Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the Golden Ticket

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Everyone knows about the Golden Ticket found by Charlie in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Finding a Golden ticket meant that you won a chance to take a tour of the famous and mysterious factory, and the search for the ticket is a major plot device in the movie.

This is what the ticket said:

765BED55-B4AB-4D38-9F21-84077B003AFF.jpeg
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Wonka-Golden-Ticket-FRIDGE-MAGNET-Willy-Wonka-chocolate-factory-entry-ticket-/311911595899

Lately I have been marveling at the prevalence of gold EVERYWHERE in culture. Take a look around you next time you are anywhere, and I mean anywhere.

Start keeping track of the times you see the word “gold” and you will see what I mean. Here is an example: https://steemit.com/story/@goldmatters/costco-chaos-search-for-gold-with-the-goldmatters

Back to Charlie. (Cheer up charlie... I haven’t forgotten about you)

The Golden Ticket, although a huge part of the movie, isn’t the only instance of precious metals in Charlie and the Chocolate factory.

Did anyone notice that Charlie paid for the Golden Ticket bar with..... silver??

Thats right, Charlie found Austria Maria Theresa Silver Thaler in the drain.

AD2861C3-990C-4A02-A37E-735B43B3A2E0.jpeg

This coin has quite a bit of silver content, about 23.38 grams. This is what the coin looks like up close:

E97D9FB7-DB5F-428F-9CCC-1A9C0623B88B.jpeg

CONTAINS SPOILERS:

Normally I would frown on Charlie for using a piece of silver to purchase chocolate, but in this case it works out for him, earning him a chocolate factory that presumably throws off significant cash flow.

Although Charlie demonstrates financial recklessness by gambling that a random bar of chocolate will yield him the Golden Ticket during a time where his family could have used the money to feed themselves, we will forgive him based on the eventual outcome.

Here is a more modern example of real life people choosing chocolate over silver:

The other instance of precious metals in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is when Veruca Salt loses her stuff over the golden egg laying geese.

75607DF6-2436-40FA-8EF1-0DF0EDAA6599.png

While it seems like these golden geese eggs are actually chocolate, Veruca Salt insists upon having one, and this ultimately leads to her demise:

So silver: good.

Chocolate : better.

Golden Geese: good, but don’t get too greedy

The morale of the story here related to precious metals seems to be....

  1. If you find it on the ground, forget about Greshams Law (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gresham%27s_law) and spend it as quickly as possible.

  2. Don’t kill the goose that lays the golden egg, and don’t try to buy them from Mr. Wonka, or you might end up in the furnace.

We can all surmise that Mr. Wonka was a gold bug and had a diabolical plan to lead Charlie down a precious metals path, encouraging him and ushering him into a Dollar Cost Savings plan buying gold and silver to prepare him for his retirement years.

Or maybe there was no lesson.

Maybe it was just....

A movie!

For $5 in Menē 24k investment jewelry credit sign up here in 30 seconds: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

Thanks for reading everyone!

Goldmatters

97BEA672-52C8-4DFF-9B6D-AD3E47BFCD96.jpeg

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

All images sourced from Menē and Goldmoney.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

Watch Steemians sing Band of Gold here:

Sort:  

Haha..loved it @goldmatters! One of my alltime favorites. I think Gresham's law applies loosely to metal detecting.

Things learned From Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

  1. Always follow your dreams, Charlie's Grandpa was as sure about the bar as Charlie was, you could see it in his eyes. (Goldmatters has that same look when he does a Menē unboxing!)
  2. Greedy people and cheaters get their just rewards in the end
  3. Learning a cool new song that will stick in your head most likely until your dying day "Oompa Loompa doompadee doo I've got another puzzle for you"
  4. And finally, that somewhere else in the world, other than a beanstalk, was a goose that lays golden eggs. They must be real, and I want one of these geese Now!

I’ll talk to the Menē team about the Golden Goose idea, BRILLIANT!! ha ha leave it to @jbcoin to have an epic answer :):)

OMG I can't believe people picked chocolate over silver!!!!

It’s scary right? These people need spend more time on Steemit!

Agreed! I saw a video the other day where people picked $100 over getting 1 Bitcoin.🤦🏻‍♀️. I really wish someone would come up to ME on the street. I'd pick the right answer lol

You’ve thrown the gauntlet!! Let’s play right now! .........

F26E837A-7C7C-425A-9D08-045B773E2BC7.jpeg whats the difference between these 2 rings??

Lol ooo about to stick my foot in my mouth. Hmmm... The one on the right is brushed, the one on the left is polished.

The one on the left looks like 7g and the one on the right looks like 11?

The left is what I like to call a 42% Not Gold ring ( 14 karat gold ) and the right is a Menē 24 karat gold ring!! Sorry to put you on the spot like that! What a jerk move on my part!! Dont be mad :)

Hehe I could never be mad at you. Lol I tried to look it up on the website and still failed. It's a teaching moment!

We both are learning, hey, a few minutes ago I didnt even know what “vang” meant!!

That video with Mark Dice... I wish I were one of his winners on the street... my stack would be 10z taller!

I never realized that Charlie used a silver coin to buy the chocolate, I especially didn't know it was an Austria Maria Theresa Silver Thaler. I bet that's worth a lot of chocolate bars these days. They sell on ebay for about $500.00... wait a minute. Forget chocolate bars, Charlie! Exchange your shiny silver coin for modern stacking rings at MENE! 8.63 Grams of 24K gold, a better investment than a candy factory! Here's your golden ticket! @ironshield

@ironshield

Yes!!! If anyone has a way to contact Charlie , please discord me

Man the Mark Dice video makes me cringe every time, especially the one where he tries to sell people a gold eagle for $25! I wonder what people would choose between Menē and a 14 karat ring...

NOW THAT WOULD MAKE A GREAT VIDEO. HMMMMM

lolz,I am a big fan of Mark Dice, some people's stupidity about the value of silver and gold is just laughable!

Its true ha ha! I don’t know whether to laugh or cry!!

Remember reading the book at school. I must admit when I go shopping now it is quite scary how many names or brands have gold in them.

Scary.... OR AWESOME?

Wonderful and victorious interview by Mark Dice street intervention.
I like Silver but my Love for gold can never move an inches.
Thanks to @goldmatters for letting us to know about #Wonka'sGoldenTicket

I LOVE MENE24K GOLD MUCH LOVE TO YOU SIR @GOLDMATTERS DE BOSS

It is more than a movie, the lessons are profound.

Thats so true

You're right, there are a lot of references to gold and silver! That video with people choosing chocolate over silver makes me shake my head every time.

Right??? Its so crazy lol

This is one of ny favorite movies from my childhood! You really are right though when you talk about the prevalence of Gold in society when it comes to so many different things. Like when there are different levels of plans “gold” is often used!

I have always wanted to be one of the people Mark Dice interviews trying to giveaway some Silver or gold. Haha

Me too. I would at the least ask if I could take TWO bars of chocolate