"RICH WITH ROT" - The Mundane as Art Round 11... Walls! - with @kus-knee

in #mundaneart6 years ago (edited)

I saw a picture of a wall in my feed--
of course it was no ordinary wall--
or was it?


It was said to be mundane--something many people look at daily,
but mostly fail to recognize the art-ness of it.
It's so easy just to go on our way
and not notice the things in our midst that are there every single day.

When I saw that wall I knew it had something to do with @kus-knee.
@kus-knee is always offering up some interesting challenges.  
One of my favorites is his "The Mundane as Art" challenge.

I love this Mundane challenge as I love the mundane!
I love the quirky-ness of many things others find as old or deteriorating,
imperfect or not up to par,
and things that have interesting texture, color,
shape, reflections and shadows.

I took this photograph in an old city building in Pottsville, Pennsylvania.
The building was unoccupied for many many years,
and the walls became rich with patina.
I spent several months taking photos of this building,
especially the walls,
enjoying all the textures and colors the weather and years
transformed from perfect to intriguing.

These wooden walls were covered with green moss,
some parts rich with rot,
other parts flaking, splitting and splintering.

"RICH WITH ROT"



Plans were being made to restore these old buildings,
which in some ways would be delightful to see them brought back to life.
And yet in some other ways is sad because this
intricate beauty of their history will be erased forever.

Get in on @kus-knee's fun contests and get yourself a bone!!




Sort:  

The presence of the little mundane things and their importance as a whole in order to make this life a beautiful place to live in , is what this poem is all about!!Really nicely put there!Good job !!

Grateful for so many opportunities to be aware of that, and for having the time and the eye to engage it. I appreciate your presence here @narubelucky.

You are always thr to appreciate the art and encourage other people 's work.. you are really different

Hahahaha...I have been told that a lot. Grateful to be living it! Thanks @tasauver for your comment.

This is fascinating. One could hardly believe that it is not a piece of art work. Thanks to your professionalism that was put on display when taking the picture.

I have thousands of photos of the details of things that could be an abstract piece of art just from one small sample. I glad you appreciate my capture @kingsolo.

I am a follower and lover of @kus-knee and his project, I could remember the day he asked us to be looking for ice cube and upload the picture of it. I partook in the contest but I was wondering what the hell he wanted to do with the the cubes. I was amazed to see the beautiful collection he came up with after the submission of all entries. I don't know his intention for this one too, but I know he will come out with something beautiful at the end of the contest.

One thing I like about you @everlove is the ability to look into the future right in the present, I'm sure you took the picture long time a go. Smile

It's been a few years, but it is one of those experiences that I continue to be grateful for. I really love things with history---I much prefer things that have already been used and have been given a long life over new things hot off the consumer train.

I'm excited to see all the entires for this challenge...the perspectives are always so diverse.

Sure, I'm sure he would make such a beautiful collection out of it like he always do...

I'm glad with the rate at which the lady with swollen leg is progressing, I'm sure you care about her too, please check my latest post about her to see the wonderful progress she had made so far. I'm sure, you won't believe your eyes, hahhahaha....
https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@emmakkayluv/the-random-acts-of-kindness-update-on-the-lady-with-swollen-leg

I appreciate the update. It's good to see how sharing the love pays off.

yea, nothing can make me to have the true happiness than to contribute to other people's happiness....
you can read the latest act of kindness here:
https://steemit.com/onemealaday/@emmakkayluv/the-random-acts-of-kindness-i-want-to-start-my-life-over-again

Always giving blessings....may it return tenfold to you @emmakkayluv.

Amen.... Thank you for the prayers. In it I have enough energy to continue with my mission. It is such a great honor to host you in my page.

You have the music in you @emmakkayluv. Keep singing it!!!

This is so beautiful, I've always admired your artworks and high level of creativity. You always look beyond ordinary art(it shows in your works). No doubt @everlove, you're good at what you do and also you're the art in you. Thanks for leaving us with beautiful artworks and posts. Stay inspired! Your art rocks💖.

Art is really live for me, and life art. I grateful appreciate this comment and your appreciation of my works. It's nice to be seen and to have the opportunity to share some of my passions. Thanks for receiving them @oduwole.

You're most welcome. Stay🔛🔝forever.

A very nice example.Thanks for sharing!

It looking amazing .
The pic .
Its good you enjoy the context.
Yep plan were need to restore these buildings because if any want to be success full they need to learn from there history .
And keep remembering that bcz history make legends

We have a lot to learn, and so many opportunities to tune in. History does make legends.

This is beautiful. More like a work of art...

Merely looking it at, it's hard to tell that it's actually a rot...

Lovely one..
Would definitely live to be a part of the contest too...

Thanks for your appreciation @kingernie. Hop on over to @kus-knee's post....there is always inspired interest happening there.

Oh sweet...
Visiting @kus-knee's now....

🏃🏃🏃

I like the title RICH WITH ROT :D

And obviously, this is an amazing wall and an amzing photo !! Beautiful thoughts of yours about the plants !!

I feel blessed whenever I read such touching lines :)

Keep it up !

IMG_0024.PNG

Thanks @himshweta. Grateful for your comment. Pulled up one of your posts this morning, but couldn't read that incredible writing. The symbols were beauty within themselves.

Thank you for visiting honey :).

I am focusing more on videos these days. It makes the work more interesting !!

Ahh!loved that.
Thanks for sharing.
Friend its been long u r not in touch with me.

Glad to see you here @mnishh. I'm super engaged with a fascinating and productive life!

Keep steeming dear.
U can also visit my blog whenever u want☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46