyboard. I generally access some kind of layered string voices when I do.

"How Can I Keep From Singing?"

Enya has also "covered" another wonderful, yet quite old, Christian hymn, "How Can I Keep From Singing".


Video courtesy of YouTube

"How Can I Keep From Singing" was written by an American Baptist minister, Robert Wadsworth Lowry, and first published in 1868.

Even though the lyrics have drifted in a more "secular" direction as this hymn has been adopted by succeding generations of songsters, the underlying Christian truths are still strongly foundational in its lyrics, now in the public domain. I'll comment on some of them here:

My life goes on in endless song
Above earth's lamentations,
I hear the real, though far-off hymn
That hails a new creation.

Jesus/God, creator of all things, has promised to one day restore and renew this fallen universe to — and even beyond — its original pristine beauty. My friend and reader - may I invite you to join me in that New Creation? You can read more about it in my article here:

    Heaven? No, I Mean the Real, Ultimate Heaven...

And, of course, I welcome your inquiries about the New Creation in the "comment" section below.

Through all the tumult and the strife
I hear it's music ringing,
It sounds an echo in my soul.
How can I keep from singing?

Although we presently must tolerate the dire effects of the curse, we can still see and hear the echos of the original beauty of creation. Every soul who recognizes that beauty longs for its restoration. Every soul who has been personally touched by the grace of Jesus, the LORD of all, waits in expectation of the ultimate re-creation of our present, fallen realm, into New Heavens and New Earth, "the home of righteousness."

While though the tempest loudly roars,
I hear the Truth, it liveth.
And though the darkness 'round me close,
Songs in the night it giveth.

Jesus said "I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life; no man comes unto the Father, but by me." - John 14:6

No storm can shake my inmost calm,
While to that Rock I'm clinging.
Since Love is LORD of heaven and earth
How can I keep from singing?

Scripture portrays Christ Jesus as "The Rock" - a place of refuge for His own, yet a Stone that would crush oppressing tyrants.

When tyrants tremble in their fear
And hear their death knell ringing,
When friends rejoice both far and near
How can I keep from singing?

This stanza makes me think of Psalm 2, a song in which the Messiah literally laughs at all the earthly pretenders to the throne, the tyrants who have oppressed humanity.

In prison cell and dungeon vile
Our thoughts to them are winging,
When friends by shame are undefiled
How can I keep from singing?

Throughout history, men of faith have been imprisoned, tortured, and martyred because they have refused to bow the knee to tyrants.

L.A. Story - Los Angeles

L.A. Story - Los Angeles - Photo courtesy of Henning Witzel and http://unsplash.com

I hope you've enjoyed my story about how I came to appreciate Enya and her music. Thanks, and a tip of the hat to @bleujay for helping me focus on this article.

Thanks also to my faithful followers for reading, upvoting, and following me. I write this stuff for you, and without you to read and appreciate it, I wouldn't be here at all.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?
⬇️PLEASE CLICK THE IMAGE BELOW⬇️


@creatr

Follow me, I'm creatr

Sort:  

Hauntingly beautiful! Like most Enya creations.

Speaking of hauntingly beautiful, I had a similar experience during the credits of Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers with Gollum's Song by Emiliana Torrini.

Hi, @stan, Thank you for stopping by and adding to the discussion.

I didn't recall that moment in the films, but I've just given Gollum's Song by Emiliana Torrini a listen; Very nice! I appreciate you sharing it here.

Loading...

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I've loved the music of Enya for ages. She has a very cool voice.
And since you like Enya, maybe you will like another band from out that way - Clannad - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clannad

Hi, Trevor! Thanks for your comment, and I appreciate your recommendation... I'll be sure to check out Clannad!

this came to mind while I read your post.....chorus from It is Well.... And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

I can't sing this w/o crying....

I love Enya's voice as well. Im not familiar with all her music, but some of the songs I've heard I have enjoyed. I like how you brought the gospel to light with the verses of her song.

Thanks for stopping by, @countrygirl! Yes, I am constantly straining to hear the sound of the trumpet... Can't wait! ;) :)

I can't recall when I first heard Enya (a long long time ago) but I'm sure the first song was Orinoco Flow and I've been a fan ever since. Any fan of Enya should also check out Clannad and Loreena McKennitt.

Hello, @darth-azrael, nice to meet you.

I am already a long time fan of Loreena McKennitt, thank you. You are the second to recommend Clannad; I will check them out!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment here! I hope you'll browse the rest of my blog as time permits; I have a Topical Table of Contents to make that a breeze... ;)

Enya was a member of Clannad before she went solo. They are all related somehow I believe. You might also like Maire Brennan who was also a member and has her own solo releases. Not as good as Enya but not bad. I like Loreena McKennitt the beast out of all of them though :)

Thank you again!

Orinoco flow came to mind too.

Enya is one of my favs, I've been listening her since the end of 80's.

Hey, @kalemandra! I'm so glad you've found my blog and found an article of interest. I don't know if you noticed, but I have a Topical Table of Contents that you can read by clicking on the GIF below: 😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you for posting @creatr.

One could not have received a more interesting topic and well-written missive in one's feed than this one today. Who said the pen is mightier than the sword.....you can wield the pen better than most can wield a sword. Weild....to use......with skill and ease.

Of course...you do not need anyone to acknowledge this....you need only figure out what direction you would weild the mighty pen.

Appreciated the opportunity to ponder these things and the weilded words from a developed gift.

Thank you for the mention as always....it is my pleasure.

Thank you, @bleujay, for visiting and for your encouraging comments. 😄😇😄

@creatr

L.A. Story is how I found Enya as well! How cool!
I'll never forget the coffee ordering scene.
"I'll have a half-double-decaffeinated-half-calf with a twist of lemon."
(^^^Yes, that's totally from memory!)

Hahahaha... Yes, very memorable scene! :) Thanks for commenting! Fun memories!

Bravo! Excellent post dear friend @creatr, congratulations.

Thank you for your visit today, @jlufer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63862.88
ETH 2754.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64