Making An Album Cover Ourselves // PART 1 // The Backstory

in #music7 years ago

Just over a year ago my band Avec Sans released our debut album independently. We did everything ourselves. Wrote, recorded, produced, mixed and mastered all of the tracks and even did the album artwork.

We knew the aesthetic we wanted to achieve but didn't know exactly how to execute it other than it required a stack of interesting photos of us. So we decided to do what we do best... dive in and figure it out long the way. I'm (Jack) pretty competent in Photoshop so I knew that we would be able to make something.

Let me show you the finished product then I'll explain how it all came together tomorrow in part 2.


TOMORROW // PART TWO // THE LOCATION & THE PHOTOGRAPHER

Sort:  

We can be PROFESSIONALS without the support of Major Labels. today. That's awesome. I'm glad I took Digital Media at Full Sail instead of Recording Arts. You need all the skills to pay the bills these days. You guys GET IT!

That's awesome. I'm planning to do this with my album. I've been designing the cover for a few months, and building up the songs, but I won't be producing it myself, I need to find a producer. And I have an idea of what could be done with my songs, on their own they are quite folky but I once put a hip hop beat behind 'Circles' and it fired my imagination..! I have the plain acoustic version on here, have a listen if you've got time, let me know what you think. You may have to skip through a minute of me talking shit though xD :https://steemit.com/openmic/@clintjunior/open-mic-week-38-circles-original-song-bathroom-sessions

great design - power- and wonderful music - just listening to your music on spotify - all the best!

Love this ❤️ - personally I'd say artwork has such a big part of the release, almost as much as the songs themselves.

A great release could be ruined with the wrong artwork yet the right artwork could absolutely send a release to another dimension!

Respect! 👊🏼

I like the contrast and colors here. Very nice. :D

Also, just discovered your music from this post, and it's amazing. I love the style. o:

Really nice designs! There is no better way to go than DIY!!

Nice design! I like it. Especially the back for some reason. You can only see half of the record label though. What's that look like?

Thank you! More to come but this is the label:

This was a great post. Thank you for sharing. I'll be sure to keep an eye out for you future work!

Lovely album covers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44