Series Review: You

in #movies6 years ago

Hey Steemians

I don't often pick up new series since it takes quite a commitment to get into them and follow on on each episode. Most series these days are too often dragged out and filled with unnecessary plot devices or filler episodes just to fill their quota. So when series comes along and grabs my attention, it really needs to be something unique and captivating for me to consider to follow all the way through.

Netflix has done a fine job of that with shows like The Punisher, Daredevil, Narcos, House of Cards and Unabomber but these are few and far between. I happened to come across a new show called "You" which takes a pretty interesting look at the worn out boy meets girl, girl is currently dating a douchebag, he eventually jumps through major hoops to win her over, and they live happily ever after story.

Plot of You

You is based on Caroline Kepnes' best-selling novel of the same name. It is a modern adaptation of a classic love story that asks, "What would you do for love?"

In its simplest form its a story about a brilliant bookstore manager Joe. Who crosses paths with an aspiring grad student and writer Beck. They exchange some clever quips and leave it at that. Like most millennial men he looks her up online and stalkers her social media for a bit before taking the obsession into real life.

He then uses his research to escalate the situation into a series of charming encounters with his cand crush, but this misguided prince charmings obsession becomes dangerous as he strategically begins to remove every obstacle or person that could stand in the way of their love.

Poster for You

What I thought of You

I don't want to give away any spoilers because I think its worth a watch or if you're inclined, to read the book so instead of going through the plot I will simply review the two main characters instead.

Joe: Lost his parents at a young age, bounced around the public child care system and has abandonment issues. His later found by a bookstore owner that rules with an iron fist and teaches the young joe to have a rigid moral compass with military precision. He tries to be chivalrious in a society that no longer appreciates and looks for a partner where he can "save" as he was saved so the more unstable the more into her he becomes.

Since he reads a lot of books, his also supposed to be like super smart for some reason. Which I find rather conflicting because he does a lot of dumb shit. Not that smart people don't do dumb shit, they do it all the time, but I'd like to be sold on his smart person justification for why his being a dumb ass.

Beck: A talented writer from a middle-class family leaves for the big city to try and catch her big break. She carries with her the daddy issues since her father was a junkie. She gets into university and makes some high society friends who only help enable her as shitty millennial. Instead of focusing on her writing because it's her passion, it's more a way to become famous and earn the right to be in high society which she feels she's faking.

She also spends most of the time shagging her issues away like there's no tomorrow, I was convinced she was some kind of sex addict because it just doesn't make sense sometimes they way she goes about it.

Also, Since she also reads a lot shes also supposed to be super smart, that's kind of the underlying theme, that readers are just smart by definition. Yet her justification for all the shitty things she does is not very well thought out.

Every shitty thing she does is just blamed on daddy issues and we're just supposed to accept that. I think after the 5th different person you cheat with saying I have daddy issues is a bit ridiculous.

A match made for murder

So as you can see they make a fine pair. The two of them are toxicity at its finest and it begins to infect and hurt those around them in some very interesting ways.

You will spend the rest of the show torn between who to support between Joe and Beck as they do terrible things to one another. To be honest, I think Beck is far worse but that's just one guy's opinion.

The show draws plenty of inspiration from similar protagonists like Patrick Bateman (American Pyscho), Dexter Morgan (Dexter) and even Jean Holloway (Gypsy) and it works pretty well helping you get into the mind of a stalker/prince charming, as Joe tows the Jerkyl and Hyde line with absolutely no chill.

Trailer for You

My rating for You

If you don't knit pick the characters motivations and simply follow the story for entertainment purposes you'll have a better time. It tries to connect with you on a level of realism and then add a layer of extremism for entertainment and I kind of liked that about the show. I just feel they should have fleshed out the characters a bit more and given more rational instead of me having to assume why they do the things they do.

Its as if there are character arcs happening off screen and were told about it later and we like oh that's why she or he is like that, oh ok!

This show also has a few plot devices that go nowhere and a couple of glaring plot holes and maybe a bit too much plot twists that even M. Night Shyamalan would be like, "wait, hold up?" Other than that the show is really gripping and entertaining. It has plenty of relatable dating sitatuions and then uses that to pull you into the world and mind of the two main characters.

I enjoyed the show but it should have been a mini-series. I'm giving this 7 Tinder dates out of 10. The fact that they set this up for a second season surprises me, I don't think they have enough content and should have tied up the story, but let's wait and see, shall we?

Have your say

Have you seen You? What did you think of the show? Drop me a comment and let me know

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

That was a really good show. I don't like watching people be horrible, and both of those characters are awful, him obviously more so. The thing "You "
gets right is they explain their motivation so well that you root for them even though you hate them because you understand their thought process. It's pretty brilliant.

