Mr. Director, A Movie Review - A Steemitbloggers Contest

in #movie6 years ago (edited)

text16.png

@tryskele's Movie Review of 'The Greatest Showman'

l83pjh4nsr.png
img source

text16.png

I am sure by now many of you have seen this movie. If you haven't I HIGHLY recommend it, that is unless you really dislike musicals.

First of all, I have come to be a humongous fan of Hugh Jackman and increasingly Zac Efron. I have to admit as Zac Efron has gotten older his singing and acting has greatly improved. 'The Greatest Showman' shows that.

In short summary, the movie is about P.T. Barnum, his life and to a point his phenomenon. He started with what he called the 'American Museum' which later became known as the circus. The movie covers this very well.

On to better things. I have not seen a musical or a movie that has moved me this much in a while. I now have 2 songs that are from the movie I just can't get enough of. Lately, like so many I have been fighting my 'darkside' the part that wants to curl up and watch the world go away. It makes it hard to interact on any level even doing something like this. Music has always been a release for me so when I hear the song 'This is Me' it truly brought me to tears. The 'supporting' cast sings this song when they are made to feel like the don't belong.

text16.png

I am not a stranger to the dark
Hide away, they say
'Cause we don't want your broken parts
I've learned to be ashamed of all my scars
Run away, they say
No one'll love you as you are
But I won't let them break me down to dust
I know that there's a place for us
For we are glorious

Songwriters: Justin Paul / Benj Pasek
This Is Me lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd.

text16.png

The first few stanzas hit home. It brought feelings that I try to ignore. You're probably wondering why would you love this song. Well, that part I will leave up to you. Sure you can watch the video on YouTube. Watch the movie it makes even more sense. Just remember the title 'This is Me' it's something we all need to remember. It is truly an anthem they way it's played out and presented sends chills.

I think one of the reasons this movie moves me as much as it does, is honestly about all of us. We have goals and dreams. Sometimes we let past circumstances get in the way of our success and then we fail to see the life we have is truly what we wanted.

Ok I guess I told a fib..3 songs LOL not 2 sure I could go back up and just change it but, eh I type what I feel, what I see and so forth. So why change it, now it's part of the story. Bleh...let's just say the whole soundtrack. It's been a few weeks since I've seen it so I have tunnel vision on. When I went back to look at the playlist. Each song has a unique purpose and fit so well. They did an amazing job of songwriting to fit with the movie.

The storyline and acting is very well done. You feel transported back to the late 1800's. Is there poetic license taken with the movie. Of course. I don't think anything that is made anymore is 100% accurate. It's a movie it needs to hold your attention, so sometimes there are embellishments. Watch it, enjoy it and escape for a short time.

text16.png



Pay It Forward Contests

SB_new.png



IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

This is the movie where Hugh Jackman really look like himself 😊 I started to watch his movie after "Van Helsing" this movie won the best soundtrack and music on Oscar. I couldn't agree more .. This is me really spectacular and moving. The Great Man Show also a message about humanity and fighting the stigma on "different-unique ability and appearance" of human.

It is. I think that is one of the things that really moved me about this movie. I was reading last night on various facts one of the sights said he has spent around 10 years getting this project done. He had to film the last 2 Wolverine movies first due to existing contracts. His dedication and passion really show through.

Do you believe me if I say that I just found out about Hugh Jackman played as Van Helsing, Wolverine and other movie after I watched TGS on a flight from Aceh to Jakarta Last May? 😂😂😂 I thought he was a new actor😊 and TGS is one of the greatest movie I ever watched.

He never cared about romantic relationship with his actress but He appreciates their talent and abilities, a dreamer but also visioner.. I thought it was a true story once 😊

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you :)

Awesome post, I also really love this movie and have thoroughly enjoyed the soundtrack. This Is Me definitely became a road trip hit for me over the summer. :) Great entry to the #steemitbloggers challenge.

That is awesome @lilyrabe :) Anytime I've needed that little boost I pop it on. I saw an episode of the Graham Norton show which Keala Settle sang it was awesome. No auto-tune, no enhancements.

I also love Graham Norton! Haha. This is super nerdy - but there was a girl from the voice who sang This is Me and knocked my socks off:

She's amazing. I got goosebumps :D

You picked the perfect movie to curate. I love this movie too. Watched it like 3 times over a period of 1 week. And the song is just so inspirational...
I think I'm going to watch it tonight.. ha ha

Thanks, @ireenchew. I have lost track of how many times I've seen it. The last time was about a month ago it was a 'movie in the park' We had such an awesome time and those of us that knew the songs sang along.
I've got to wait until Wed.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity.

You can support us by following our curation trail or by delegating SP to us.

20 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 300 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP.

If you are not actively voting for Steem Witnesses, please set us as your voting proxy.

Feel free to join BDCommunity Discord Server.

Oooooh a musical! I haven’t watched one in ages! Would you say it’s kid friendly? My kids also love music :)
Thanks for the review! I look forward to watching it 🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh definitely kid friendly @wildwandere. There are a couple of kisses, but nothing overdone. I think it's a great family film. It teaches some very valuable life lessons. Of course you could preview it then you get to see it twice :)

I must watch this one. I heard some songs from it and they sound great

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.485 which ranks you at #6423 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 6434).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #139.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73