Iconic Women Walk The Walk On The Wild Side! Laurie Anderson Reflects On A 21-Year Relationship With Lou ReedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music-history7 years ago (edited)

"21 years we tangled our minds and hearts together" - The Avant-garde performance artist Laurie Anderson about her husband Lou Reed ( Velvet Underground)

Image Source

Listen to Rolling Stone Music Now Podcast: "Secret Lives of Lou Reed". Before Lou changed rock history, the legendarily cranky singer/songwriter had to invent himself. 

 

Image Source by Pinterest

Read the the full story from the November 21st, 2013 issue of Rolling Stone: Anderson's Farewell to Lou Reed: A Rolling Stone Exclusive

Lou Reed's wife "The mature artist"!

Image Source 

"Lou’s genuinely proud of what he had done and could really appreciate his own work" , the legend's widow says 2015 in a heartwarming speech.

Image Source 

"This is the time and this is the record of the time."- Laurie Anderson

Today I read the wonderful article from @qsounds about Kraftwerk and I went back in time to the 80's, when I heard electronic sounds for the very first time. I still feel those goosebumps running up and down my skin. 

Who Is Laurie Anderson, the Young Ones might ask?

One fascinating and iconic lady I respect very much, popped in my head. Her name is Laurie Anderson. I was lucky enough to visit and actually also worked on one of her unforgettable concerts she performed in Vienna sometimes in the late 80's. Yes! Those awesome 80's and I am thankful to be born in my generation, where music and style made sense. 

 

Image Source

Laurie Anderson: "I've never really had a hobby, unless you count art, which the IRS once told me I had to declare as a hobby since I hadn't made money with it."

 Image Source 

Laurie's Brilliant First Album , Big Science 1982

Lyrics: You know, I think we should put some mountains here
Otherwise, what are the characters going to fall off of?
And what about stairs? Yodellayheehoo. Ooo coo coo ooo

Here's a man who lives a life of danger

Everywhere he goes, he stays - a stranger  

Howdy stranger, mind if I smoke? 

And he said:
Every man, every man for himself
Every man, every man for himself
All in favor say aye ......

Big Science. Hallelujah. Big Science. Yodellayheehoo

Listen to the full Album

Tracklist 

From The Air

Big Science

Sweaters

Walking & Falling

Born, Never Asked

O Superman (For Massenet)

Example #22

Let X=X

It Tango

The Young Musician and Multi-Media Artist 

This picture is irresistible where she is playing a hybrid instrument of her own invention, The Viophonograph. 

Image Source 

This instrument was a part of Anderson’s journey to “Homeland.”

Lou Reed: “I think this record is the fruition of everything from her prior records and experiences and thoughts, they all came together in this one … She’s a mature artist. There’s a lot of things she can show you.”

Last not least a song I played at least a million of times when I started the walk on the wild side!

I hope you enjoy that I @mammasitta introduces music history and Keep on spreading the MassiVe Vibes with this new minnow profile @massivevibration

Please feel free to join our chat channels "Mammasitta" and "Massivevibrations" and post your links. 

We support also @welovesteemit on FB 

Sort:  

Love is a story,Music is a complementary song of life, this excellent article reminds us of the past. 👍

Such magic words you used ......Thank you for understanding

You are welcome. @mammasitta
Nice to meet you again 😊😁

Höre jetzt deinen "Musikvorschlag"....

Na dann ....viel Spass mit den 80's ...Alles Liebe von @mammasitta

Impressive...This is the time and this is the record of the time
I love this line..

Loading...

Da stimme ich dir zu - unsere Generation hat, musikalisch gesehen, schon außerordentlich gute Zeiten erlebt.

Laurie Anderson mag ich auch gerne und Walk On The Wide Side von Lou Reed ist ein Klassiker, den ich immer wieder gerne höre :)

Lets keep on walking ....on a bit less of a wild side :)
Music made sense back then ....Oder?

And all the colored girls said...

Lou and Laurie are both great artists. Both unique, interesting, and very creative.

I once saw an interview with the two of them. Lou's behavior towards her can be described as "gentle." It was a side of Lou that was not entirely typical of Lou. But if you listen to some of his quieter lyrics – such as Perfect Day or Sunday Morning or I'm Set Free – you will understand that his image as the Godfather of the NYC underground music scene was only one aspect of him.

Laurie was the perfect woman for him. I once say him wearing a dress for a photoshoot! I love those 2!!! Thanks so much for your comment and my apology for my late reply. Bit messy here on steemit these days

They were 2 great artists and 2 great individuals. And a truly great pair! 2 of a perfect pair, maybe.

Thanks for resteeming my Lou Lyrics post. Much appreciated. I'm gonna follow it up with a series of posts -- one per lyric, with a short commentary on each song / lyric.

Hope you find them interesting.

She seems very firm lady. Nice post

She is more than firm! She is an Icon! :)

I might not have know who laurie Anderson was but she sure is a legend and have imprinted part of her in your heart. That is something that will make you remember her this day.

She is one of those amazing artists and iconic women we should remember :)

From her life style it's quite obvious

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Here we go again - > Breaking News!

Check The Daily spotlights of 12 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Thanks so much for your support. Its hard to be a minnow :)

hahaha... yeah, I believe you ;-)

Its my personal Experiment....... HAHAHA....I feel sorry for all newbies....Anyways cool that you keep on re-steeming!

Thanks for sharing this!

Thank you for your feedback. Hope you enjoyed some quality music

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43