The Move : The Calm Before the Storm

in #movinghouse6 years ago (edited)

I've seen so many of these moving timeline infographics on Pinterest and every time I see one I chuckle at myself in horror.

5010b09bb77587fb0bd18e974ec2c6d6.jpg
Source. HouseHunt.com

8 week ago... Wtf was I doing 8 weeks ago? I sure as hell wasn't starting a moving folder. I dont think I was even sure we were moving 8 weeks ago

7 weeks doesn't matter since it's a local move.

6,5,4,3,2 weeks is all getting sorted this week, like right now. As I type this, hubby is talking to the water people.

1 week out ~ packing?

Nah man. I'm lazing about enjoying the way my muscles feel and how tidy the house is. I know all that is going to change soon.

It wasn't that long ago that we last moved and I remember the aching back, the sore muscles, the raw hands from all the cleaning.

Shits about to get real!

So I'm enjoying now.

The movers have been booked. This time next week I'll be blogging from our new house.

I'm hoping we can get the keys earlier than Wednesday so I can get the cleaning part out of the way before the Friday move.

Right now it's all about getting our utilities lined up.

  • Water is automatic and gets transferred along with the house
  • Electricity is ticked off, final meter readings to take place next week.
  • Gas is on the to do list.
  • Internet is getting sorted right now.

Hubby is a machine at this. I'm just listening to him work his magic and get us connected. Thank God he's on holidays.

While you're here. Have I missed anything?

I have added to the to-do list.

  • Pest control at the new house
  • Gardener for this house
  • Carpet cleaner for this house

I still need to gather all my Pay it Forward items so I can put them out the front yard on Monday for whoever wants them.

Yep. Definitely the calm before the storm day and I'm going to enjoy every minute of today.

Happy Friday Everyone!

💗 Arly

PS. Do you have any moving tips for me?

Sort:  

No tips from me. I just tend to get things done eventually 🤣 i hate moving 😑 hope everything goes easily and smoothly 😄

I hate moving too. This will be the last time for a while tho so that's keeping me excited lol Thanks love xx

happy friday also @bearone..
hopefully quickly finish what you do and produce results as desired..

That is sound advice. Thank you @devart!

Nice post. Welcome after long time.

Hey long time no see! Hope you're well.

you are gread...we are inspired from you...
plz follow @ upvote me
..

I hope you'll the place you'll be moving into will be a lot better. Moving can be a hassle sometimes isn't it? :)

Here's my latest post @gvincentjosephm. Feel free to visit

https://steemit.com/poetry/@gvincentjosephm/when-the-closest-people-to-you-don-t-believe-in-you-life-becomes-a-lot-heavier-that-it-s-suppose-to-be

I Hope you like it too.

It is a bit of a hassle but last move for a long time so it's worth it ;)

Courage!

(As the French like to say).

The actual process of moving is a fag but once in and settled - oh the joy.

The worst bit is just at the end when most things are packed and there are small piles of toot here and there. Stuff which you cannot decide whether to keep, just in case, or throw. (Or is that just me?)

I wish you well.

xox

Thank you my dear 💗

Courage is so appropriate right now with so many things happening at once.

Nope not just you. I'll be going through that dilemma tomorrow when I start sorting the Pay It Forward stuff.

I do have a process where when I find something and I'm like. Oh.. and I didn't even miss it ~ I know it's time to let it go.

But when I find something and go, Oh! there you are! ~ You bet your ass I'm keeping it lol

I hope you're having a fab year so far xx

Good luck with the move! :D

Maaate!! Thank you!!

I'm moving soon...in a month. Seem's I'm already 4 weeks behind on planning! Thanks for increasing my stress levels :)

lol don't worry it'll all be fine. I haven't even packed yet. I should say. Still haven't packed yet lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38