A Tour into Hidden Alleys and Vibrant Art Murals

in #murals8 years ago (edited)

California has an incredible amount of local artists who create beautiful murals in many different neighborhoods and hidden alleys. Los Angeles has often been dubbed one of the world's greatest mural capitals. Today I had a chance to explore just a few and as special treat stumbled on one being created live.

All photos are my original work

Let's get started!


Bike shop

Heading down the street to grab early coffees there was an incredible mural at the local bike shop. The bikes left outside seem to blend in perfect with the contrasting colors used.


Barber Shop

What a great retro throwback celebrating the 1950's culture. Head to toe with Pin-ups, Chevy Cruisers, Popular Iconic brands of the time. This mural can be found at Mar Vista next to Floyd's Barber Shop.




Thrift Shop

Many thrift shops in the LA area have had artists make magic of their walls. What makes this one so unique is the utilization of natural elements in the mural. Rather then destroying the decayed tree in the parking lot the artist incorporated it and added beautiful leaves as if it never happened.




Farmers Market

On the way back from our adventure we ran into an actual live mural painting! Peace, unity, and joy. What better way to end our day.



Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! I remember seeing quite a few murals on a trip to San Fran a few years back. There were also quite allot of sidewalk drawings and other ditties. I visit Philly quite often and it has many murals. I'll have to dig up some of those photos and post them. It sometimes drives my wife crazy that I feel compelled to stop and photograph them ;-) The other interesting thing is that it's often hard to get the entire mural in the shot, and yet also convey just how big some of them are.

Here are a few murals I saw in Asbury Park, NJ a few weeks ago:

Asbury_Park_1

Asbury_Park_2

Asbury_Park_3

Thanks for showing these they look great!

I love seeing these creative pieces throughout the city. This was a great share*

Very talented to be able to do this

Wow im right here in Los Ageles and Ive missed all of these, other than the regular ones you see in many places. Ive seen tours that one could take. I think thats a great idea. Have you?
thebarber shop one is just insane wonderful. Really hits what this town was like, and just think if these are destroyed, or ruined.
Kids and gangs think nothing of what they are...lets hope they remain a long time.
So thrilled you shared these. I'll be looking for others on my own, and share as you can
ooh the dry cleaning one is awesome too

you should give credit to the artists that painted them. D:<

Agree, with the caveat that it's not always possible to do so, for example if the art isn't tagged, or you can't read the tag. Here are two more murals that I noticed are still on my iPhone. They're from a Dawes concert at the Electric Factory in Philly this past 7/16/2016. I did notice that they were tagged with @GetUpArt:

Dawes_1

Dawes_2

I'm pritty sure if you take the location of the mural and what building it is on with a little searching online finding the artist would not be hard at all. I just personally think the artist deserves to have his name noted on it if your are making (or trying to) money off of their art work. just opinion tho.

I do see your see point and I do tend to agree. I think you're correct in that a little leg-work and Googling would, in most cases, show who created a particular mural. What I’m not sure about is where to draw the line? For example, if I post a picture I took of the Freedom Tower, does that obligate me to give props to its chief architect David Childs? Or is it that once you put something out there (like a mural) it kind of becomes in the public domain? A little searching showed me that it's not a black-and-white issue.

I'm not a copyright lawyer, and thus I have no working knowledge of the legal aspects. But I did find this 2014 article that may be of some help in discussing this: 6 Things You Must Know About Copyrights in Street Art.

Here's an interesting excerpt from the above link:

"Q: If someone takes a picture of my mural, does this mean they have infringed on my copyright? Does this mean that any photographs I take of street art will infringe on someone’s copyright?

A: It depends on–and here’s the sticking point–the nature of the use. There is a kind of use that is statutorily defined as “fair use,” a theory that most people are familiar with, but is poorly understood. Section 107 of the Copyright Act provides that reproductions can be made for the purposes of “criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, … scholarship or research,” without infringing. Fair use is the reason a professor can use slides of artwork in his or her classroom, or why this site can use pictures specifically relating to items discussed in its articles."

I guess the big question is. if photos can be art and murals can be art, are photos of murals art or just photos of art? if they are just photos of art then the artist deserves reconition for the work they created. if they to are art, they would fit into the goup of a colaboration i would think and if so wouldnt it be propper to give credit to the artist you did the colorabation with? im not saying you should be punished by law for it. :O i was just trying to give constructive critisim. 8D

This is so deeply beautifuland speaks a high volums of a pictures worth a thousand words. Thank you for this amazingly beautiful post @originate

I love this post! I am an artist and everytime I see someone posting artwork on steemit, my heart smiles! thank you so much for this :) upvoted and followed

how would you feel if it was your art and no where did it say your name and the person posting it was making money off your art? O.o

I would probably be a little pissed, I wont lie, but at the same time as an artist a huge part of exposure and getting your name out there comes from the sharing of the work, I definitely agree the artists should get credit, but Ive had this happen to me so many times on FB for example, my images get shared and no credit to me, or when I google my art I find people claiming its theres, so I always try to clear up the misunderstanding and ensure I'm given proper credit, but inevitably its gonna happen, especially with something that is so in your face like a mural, and a lot of times its hard to find the artists name on a mural or they don't put their name on it, so that is tough sometimes too

Exposure doesn't pay the bills.

No, but it can lead to future sales and followers.

Very nice @originate .. this is where art should be, out .. in the streets .. viewable by all, for free, and when they most need it!

Thanks for sharing, I see a lot of this underappreciated street art in warehouse districts in Honolulu, you've given me an idea for a future steemit post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66216.02
ETH 3547.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01