Why I Choose To Live Mindful And Minimally

in #mspsteem7 years ago (edited)

My first use of Markdown. I miss the preview feature

* A Birdseye View of Vedauwoo, WY.

Living a minimal life means many different things and like most things, it's quite subjective. It can be as benign as waiting until your television burns out before you upgrade, instead of as soon as the next tech is released. Even simply downgrading from an electric can opener to a manual one is a step towards a more minimal life. I like to define it as living with less than what you currently have.


This should be quite easy for the majority of us American's to do, since according to https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20070426005614/en/Average-U.S.-Household-50-Unused-Items-Worth, the average American household has a minimum of 50 unused items, which can be worth as much as $3100. Considering I scavenge for a living and have acquired around 80% of my worth through selling or reusing the items other's toss out, I believe this claim to be close enough.


The majority of the clothes, electronics, toys and games I come across are in working order. Our collective psyche on average, does what's easiest, rather than what's right. We need to be mindful and control our naturally selfish urge's.

 A secondary beaver dam.This is minimalism perfected. All photographs shown are my original content

Living a life mindfully is something that takes effort. This is not taught in school's, since schooling tends to focus on memorization, rather than learning from being attentive to our surroundings and realising our affects on them. Here is a good article about Mindfulness;

https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/topic/mindfulness/definition


I have been fortunate in my 44 years living on this planet to have had many life experiences. I have experienced success, love, hate, homelessness, the threat of death, been caged for extended periods of time and many things in between, above and beyond. I have seen many an idea both fail and become tradition.


All this has brought me to the realization that you will not change the world by words. Reasoning with your peers rarely changes a mind, especially if there is little empirical evidence. It's also impossible to get a person who doesn't care, to change their habits and work towards the benefit of the collective. So you just have to do it and be a role model.


You are only as restricted as your dependencies and fears. If you depend upon yourself and don't fear the threat of punishment by others, you are a free person. I choose to live this way. If you cannot live how you choose as long as you harm to no one while doing it and receive some sort of punishment, that's simply a negative reflection of society. 

 *I stumbled across this magnificent piece of natural art while hiking off trail. The resemblance to an Egyptian Pharoah is striking*

This is why Minimalism for me goes much deeper than just depending on others or things less. It's about achieving complete sovereignty over myself. I have always been independent and growing up in extreme poverty strengthened this. We had very few items, mostly donated. When the radio broke, there was no going to buy a new one. My brother's and I took it apart and fixed it. My life was quite difficult, but it taught me how to survive. Our flathead screwdriver in the house was a butter knife, as an example of using what's available, rather than purchasing an item you cannot afford.


If I don't need money, other's services, roads, protection and I provide all my needs for myself, I have achieved complete freedom and you can as well. This is all I want and I want to assist other's to gain theirs as well. If I can create a clear path towards this in action, others will follow.


While growing up with little has been a huge influence and has helped me maintain a smaller personal inventory than most, it was my rather recent passion of backpacking, which motivated me to minimize my wants even further.


Growing up in Michigan where camping in the National and State forests is very common and accessible, I was always one to be a bit over-prepared. This is easy to do when car camping, but not so much when backpacking.

I call this The Goblin, which is another natural creation in Vedauwoo, WY. I only feel truly free while on the move, miles from any authority. Vedauwoo is one of my favorite places to experience this.

After a friend of mine moved out West and introduced me to hiking in the mountains, I was forced to search for a way to save weight, while still having the gear to handle whatever emergency may arise. This pulled me into Ultralite Backpacking and I started to acquire gear which was light weight and where each item has multiple uses. 


This then spurred an interest in Survival and Bushcraft techniques as a way to further minimize. If I had the skill to build what I need in the Bush from items available naturally and am able to gain a fresh food source, which I now don't need to carry on me, I could get away with less gear. I then started to use this gear in my everyday life and now am very comfortable living with just the basics. 


I am done talking and am now doing. With the invention of the internet, you can learn anything you want with a simple search. The main reason most people shun learning something new, is that they are intimidated by the unknown. If you get past this illogical, self enslaving emotion you begin to grow. You are no longer restricted by imaginary boundaries. 


So, Minimalism isn't necessarily living with less. It's living with just your needs, while being conscious of the impact your needs cause and minimizing it. This has been my method for living a more conscious life. 

