Lapiere Spicy 327

in #mtb6 years ago (edited)

A Spicy ride. I fell in love with this bike from the geometry of the frame. Some people hate it, some love it, and some are indifferent. The geo on it made me instantly think "Enduro" because of it's slack head angle and "pushing" type look.

My first really experience with it on the trail was Kitsuma, in North Carolina. Needless to say, it preformed way above my skill level. It comes standard with 27.5 Hans Dampf tires (which are excellent) but I quickly found myself wanting something more....nobby. 2.8" (27.5+) Nobby Nic's were thrown on there as well as going tubeless. I was ready to experience 27.5+.

Returning back to Pisgah later on, I hit Ridgeline and a few other trails in Dupont. I found that air pressure, like everyone says, is very important to get right. Once I dialed that in, ripping down the trails was amazing. There was so much grip it almost made it hardly as fun as before. I could not get the back end to kick out! I loved those tires when it came to the rock climb at the begging of the way going up to Ridgeline. I was able to cimb them with ease even though they were wet and slippery.

20170706_134355_HDR.jpg

Capture.PNG

I ordered a Schwalbe Magic Mary for the front, and plan on throwing a Hans Dampf in the rear. That tire combo is killer and a nice happy medium of grip up front and playfullness/speed in the rear.
20171007_175655.jpg

Out of all the components, the only one I plan on changing is the rear shock. The Fox Float just isn't enough for my 6'1, 185lb self for the way I ride. I'll probably either go with a coil, Cane Creek Double barrel or a Fox Float X2. They'll manage my weight much easier and give me a better ride.
20171007_175725.jpg

I have a company in England make my mudguards. They make them custom to any image you submit to them, and can alter it in any way to your liking. This was was called "Yub Nub" and the zombie ewok seemed fitting since biking is usually in the woods.....and because Star Wars.

IMG_20170716_162943_872.jpg

The second biggest upside to the bike is my dog, Hammond, loves it when it's inside! He'll sniff it for hours if I let him. Keeps him occupied, so it's a win-win for both of us.

My girlfriend rides a Liv Hail Advance, which in my opinion is a rad bike. I was actually pretty jealous when we got it. I bargained with a local shop in Pisgah and got it well under MSRP....lets just say, around 40% cheaper than the asking price. She loves it, she's happy, so I'm happy for her.20171007_175038.jpg

My maiden voyage on her, and Kitsuma...a nice patch fo dry pine needles on smooth clay, right on a slight corner. After I got up, I looked at the trail ahead and about 10 feet in front of me was a nice razor rock right where my chest would have been. Sobering!

Sort:  

I love the 2.8" plus size tyres on my ebike. They are much more grippy in the sand especially and even with tubes tend to be rare to puncture. I run them on my heavy bike 22kg at 18-20psi.

You should have the courage to take advantage of all the potential of that bicycle, respect!

Oh trust me I try haha.

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60616.50
ETH 2911.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46