You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Alternative Lifestyle Show - Friday 8 June - with guests @alexa.janell, @buzz.lightyear, @bushkill, @makinstuff, @cecicastor and @chrisabdey

in #mspwaves6 years ago

Great Show! I really want to get bees when I move out to my homestead so it was great to hear from @bushkill and great talking to @buzz.lightyear on his alternative energy crypto token idea. I think its a cool concept just figuring out how best to structure it is key. Maybe just a group through the steem platform that can pitch and decide to fund energy projects? I was totally in the dark about Nicaragua until hearing about the situation tonight. My prayers are with @cecicastor and @chrisabdey and their neighbors which they are helping. Good feedback about different solar off-grid options from @jackdub really like what you have goin on man! Big thanks for having me on the show for the discussion @Pennsif!

Sort:  

Great show indeed. I enjoyed it and learned a lot. Like you, I too was totally in the dark about Nicaragua and are praying from those involved that they may stay safe and that it may be resolved soon. Although not talked about in tonights show, I would be really interested in learning more about your wood gasifier. Perhaps @pennsif could have you on again to talk more about it.

It's a set of plans I downloaded from Ben Peterson http://www.woodgasifierplans.com/ I will be building one and integrating it into my off-grid solar power system to create a resilient microgrid. My intention is to catalogue the build and distribute this through the blockchain so it can be replicated. Big vision is to scale and create custom kits/plans for full resiliency.

Looking forward to it. I got into the Wayne Keith pre-buy deal on his wood gasifier truck book, but never really dove into it. Kinda of a rather big project to start with. Definitely something I find intriguing, especially with an unlimited source of wood here in the mountains.

Thanks @bushkill! Yep its a big project, I may outsource some of the gasifier build to a buddy of mine that is a master fabricator. I really think it's the best solution for many areas, as they have some access to wood. The byproduct is bio-char (charcoal) which is great for the soil. Since activated carbon is so porus it has a ton of surface area which gives microorganisms a place to thrive and supercharge the fertility of the soil. Check this out

Paired with solar/battery bank, you have a very rugged power system.

This does look like it could be a good route for me.

I have some solar potential (but not much south facing land) - but I do have 15 acres of woodland - so plenty of wood.

My goal is to establish a micro-grid here.

I also have some potential for pico-hydro that could mesh into it - particularly in the winter with much higher water flow.

Very much so, also if you know your yearly kWh usage it will help to determine the appropriate size of your power system. There is a calculator at this site that can be helpful https://www.sol-ark.com/customize-8k-system/. The main variables they are using, are based on average yearly sun hours, and local utility rates. You might be able to get an approximation based on Maine ~3.9 full Avg. full Sun hrs. You guys sit around an average of 4.2 full sun hrs. according to this site: https://www.statista.com/statistics/322575/average-daily-sun-hours-in-the-united-kingdom-uk/ Another idea to incorporate into the microgrid is to create a sizable water tower and use the genset running off wood gas to pump water into the tower. You have an underground reservoir and a micro-hydro motor collect the energy off the discharged water, essentially a gravity battery.

Thanks for all this information - most useful.

We are on a mountain side so the stream enters our property about 80 feet above our property. So maybe we wouldn't need a pump for the 'gravity battery'?

Wow..... do you have access at the 80ft? This build with an old washing machine would be a good option imho

.

Thank you Rob for coming on the show as well. It was great to learn more about bees. I was particularly interested in your views on the Flow Hive.

Yes we can definitely do another session on the wood gasifier.

It was great to have you on the show again Greg. Thanks for coming on.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94