@ onceuponatime is Challenged to See Things Differently!

in #mundaneart7 years ago

I have spent my whole life

wanting to turn my gaze away from its uglier aspects.

Rust1IMG_20171229_1530285.jpg

Rust!

What could be uglier than rust? more subtly sinister, more depressing,
more redolent of defeat, despair, degeneration, aimless meaningless ennui?

Rusting away...................

Rust2IMG_20171229_1529549.jpg

UGLY!

I remember the soul crushing despair of not knowing how to
.
see only the beauty
.
of the temples and jungle flowers and mountain snows and enchanting ruins of India
when I lived there as a very young man.......

TajMahalpexels-photo-602607.jpg

and NOT being able to......

NOT see the mangled beggars, the dirt, pollution, homelessness, the inhumanity, the f'ing flies!

Cow&fliesdreamstime_xxl_99362094.jpg

stock-photo-portrait-support-street-old-india-hunger-hungry-poverty-poor-d79c7505-ce59-4a1e-b22d-ca2b9796c519.jpg

Beggarpexels-photo-220432.jpeg

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

But then a Thunderbolt from Heaven,

or at least a new contest,

from that Master of the Mundane,

everyone's favorite art connoisseur,

@ kus-knee - The Old Dog

in the form of his newest Mundane Art contest:

The Old Dog Presents: The Mundane as Art Round Seven. The Theme is Rust!

https://steemit.com/mundaneart/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-presents-the-mundane-as-art-round-seven-the-theme-is-rust

Suddenly

I had a new mission in life! Find the beauty in EVERYTHING!
(or, at least in rust)
Go deeper, find the beauty!

Even the gorgeous Lotus Flower

water-lily-pink-aquatic-plant-pink-water-lily-127584.jpeg

rises up from the muck!

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

And so I present to you,

faithful bots and human steemians, followers of my twists and turns:

RUST!

Rust3IMG_20171229_1416529.jpg
Great Ball of Rust

Rust7IMG_20171229_1355167.jpg
Rusty Grid part one

Rust6IMG_20171229_1407092.jpg
Unchained Rust

Rust5IMG_20171229_1535218.jpg
New Life amidst the Rust

Rust4IMG_20171229_1416479.jpg
Bubbly Rust (it must be Christmas!)

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

Just to let you know.....

I was going to let you bots and human steemians
help me choose which rust photo to enter
into @kus-knee's contest
https://steemit.com/mundaneart/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-presents-the-mundane-as-art-round-seven-the-theme-is-rust

But then I thought

the heck with it
my taste in mudane art is as good as any bot's!

And so my entry is...

Ta Da.....

Bubbly Rust (it must be Christmas!)

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg
.
.
.
ouzo and out,
@onceuponatime

QRCfor@onceuponatimeb07fba76eebcbb3e576eb24ae04bdfa2.png

Sort:  

I love the enthusiasm - sending regards from Tunisia

So, it's rusty in Tunisia too!

Did you enter this in the contest? It's very good!

An excellent piece, I hope to see this one in the contest too! Namaste :)

That’s look amazinggggg! It beautiful bro. Its incredible how some simple thing can be transformed in art. Nice

The whole "mundane as art" thing is really starting to appeal to me... finding beauty in the ordinary. The Old Dog is really onto something here... and it's helping people around the world: my rusty fence is no longer an eyesore, it's ART!

Some of my greatness must have rubbed off on the Old Dog when I visited him in Switzerland. Or maybe it was the other way around. This sibling rivalry is tough!

I was on Mars today, there was rust EVERYWHERE and after watching the blue sunset it started snowing dry ice!
I went through your photos, your rusty sphere looks so beautiful, I'd love to travel there too and see what mysteries lie beneath its oxides :P

Here's a photo from before the rust set in:

CrystalBallU5duC5yzDiCQPkXc3GdrmSzG3EJgQLR_1680x8400.jpg

Beautiful!! It must have taken you to lots of amazing places ;)

Nah, it started turning rusty almost immediately LOL

Did you get it from aliexpress.com? :P

I won it (first prize in a beauty contest).

Interesting. I wonder what the other prizes were...

I'm not sure what the second prize was. But the third prize was a Captain Jack decoder ring.

thanks for u Christmas!.

this is a great post looking so beautiful post.i like it sir.

I like your entry, but most of all I like your point of view. After the contest I'll collect ONLY rusted objects. Rusted is better!

OK. I have some rusted silver coins I can sell you :-)

Eheh I think the market will be restricted to few people...

I found a really appropiate quote for this post:

Beneath the rust and grime which dulls the shine of our weathered hearts, joy patiently waits to be rediscovered.
John Mark Green

Thanks to you, now I am participating too!
https://steemit.com/mundaneart/@alexandraioana26/holocaust-memorial-bucharest-the-mundane-as-art-rust-contest
cheers @onceuponatime

Efharisto! Have a wonderful day @onceuponatime!

A very interesting post @onceuponatime !!! I think, someone can find beauty, even in the most ugliest things and even in the most dirtiest. Because if you are able to clean them well, You can find incredible beauty within them. ☺

Instead of cleaning them, couldn't we just let the dirt pile up on them until we can plant some nice seeds and maybe grow some trees?

@onceuponatime wouldn't It be better to plant something as beautiful as a tree in a clean environment??☺

I'm lazy. If plants or trees or microbes are going to do the cleaning up for me.........well. let them have at it!

oh well, it's the end of the year, so let's get lazy and drink some OUZO @onceuponatime . ☺

I like this idea much better!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

Yeah! Out, OUZO , and a good company. ☺
Isn't this a Beautiful combination?

Don't you think? @onceuponatime 😉

The toss must have been very difficult between "The Great Ball of Rust" and Bubbly Rust"!?! Thanks for sharing the photos, the great words of wisdom, the story and good luck with this awesome contest and namaste :)

You forgot "Happy New Year" :-)

Is it to say that you think I am nOT going to write my annual New Years letter to us all?!? ;) Namaste :)

This is what's called out-of-the-box-thinking and this is what makes this contest so unique and special. Excellent job @onceuponatime. Wish you best of luck!
Here is something for you:

Very nice post. Shared.

Steem On!

Don't fear the mirror.

Exactly. We must accept our originality.

Exactly ..."There is beauty in everything".... I'm living in india ...Sir. ...but i did not get good rust yet for @kush-nee contest....you got some good pictures and even flowing rust too..

They knew how to make iron pillars that didn't rust in ancient India!

haha ..that may be the reason.....here is the pillar (made in 3rd century)

I know. I think they knew a lot of things back then that we have forgotten now.

You showed all the two pictures of life

  • Rusty
  • Beauty

And I must say Man You Nailed It. What a meaningful, valuable and detailed picture of life in a few but very powerful words. I must solute your approach to see the life in such a deep eye. Amazing!

All the best for your entry in @kus-knee's contest:
Bubbly Rust (it must be Christmas!)

Keep sharing your great work for the betterment of this awesome community, and Stay Blessed dear @onceuponatime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49