The floodplain created by  Beaver's. They efficiently change the landscape to not only benefit themselves, but it benefits all the other elements in it as well. We need to learn from our sibling species, not write them off as less conscious beings.

I believe being more conscious is the key towards enlightenment. You will never be 100% tolerant, but if you are making a conscious effort to be tolerant, you are winning the battle. Minimalism helps you in many ways and psychological health is just one of many benefits.


When you give in to  materialism, a certain level of an oblivious attitude is needed. This can be equated to the herd mentality, others may use zombie or sheop to describe it. Whatever descriptor you choose, it's not a parallel path towards a higher evolved species. 


Here is what some psychological studies have to say on the issue;


"Our appetite for wealth and material goods isn't driven by hardship, but by our own inner discontent. We're convinced that we can buy our way to happiness, that wealth is the path to permanent fulfilment and well-being. We still measure ‘success' in terms of the quality and price of the material goods we can buy, or in the size of our salaries."


"

"Research has shown, for example, that extremely rich people such as billionaires are not significantly happier than people with an average income, and suffer from higher levels of depression. Researchers in positive psychology have concluded that true well-being does not come from wealth but from other factors such as good relationships, meaningful and challenging jobs or hobbies, and a sense of connection to something bigger than ourselves (such as a religion, a political or social cause, or a sense of mission)."

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/out-the-darkness/201203/the-madness-materialism


"Compared with their grandparents, today's young adults have grown up with much more affluence, slightly less happiness and much greater risk of depression and assorted social pathology," notes Hope College psychologist David G. Myers, PhD, author of the article, which appeared in the American Psychologist (Vol. 55, No. 1). 

"Our becoming much better off over the last four decades has not been accompanied by one iota of increased subjective well-being." https://www.apa.org/monitor/jun04/discontents.aspx


"Compulsive and impulsive spending, increased debt, decreased savings, depression, social anxiety, decreased subjective well-being, less psychological satisfaction, and other undesirable outcomes have all been linked with materialistic values and materialistic purchasing behaviors." https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/cant-buy-happiness/201403/what-causes-materialism-in-america


Do you agree or disagree with the information presented? Why? 


Have you come across studies, which shed doubt on the information cited here? Please share.



What have been your experiences attributed to materialism?


What are some techniques you use to gauge your need over want?


Any advice you would like to share with those trying to take the first steps towards living with less?


Thank you for sharing your precious time. Please be sure to make the time to get outside, record it to share with others, #PayItForward because someone has done right by you and help keep our area's clean by practicing leave-no-trace principles.


Sort:  

The more you own the more responsibility you have over that item. Minimalism frees you from consumerism.

Eloquently said my friend.

Gosh darn it, those are some beautiful photos! I can see now why you chose to live mindfully and minimally! I think you made a wise decision, personally. I commend you in your efforts. The Earth is such an amazing place and we are truly blessed to be alive at such a time as this. We should be more mindful in taking care of our Mother Earth and I think one of the suggestions I find valuable is to be careful in our consumption such as in the use of plastics. I learned recently that BPA is used in the lining of many of the foods we consume, and I thought about how it would make a world of a difference to stop using plastics that contain these potentially dangerous chemicals, not just for health reasons but as a means to show that I am Earth conscious when spending.

This post gave me a lot to consider such as what is most important to me, and what are my values. I value friendship most of all, and that's something that money can't buy. I value having time to enjoy the things I like to do which are painting and music, so I want to focus on those areas as well. I want to have the freedom to travel and enjoy spending time with others who are creatively inclined so having economic freedom is something I want to work towards, such as building up my skills in writing so that I can become a freelance writer instead of working a nine-to-five that I don't really enjoy. So, I'd say that I value being honest, too and living a life of passion according to my own beliefs instead of just going along to get along.

I can see you have what it takes to make it here on SteemIt. You definitely are not at a loss for words. I am glad we came across each other and look forward to reading your future blogs. Thank you for visiting, sister.

You're welcome, and it's not any problem at all to support my fellow Steemians! I actually look forward to reading posts such as yours which mention minimalism. I think you raised many valid points in your blog that could help anyone to understand the importance of living life beneath your means, such as the suggestion you made on can openers! I've never had a can opener other than a manual one because I've not been what I would consider "wealthy" enough to afford any other type.

I grew up in a family where we grew our own food, canned and preserved food for the winter months, so what's trending now in alternatives communities was always a way of life for me. I'm actually blessed to have had those experiences and gained that type of knowledge early on in life.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by NotConvinced from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@originalworks, all quote's are cited and the source links are presented.

