Today is Mountain Monday!

in #mountainmonday6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to #mountainmonday, hosted by me, @keithboone!

This is your chance to share anything that relates to mountains in any way. We're pretty casual here at #mountainmonday headquarters, so use your imagination and post a story, drawing, photo - whatever you like! If you drop a link to your post in the comments, I will do my best to pay a visit to your page and upvote and resteem your post.

4harpr60at.jpg

Today I want to show you a few photos from Canmore, Alberta in the Canadian Rockies. The first photo was taken in early May of this year from Silvertip golf course. The course had not yet opened for the year, and I pretty much had the place to myself! The mountains are called the Three Sisters.

gam07xqfsj.jpg

Level crossing Canmore, Alberta. A Canadian Pacific freight train with the Three Sisters in the background. I was very happy to catch this shot as the train rumbled through town.

js86b87y72.jpg

The Three Sisters in August. What was that thing Smokey The Bear used to say? Only you can prevent forest fires! This year the fires in the west were the worst on record. It's time to start taking climate change seriously before all this is lost forever...

v41yjxzqd6.jpg

Above: The Sisters in black and white. I think mountains always look good in monochrome, how about you?

That's my #mountainmonday post for this week my friends - please feel free to share yours!

Sort:  

Wow, I really appreciate that Dave! Thank you @daveks

Love your mountain photos! The 3 sisters are beautiful
in all the colors! Sure thick smoke there on the one
Was that from the day after things turned legal? ;-)

Happy Mountain Monday 🌄 @keithboone & Everyone!
Mount Redoubt Volcano

🌋

Thanks a lot for entering #MountainMonday! I'm heading over to check out your post. About the smoke photo... sadly, yes. ;)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That what terrific, what a great entry! Thanks for participating in Mountain Monday!

Most welcome Keith. A great idea for a contest. 😊 🏔 ⛰

They look mighty!!! Love them!!😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, they are great mountains - so pretty and when you are nearby you are overwhelmed by the sheer size.

Absolutely! They totally bring a sense of humility to people

I love your posts. But every time i feel like why there is not few more photos :D

What a nice comment... I'll always add one extra, just for you! :)

I like the level crossing photograph especially @keithboone. Great composition. 😊

Thank you @gillianpearce! I was happy to catch that shot... There was all kinds of traffic backed up at the crossing, and people milling around on the sidewalk. I was lucky to get a clear and unobstructed view!

I was lucky to get a clear and unobstructed view!

Gosh you were luck then @keithboone. Your photograph makes it look like there's just you and the train on the open road. 😁

Ok, so I always say stuff like "I was lucky." Here's the real story @gillianpearce. I was watching for trains, I was kind of obsessed for some reason. While in Canmore, I always knew where the tracks and the mountains were, just in case something lined up for me.

It looks like I'm on an open road, but it's completely deceptive. Out of frame to the right is a large Library/Community Center/Sports complex. Parking lots, tons of cars and people. When I heard the bell ring and the red lights started to flash, I was on the wrong side of the tracks. I was able to cross before the before the barrier came down, and I had about 30 seconds to line up the shot. I climbed up on a 2 ft tall planter or something, and shot over some foreground distracting stuff and framed the shot as you see it. The train is crossing four lanes of traffic and there are cars lined up on both sides of the tracks. I think there were wires overhead.

So yeah, I was lucky but I totally worked for it! :)

Oh. I love it @keithboone. What a brilliant story!

You certainly did work for it but what a great shot. Thanks for telling me the full story. 😁

Beautiful mountains West, Keith, and you captured them beautifully as always. Thanks for the contest. 😊

Thank you, my friend, I hope you have a great week ahead!

Which place it is?

Posted using Partiko Android

This is Alberta, Canada. In the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

This is really amazing place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice. I have never spent any time in Canmore other than passing though. One day!

It's a good place for a home base if you want to explore Banff, Lake Louise, Yoho, etc.

Yes I bet. A bit less crazy than Banff no doubt.

Cheaper than Banff for most things, and only a half hour away or so.

Yes. I was there briefly to get the helicopter out to Assiniboine.

That must have been incredible!

Yes it is a beautiful flight in there. Then we walked out over 4 days.

Now THAT's an adventure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36