How i broke my Trek Fuel EX9.8

in #mtb6 years ago

So last week I broke my bike..... I was riding to work since the weather had finally cooled down enough and the rain had eased for a day.

On my way and just 400m away from home i come to my local small roundabout. I was in my 11tooth gear and carrying reasonable pace. As i found a gap in traffic i went to move into the roundabout and i hear a lovely metallic bang and I in all my svelte exquisite mascilinity almost go over the bars! I was cranking on my pedals when they free wheel. Damn i snapped a chain! Well that was what I thought. I was wrong chain is still on i quickly and sheepishly retreat to the edge of the road ( yes i was spotted almost binning it) I look at my pedals and chain hey its still turning but my bike aint moving... OH POOP! change gears and yay i have momentum and off to work i go albiet missing a gear.

Off to the shop my bike has been luckily still within its 2 year warranty.

So what is wrong my? My free body hub has been sheared where 11 tooth gear sits and now that is being replaced but in my luck im with out at bike for 4 weeks with initial breakage and repair time due to no parts in my country. I will thank my local bike shop tho for being so helpful!

so now i need to wait two weeks and i am back at it!!!!

Lets rip and enjoy the nice weather as it cools and dries.

Peace!

Sort:  

Congratulations @wilkostrongly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @wilkostrongly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54