Music Review -- Rainbow Underground - Mix Tape Vol 1 -- A Compilation Album by LGBT Women and Enby People

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I found a post on another blog promoting a compilation album of electronic music by mostly women. That is potentially three strikes against it.

First, it's a compilation. I'm not keen on compilations as a rule, they tend not to flow as well as tracks written and recorded for one album by one act.

Second, it's electronic music. While I will grant that some electronic music is terrific, especially some house, some is more about the techniques than the sounds. I'm not sure you'll understand what I mean here; I'm not sure I do. I'm going to assume you are smarter than I so you'll be okay.

Third, it's by LGBT women and enby people. I only just ran into the term enby today, so I'll not pretend I know a damn thing about it. I don't think it's relevant to my point anyway. I'm hoping I can get away with calling all the artists ladies, with my upbringing that shows respect. Now, the issue here is not that the artists are all ladies, after all, some of my best friends are ladies. The issue is that the artists are members of a specific group of society and as such could put more effort into the agenda than the music.

On the plus side, the post which led me to this music was by @sapphic, a new friend whom I've come to respect. Worst case, it's let down by any of the above reasons and I am out a few minutes. What are a few minutes when we have so many of them?

The album consists of 11 tracks by 11 artists hosted on bandcamp, which I've found to be one of the best platforms for music from a listener's point of view. Top marks for that choice.

All the contributions have different styles as one would expect, but they are all technically excellent. I don't know how to categorise this music, and I don't want to mis-categorise it for fear of putting you off having got you this far. I will affirm that it is electronic music and it is very, very good. I will listen to it again, and I will buy it.

Speaking of buying it, if you like this music half as much as I do, please buy it. Proceeds from all sales are being donated to Trans Lifeline and Planned Parenthood, who deserve all the support we can give them.

The album is called Rainbow Underground - Mix Tape Vol 1. I hope that means there will be at the very least a Vol 2. Without further ado I give you

a0660294297_16.jpg
Rainbow Underground - Mix Tape Vol 1

Catweasel.gif

Trust me, I'm a doctor.
Catweasel

If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving is not for you.

cws.gif

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

cws.gif

The Alliance

cws.gif

SteemUSA

cws.gif

Isle of Write

cws.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite

cws.gif

Sort:  

Ok, I'm going to upvote this because I'm married to you and that's kind of in the deal. But that's 2 minutes of my life I will never get back. (I sampled three selections. None of them did a thing for me.) It worries me some of the shadowy places you wander into when I let you off the leash. I'll stick to my New Age crap, TYVM.

Now that I'm here, let me introduce you to a little device called Bing. (Also, Google works. There are others.) If you go there and type "enby people" into the search box you'll get an answer to your question ... like this one:

~~~~~~~~~~~*

enby -- Pronounced (EHN-bee)

Based off of the shortening of "non-binary", N.B.

A term used by the non-binary/genderqueer community as an alternative to girl/boy.

~~~~~~~~~~~*

I think that's what I've heard called "gender fluid" in other platforms -- by the people themselves. Those humans ... you see them in the line at the grocery store ... you can't decide if they're a mister or a mizz .... but it doesn't matter, because it's none of your business and one thing this world doesn't need is more labels.

There ... at least now we both learned something from this unfortunate detour. You're welcome.

And I'm glad these musicians (?) have vagabonds like you to appreciate their music (?). Otherwise they'd all have to go answer phones for insurance companies to feed themselves and I wouldn't wish that on any living soul. (Well, maybe one, but you already know about him.) But I'm keeping a closer eye on you. Just so you know. (Points to eyes / points to you. Twice.)

Loading...

LOL... BTW, good solid reasons why not wanting to go into reviewing or advising compilation albums, and cool you did in anyway, in the end :)

Are you one of the ladies? If so, thank you for the music. Either way, thank you for the comment.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Hi @catweasel, thanks for the lovely review, I'll pass on your post to the other artists in the compilation.

xx

Thanks for the lovely music.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.21$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

What can I say to me about this? I did none of the hard work. It's not my art that's being promoted here. I just scribbled a few words.

So, rainbow ladies, this is for you.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 27

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80