Friday is for Films: Cloud Atlas

in #movie7 years ago (edited)


There are very few movies to leave such a powerful mark on me, that years after I consumed them I still get the thrill. One is definitely Cafe de Flore, reviewed a couple of weeks ago and another one would be, without a doubt Cloud Atlas.

The movie is based on an similarly titled novel and there are rumors that the book is even better than the movie. Didn't read the book yet, but, given my plans of slowly finding some quiet places on some quiet beaches around the world, I assume there will also be time for some catching up reading. Until then, I will resume to movies.

Anyways, Cloud Atlas, the movie can be enjoyed without even knowing there is a book behind it.

If you want to immerse yourself in this world (because there won't be just a regular movie, as the whole thing will cap almost 3 hours) then I suggest to do it at least a couple of times. That's right, I suggest to see the movie at least two times, because you will see, in fact, 6 different movies, interviewed in a single story. The amount of information to be absorbed, on the narration level, on the visuals level, and on the characters level is simply overwhelming. At least for me.

Simply put, Cloud Atlas is an historical movie, blended with a contemporary drama and topped with a mind-blowing science-fiction. There are 6 stories that will interlace themselves on a 600 years slice of history.

The most intriguing part of the story is how to recognize the "incarnation" of each character in all the different stories, and, subsequently, how to quantify the consequences of their deeds in the previous life. One of things I like the most about Cloud Atlas is that it doesn't preach anything, it just shows natural human behavior and how this impacts other people. So, a character that starts as a crooked villain may slowly turn into a hero and a funny story teller may become, without even knowing it, the igniting image for a revolution, years after he'll die.

I think Cloud Atlas is a very original project, not only in terms of script, but also in terms of production. Some of the actors, including Tom Hanks, declined payment and worked for free, just to see the project coming to life. At times, production had to be stopped because there wasn't enough money. And one of the directors is Andy Wachovsky. You may remember the name from a tiny little movie, called The Matrix, where he was also a director, this time with his brother, Laurence Wachovski. Of course, a few things happened to the two Wachovskis since The Matrix, including some unexpected sex changing, so I think it will be more appropriate now to refer to them as The Wachovski Sisters. Or, simply put, The Wachovskys.

I left this reference to The Wachovsky's change in sex, because you will see a lot of this surprising turns into the movie. One lifetime a character is a man, and the next one, the same "mental continuum" is expressed as a woman.

There are many things to be told about Cloud Atlas, including some very appreciative words about the score - which actually contains a musical piece called Cloud Atlas, a beautiful one, I must say - but I don't want to spoil the surprise.

Just try to see it at least a couple of time before trying to even come to a conclusion about what the movie really is about. Start with the trailer:

And I couldn't refrain to post a link to the Cloud Atlas sextet piece:

picture source - Wikipedia


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as a Steemit witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

@dragosroua this is such a pleasure to read your comment on one of my very favourite movies of the past 10 years, you did a great job considering the sheer size of this monumental movie.

In a documentary about the film, I learned that a lot of the very top artistic minds of England decided to put this movie together for the pleasure of it and that many had originally "volunteered" to work on this project as it was simply worth it as an artistic venue. The result is rather mind-blowing on so many levels.

Thanks for sharing the link to the Cloud Atlas Sextet as well, that was a nice touch and a very beautiful surprise.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Glad to find another Cloud Atlas fan here (although the term "fan" is not appropriate, but you know what I mean). :)

Maybe I deserve the word actually as I have been presenting this film to many many people so far and plan on doing so for a while. though I have not watched it over a hundred times like BARKA, I still have watched it about 10 times so far as it has enough depth to be worth watching many times over. Namaste :)

One of those movie that should be watched at least twice

Did you see it? I confess I really had a hard time to identify all the characters in all the contexts and I had to watch it 3 times. :)

I've watched it way more than 3 times. It's a great movie, the music is just beautiful!

Thank you. I saw your post and decided to watch this movie again tonight. I feel like I had seen it before, but I didn't remember the ending, so I think maybe I never finished it. What an incredible, unique, inspiring movie. My favorite lines below:

The weak are meat, and the strong do eat. And by each crime, and every kindness, we birth our future.

If I had remained hidden, the truth would stay hidden. I couldn't allow that. And what if no one believed this truth? Someone already does.

What is an ocean, but a multitude of drops?

What a great movie. Thanks for reminding me of it to give it a second chance.

So happy to hear that! Yes, we are but drops in a huge ocean and the way the movies tells this is so touching. It actually gets you to the point you really understand it, feel it and act upon it.

wonderful visionary movies, one of my favorites of the last years! After Cloud Atlas, I watched Sens8 of Wachowski's brother, a nice tvseries!

thanks for the recommendation, I heard of Sense8, will try to give it a shot :)

Siblings? I'm sure we could at least compromise that way given the quality of their contribution :)
I am loving sense8 too!

I found the book pretty heavy going - the film rendition made a complex story more accessible. It's rare that I prefer a movie over the book, and in spite of not being a Tom Hanks fan - I did love the film for it's depth and breadth across the space-time of the heart ;)

Good to know about the book, now you made me curious :)

If you like in depth literary fiction - from historical to dystopian future - read away, but as you say, may be best whilst stranded on a desert island!

I think I need to watch Cloud Atlas again....this time, with a lot of patience. The first time I watched it, I was totally lost.
....The Wachovski Sisters....did not see that coming at all. lool
Cant wait to see Halle Berry and Tom Hanks in action.

Thanks for posting this!

Enjoy, it's a great movie and really worth the patience to stick with it until the end.

hi. I watched this film in a plane a while ago and really liked it. it was a bit jumpy but I loved it

Glad to hear that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39