It was disconcerting at times I agree and I think it’s part of the appeal like how far can this train wreck of a relationship keep going?

To be honest I do think that millennial are pretty obnoxious, self absorbed and selfish! Since I am one and have had to deal with it myself some of the more grounded stuff really hit home!

I’m actually keen to read the book now just to see what the differences are

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are so good at this! 👍 The review is detailed and so long. I wonder how much time you spent on it:)

P. S. I haven't seen these series.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww thanks! Apparently I’m pretty good at reviewing stuff or so I’ve been told since I stated doing review posts!

Lol it’s easy to write and maybe go a bit overboard when you enjoyed a piece of content or you really feel you have something to say on the topic

It was actually longer I decided to shorten it, but doesn’t take me more than an hour to write up

You should totally watch the show then we can chat about it! I need to know if you are team Joe or team Beck

Posted using Partiko iOS

Team Joe or team Beck :)
Is it vital information?

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol not really just having some fun with it that’s all

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have written an amazing review very detailed and easy to follow. I have watched the first few episodes and have yet to get to the rest of them. I think I found it a bit negative with the stuff they get up to. They definitely deserve each other that’s for sure. At first I thought she was a victim and him a perpetrator but as it turns out they are both of the same ilk. Great review, I might give it a second go and try to finish the other episodes when I have some spare time.

Thank you so much and I’m glad you enjoyed the review! Always nice to see a new face in the comments!

I agree it had a few elements of Gone Girl in it where you switch alliances as the story progresses. There was so much unnecessary suffering in this story everyone just seems so selfish

The only character I really felt for was the neighbours kid. I think you owe it to yourself to finish and see our the story the pay off is worth it

Posted using Partiko iOS

OK you have given me incentive ro watch the rest nw thanks🙏

I saw it and I have to say I liked it . I didn’t warm up to Beck as a character and the ending shows (to me) that she’s not actually that smart but all in all I thought it was a good plot. The ending was to be expected, but I didn’t see the second season coming...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hated them both but I hated beck like 10x more she really bugged me she’s just such a horrible person I was like man give up on this girl at some points I wanted to shout at the screen “she’s not worth it”

also thought this was more of a one season show and to drop that final cliff hanger on us at the end I was like seriously? But also kinda wanted more! My deep dark secret

Posted using Partiko iOS

ahahah yeah I especially hated her towards the end for being so stupid! I mean seriously, if you're gonna wack someone on the head to run away, and your life depends on it, wouldn't you hit at least a few times to make SURE the guy stays down? Urgh that part always pisses me off so much in movies

Lol that was pretty annoying but for me it was the whole oh i see his happy with a new girl, let me try and break them up but at the same time still continue to sleep with my therapist. Like what is that even?

yeah that too! She probably deserved the ending LOL (I'm such a bitch)

I've almost started this series a number of times, but I'm not sure I want this influencing my love life in any way...hahaha. Also, can't see the main character as anyone but Dan from Gossip Girl (guilty pleasure show, don't judge please :P)...

LOL! I can honestly say it will affect you! Dating in the millennial age is a minesweeper type task and it shows all the common pitfalls and maybe a bit more, some of it is pretty cringe because you know you’ve been there yourself

Lol no judging we all have our vices! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I won't lie. I will not be watching this at all, everything you described strikes me as something that tries to force a story where none is. Mostly though, the cover is shit. On the other hand I am enjoying mindhunter not sure how old it is but it is nice and one of the few series that I can tolerate doing the effort to go to a website and load it :)

Solid review though. You are such a telented young man.

I think it does try to force a story there is a lot happening, I would have preferred if they maybe tried to remove some of the sub plots, tell a much cleaner story focusing on the two main characters! I found the most interesting character to actually be the neighbours kid

Mind hunter is probably about a year or so old i haven’t seen it yet!

Lol thanks, I just have fun putting down my thoughts on shows! Sometimes I even like to explore reimaginings to entertain myself Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm not really sure i would be into this series.

Hello Chek, i was just passing by to say the magical words: Thank you!

Your contribution to the ''Santa Venezuela'' Initiative was definitely not in vain, it helped a lot. People like you really make the world a better place.

Happy new year, and thanks for your support!

No worries it really isn’t for everyone, i was pretty surprised at how much I got into it though not my usual type of show I would watch

Oh that’s so sweet thank you! I’m just glad I could help in some small way and I really hope we can do more in the future! The Venezuelan community is one of the biggest in steemit and need support! Hope it keeps growing their and all the best see you around

Posted using Partiko iOS

i need a second season omg!!!!!

LOL i think they going to lose the plot with this Candice story just like they did with season 2 of 13 reasons why! Sometimes a story should be left as it is for what it is, even if it’s popular!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.668 which ranks you at #5368 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 462 places in the last three days (old rank 5830).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #107.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63