Curation for Creatives

in #msp-curation6 years ago (edited)

The writing community on steemit is blowing up, and I am so excited to be on the ground floor. There are a number of new contests and an opportunity to be part of a published anthology, plus some really great new writers coming onto the scene. Steemit is giving authors opportunities that are changing the paradigm. Good writing is quickly becoming more accessible, making it easier to directly support your favorite authors. I am featuring a number of writers here who are ready to become your new favorites:

U5dreC81K6yu6jfLZ1F21RHrFW98Sms_1680x8400.jpg

I avoid corners, like a carousel
Dash-descending, intently, like lightning sprites on a spot

I struggled to pick a favorite line from this one. In "Will-less" by @pangoli, he uses internal near rhyme and juxtaposed images to explore a sense of self.

Experiencing life over where every choice and decision is the right one, the one that leads to the greatest happiness over time. No opportunity passed over for one of lesser value. In this situation, I would not have stumbled my words. I would have said exactly the right thing at the right time, and we would have left together.

This short piece of fiction by @dfrankle is called "Friends Who Haven't Met Yet" . The longing in this piece is beautifully communicated through small anecdotes, before being brought full-circle. I especially enjoyed the prose, which felt poetic, and an ending that just resonates.

DQmbYvC6GFAxGX5pHHCmKPvFic2vZDafzL263Webiq4oSrE.jpg

She groaned, her eyes closed, and tried to get up but the headache gripped her head tightly and little veins stood around her scalp like laurels.

Another piece of fiction, although this one leans a little more dark, and a lot less hopeful. I like the ending, which was unexpected, and the vivid imagery throughout "Broken Girls Do Not Die" by @warpedpoetic

DQmULdhYijijyyRNiEzNGqYmDpvJa2Nqp6sV6RunZNPapPg.jpg

even its darkness
reminding you
how beautiful too it is
to have another side
it could not be itself without.

@jessandthesea discusses the importance of understanding the positive and negative side of everything through the lens of her friend's wedding in her post Singing the Body (and the Soul and the Bonds We Have Between Us) Electric.


DQmcKfFpAMmWEMzSdK7RqVmNotEw3jM2ZXseXBNyj3GePYN.gif



Art and pull-quotes are sourced from their respective posts
Reflections are property of @sunravelme

Sort:  

thank you for the mention :) also, I loved reading the other pieces you mentioned here as well. do you live in minneapolis???

I live in Denver :)

ohh, I just saw msp and thought maybe you lived there. I have lots of friends there, and they are on Steemit.

Bless you good sir for curating good content!
It's people like you that encourage and give hope to small new writers like me who are dipping their toes in the pond!

Didn't even notice the new writers block challenge, so thanks for drawing my attention to it! The more poetry contests the better!
haunts contests for inspiration ;)

Yes contests are great places to get visibility and inspiration for sure. I haunt them for pieces to curate ;)

Thank you for the feature dear. I'll keep it up!

🤣

Absolutely! I loved your piece so much, I had to read it three or four times, there were too many great lines to pick from!

enjoying your posts and dedication to growing the lit community, Sun.

you can feel the love you hold for writing and reading and the emotional and personal experiences shared by the writers in this and every feature post you write.

grateful to you and the steemit lit community as a whole for being so welcoming and inspiring.

Thank you! There are so many great things happening for literature on steemit. It's really exciting!

Yeah!!! I am up here. Lol. I am must doing something right. Thanks again @sunravelme

Keep writing the good stuff!

Wonderful post!! Great writing happy to be here! I have followed you❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22