Do whales like Music? The experiment started in the 70's but now I'm trying to found the same at Steemit!

in #music8 years ago (edited)

There have been in the past some experiments to understand if whales like music. Now I'm testing that out with #onemanband project.

I guess this story started when mankind started to sail the seas, the interactions with these mammals happen and so many stories have been lost in time.

Regarding the relation to music, there are some studies and experiments that started in the late 70's with Jim Nollman (composer and activist) that made several recordings with dolphins and whales. On his experiments, he used floating drums, electric guitars, and a mandolin.

In 1975, Jim Nollman was making wood drums in his own studio north of San Francisco, and just starting to get interested in communicating with cetaceans. Seeking an instrument to meet these beings halfway, he adapted his drums to float on the ocean while he played. What you see below are two examples of this juxtaposition of opportunity and challenge.

img

* Click here to listen to this musical interaction between a guitarist and orcas

While doing my research for this article, I also found this video that gave me some hope regarding the #onemanband project. Maybe whales do like music!

Looks like the beluga whale is enjoying the Mariachi music right? Although it would be nice, it looks like "the beluga was trained to nod along with arm movements, like the motion the mariachis made while performing, and other whale experts agree that it’s unlikely that the beluga was dancing."


DARN! As I suspected, whales are so sweet but it looks like they don't care about the "Human Music"!


But I'm a guy that has a lot of hope and I'll keep struggling to make the right connection with these mammals... I have to make contact, I believe there is at least one whale that will enjoy music... so I started to learn how to call whales with the guitar...

I'll continue the quest and for now, this are the two tracks I've released in the ocean hoping to interact with some whale or even some dolphins! To do that will continue to post under #onemanband all of those audio fragments I've done across the years...

So far, I've been trying to engage with whales with these two audio tracks...

img1
"DESERT" - My Audio Memoirs - RECORDED in 2011 / Shared at steemit in 2016 [ #OneManBand ]

img
INKIT is another track from My Audio Memoirs - RECORDED in 2013 / Shared at steemit in 2016 [ #OneManBand ]

Hope you found this post amusing and if you liked my music even better! If you're a whale let me know what did you felt while reading and listening to my stuff. I'm really curious to understand if whales enjoy #music or not!


Sources:
http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/explainer/2012/07/whales_can_reduce_hearing_sensitivity_to_protect_their_ears_do_they_like_man_made_music_.html
http://www.interspecies.com/pages/instruments.html
http://www.interspecies.com/pages/whalmusi.html
http://www.xray-mag.com/content/do-whales-jazz


To me go HERE! and if you like this, support my blog by upvoting below. Thanks!


Sort:  

We have to find some music that wakes them up and gets them on a voting frenzy, whoever does that would be worth a mint lol

This was a nice pitch - good luck with the music.

In the long-term, Steemit might need to think about how it brings the value of music inside the network. Right now, the platform works really well for consuming text and images, but for video the delivery gets outsourced to Youtube etc, and then the ad revenue is being scraped off by Google. So the motivation to vote up music content is proportionally lower and the audience is smaller because you are restricted to people who want 'blog plus music' rather than just music.

Maybe an IPFS/sidechain solution will give us a better way to discover, consume and reward music and video in the future?

I / we have to work with the tools we have available at the moment right? Maybe in "TIME" we'll be able to host directly on steemit... but until then youtube has do to as a hosting service for video / audio.

Yes, absolutely, I just do a lot of thinking out loud about how Steemit can grow really big. :)

I think Steemit is a no-brainer for bloggers over something like Medium. For vloggers or musicians, the choice over Youtube or Bandcamp is more difficult: the idea is great, but the tech stack is just a little bit behind. But, yes, it's definitely better to be publishing here with imperfect tools than not to publish at all.

i dont know if whales like music, but i sure hope they like your post, just upvoted !! ; - )

I hope whales like music. The funny thing is, that video of the beluga whale being serenaded by the mariachi was actually at Mystic Aquarium in Connecticut!

Really cool. I saw your pick guard post. Have you ever made any of your own instruments? One of my cousins actually made some violins for Alice Cooper, I think, lol. I was always more into the classic beauty instruments, like Stradivarius/Guarnerius/Amati works, etc... (I'm a violinist), but I always liked the look of the Gibson Les Paul too.

No I haven't but I've been tempted to make a guitar using old parts :) Maybe I'll do that in the future, who knows! :)

That guitar and orca music is inspiring!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64690.76
ETH 3423.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51