Hi Notconvinced...

"Our collective psyche on average, does what's easiest, rather than what's right."
This bit of wisdom here explains why the world is as it is. I think of it as human entropy.

The secret, I think, is in getting people to understand what they VALUE, and why they VALUE. Most people don't even know where their values come from, what they mean, and what "good" they do or don't do.

There is no way to overcome human selfishness collectively. There are individuals who will make the choice to take this journey, but unless human evolution really accelerates, the majority of people will not change; will not even desire to.

Luckily, we can look at that first bit of wisdom, and make progress. We need to make being free look attractive, and make doing the right thing the easy thing to do.

For example, I support the development of plasma energy technology (hot plasma), where over 90% of the "garbage" we produce can be used to make clean energy.

I'm a capitalist myself, but I think that consumerism and capitalism are responsible for quite a bit of the misery people experience. But this is all part of the evolution of society, a necessary step, in my opinion.

Human Entropy is a very vivid label and I agree. Freewill doesn't allow for a truly collective conscious, it's just a romanticised way of explaining it. You must have the pure and the filth to allow for everything in between. Evil is necessary for growth, but you will notice me saying this a lot that," balance in nature is not 50/50. I like to think that the perfect balance for forward evolution is mostly good with a strong touch of bad. 70/30'ish, but it's different subjectively." I am a proponent for a free market. I am not sure exactly what your definition for Capitalism is.

I just remembered reading an article a few months back explaining how the collective personality of each generation follows a predictable cycle. I never researched deeper, but now I will look it up and research it a bit. I think this knowledge is important to understand, possibly.

Thank you for your words, they are inspirational. I can appreciate what you say, that there is a large percentage of our household items that are not even used and don't need to be there. When disposing of usable items, it should be considered that donating to a charity is more appropriate environmentally then dumping in the rubbish. Still, if the individual is able to upgrade or get something they want and can afford to do so, there is no reason they shouldn't. Minimalism isn't for everyone, but it is true that cutting back on unecessary items and unecessary spending should be considered by all!

Thank you for adding your perspective. I agree, living off the land isn't for everybody, but living Mindfully is possible for everyone to achieve. Any step no matter how small, towards cutting waste is admirable.

glad i found you! :)
sharing similar philosophies myself and exploring life itself!
be blessed! greetings from bulgaria! ;)

Nice to meet you, my friend. I hope to see you around. If you need any help with SteemIt, just give me a dollar.

More people need to read this. I can say I agree with the info you presented because much of it I can see play out in people's lives. The first point talked about people being discontent and you may want to go even a step further to say there are some deep rooted insecurities.

It can get awkward because you know around christmas time everyone is buying loads of STUFF. Well my wife and I don't ask for stuff and on top of that we pretty much rarely buy stuff for other people. So many family members have expectations to get stuff but that's just not how we roll.

Me personally I have never been a materialistic person. For example My parents used to want to buy me a new pair of shoes every school semester but I would just say no because I had no desire for new shoes.

Being attached to all that stuff I think is the enslavement of you mind. It's so freeing to have less stuff. I wish we didn't even need to use money as well. Not that money in itself is a bad thing it's just that I hate how it is used because it enslaves people.

When it comes to figuring out if I need something vs just wanting something I ask the question "Has not having this thing seriously impacted my life so far?" If my life hasn't been impacted by not having it then there's a good chance I won't even entertain it.

You do come across as a Mindful Person with a level head on your shoulders. Your added wisdom is a benefit to the post. Thank you for visiting. If we could simply decrease the world's material inventory, we could eliminate a huge portion of the pollution as well. We have a long way to go as a species, but people are taking notice if their impact, which is great.

Thank you for the resteem, brother. I am humbled.

Check out the app "Steemit More Info".

Download: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/steemit-more-info/dcbpmclnlapbkgkddhencielibcjogcf

With that, you will get a preview of what you write!

Paul Waggener has released a great video about purpose & truth. Sometimes I think that this guy is Odin's son. It will strengthen your determination & validate what you know.

Thank you, I'll have to check that out.

'You are only as restricted as your dependencies and fears'...I was only thinking on this this morning while out gathering herbs.

You must be in a milder climate than I if you are "out gathering herbs".

Only 35°C today...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48