Mr.M Art Contest #8 - There is a rainbow in my beetle!

in #mrm-artcontest6 years ago (edited)

Hey, guys! What’s up? :D

YES! I managed to finish it on time, hahaha. I was going to post this drawing 2 days ago, but due to problems with my internet service (as usual) I couldn't do it, but it came back just in time so I present to you my Rainbow stag beetle :D

This is my entry for the mrm-artcontest by @meloo0182.

Theme: Insects

Imagen.jpg

At first, I wanted to make a Mantis or a Butterfly, but I noticed that others had already made one so I explored other options. Among many insects, this was the one that caught my attention because of its colors. I honestly didn't know that beetles could be colored because what I always saw were dark brown /black ones.

Here are some pictures of the process

Imagen (1).jpg

This is a male beetle (the mandibles of the males are larger than the females). This species is native to Queensland, Australia. If you want to know more about them, click here.

This wasn't the result I wanted to achieve, but it's pretty close so I'm glad that everything went well and I didn't end up ruining the drawing, haha. I was looking for a metallic look like this:

rainbowstagbeetles1.jpg
Source

Sometimes, I'm afraid to work with colors because once you put the color you can't remove it, but I found on this page a great inspiration seeing the work of other artists and that helps me to improve.

Well, that’s all for tonight. It has been a hard week so I'm going to rest now. Hope you liked it. Bye, guys! <3

Previous posts: (。・ω・。)ノ♡

26552895_1801508409971588_1315512688_n.jpg

Sort:  

This is magnificent @art- huntress, I can see the beautiful metallic colors in your drawing. Can I ask friend, did you use colored pencils? Incredibly good dear❣️

Thank you, Grandma! Yes, I used colored pencils to make this drawing. They're a box of 24 colors that I bought a few months ago with the money that I've been saving here thanks to the support of the Steemit community. So I hope some day to be able to buy professional drawing tools, but for now, I have other priorities.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

That's a brilliant beetle! It is so detailed. I hope you win :)

Thanks for your compliment, Dee. See you later in artstorm contest! :D

Combination of three things I love, iridescence, bettles and good art

You have good taste, haha. Thanks for your comment! <3

That thing really pops off the screen, the iridescence is amazing :)

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :D

oh wow! you paint fantastically
I am also participating, if you want you can go through my post
https://steemit.com/mrm-artcontest/@jangamasisa/mr-m-art-contest-8-tema-de-la-semana-insectos

Thank you! I'll check it out :D

Beautiful work! Love the rainbow colors :)

Thank you! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52