WHY I SOLD MY MOTORCYCLE

in #motorcycles7 years ago (edited)

The black 2011 GSXR 600 was my pride and joy over the past few years. I rode everyday for a number of years and sold the bike roughly four months ago and I miss it very much. The heartbreak didn’t initiate until the cash was in my hand and the new owner took off down the street. It suddenly hit me; my beast is gone forever. I have been very busy working, surfing or doing other things like helping my grandfather restore his house, but every time I see a bike I start to feel like riding.

GSXR.jpg

My first bike was a Kawasaki ninja 650 Lams ABS. This was a great bike to learn on, although would be nothing like the new bike I was about to own. The GSXR was advertised on bike sales and instantly knew that she was the bike. The bike already had a name prior to purchasing; it had been decided at that moment I was going to buy her. I called her ‘Avalanche’, named after my adored black Chihuahua. The previous owner wanted $9200, I firmly said I am not going to muck around and here is $8900 cash. He said 'I am not going to muck you around either, sold' and was a great sale for both. The bike had only completed 3000 km and turned out to be a beast with no problems at all.

Brembo.jpg

Many riders do decide to stop riding for one reason or another. My decision to stop and sell was due to having a very close call at over 100 km per hour. I previously had close calls but not like this, most of the time it was other drivers at fault and I was always anticipating their mistakes. I never anticipated to feel so miserable because of my own mistake and to this day I still don't know how I made it.

GSXR1.jpg

The incident happened while travelling in the left lane where I decided to punch ahead of a car in the right lane, the bike flew like a rocket. My distant vision was blocked by the car in front of me and the road slightly veered to the right. When changing into the right lane at high speed, a four wheel drive suddenly revealed itself and it was completely stopped, the car was turning right. I was going too fast and had less than 10 meters to stop at accelerating speeds of at least 100 km per hour. I totally screwed up and went into a fight-or-flight response.

I began to gently squeeze the front brake ready for an emergency stop and instantly applying the rear brake hard. I then started to squeeze hard on the front brake. I couldn’t squeeze the front brake hard instantly, as I would potentially low side the bike. Then when I started to squeeze hard, it all hit me at once. I was going to crash and could not brake in time. Without thinking I maneuvered the bike around the car somehow. I remember the rear end of the bike flick out and drift to the right, then back out to the left. I somehow managed to fit through an almost impossible gap between the four wheel drive and car in the left lane. It felt like a batman maneuver, but I very well knew it was just a lucky move in response to a costly mistake. It only takes one mistake and probably what also pushed me to sell. I enjoyed surfing and other things in life that I would hate to give up because of that one mistake.

Side.jpg

After the incident I then continued to ride with a terrible feeling in my stomach all the way to work. The feeling stayed with me and that was the moment I decided to sell the bike. I still rode for a month until the bike was sold.

Sure there are others who have continued to ride after these particular events, but for myself I could not continue to look at my dogs and girlfriend knowing that this could be the last time they ever spent time with me. My girlfriend had already lost her sister in a car accident when she was 17 years old. It was more important to make sure she did not have to suffer from something similar again. I felt selfish to continue to ride for some reason. Your actions on a motorbike can be very different to what you say to yourself prior to riding. That inner voice lecturing yourself before you ride, 'don’t ride fast and take it easy'. Sometimes it would fly right out the window when you’re riding in the heat of the moment or in a group, it just felt way to good.

To this day I miss riding my GSXR very much. The experience of riding was amazing, specifically that part where you stop to have a chat with other riders. The last ride was amazing and we all met for a beer and a steak at the pub afterwards to talk about our recent journey. When you first buy your bike, you quickly realise it is not just a bike you bought, but also a membership to a riders club. I sometimes drive past other bikers in my car and want to nod my head, that gesture of being part of a group.

It had been a great journey riding my bike for many years, it taught me a lot and one day I will buy that Ducati sports classic or Harley Davison just to cruise about with friends. For now my helmet and jacket will rest in the wardrobe, unless I decide to ride on a track.

On a side note my great grandfather was a champion at riding motorcycles and was the first mechanic for Harley Davidson in Australia. I was very pleased to find out about this :)

20180109_012512.jpg

10 useful Tips and tricks discovered over the years of riding.

Some tips are obvious and other tips I was taught from friends that rode for over 30 years. I am no Valentino Rossi but these are some of the things that helped me along the way.

  • Stay within your own limits. This is important when riding with a group. Always organise to meet at the next petrol station rather than trying to keep up with advanced riders. Sometimes better not to ride in large groups.

  • Do not use the front brake when going into corners, if you must only use the rear brake to adjust speed. If you are in the correct gear you shouldn’t need the rear brake. Entry speed is your best friend.

  • Always check your tyres for nails prior to riding. I have had nails in my tyre a couple of times. Unlucky I know.

  • Check your brake lights are working and tyre pressure is good. (try to check every time prior to riding)

  • Always buffer and keep as much distance from other cars.

  • Anticipate other cars merging into your lane. Watch their tires move rather than relying on purely the indicator. A lot of drivers do not indicate. Also if lane filtering is legal, do it. A lot of motorcycle accidents are from the rear. Always check your mirrors when sitting at lights when a car is approaching from behind, have your bike in gear so they do not push you into the intersection accidentally.

  • Stiff arms is bad. When riding a sports bike on windy roads, sit a little bit back on the seat with about a fists distance between your crotch and the fuel tank. There is a molding for your knees on the tank. This puts you into the correct position when leaning. Also don’t sit on the seat completely, use the balls of your feet to take weight and learn to slide your bottom across to set up for corner. This helps you to have relaxed arms when riding. Your legs should be sore after you ride and practice makes perfect ;) Do a advanced riding course to achieve proper technique.

  • Always look through the corner when turning, not directly in front of you. The direction you look is where you go.

  • When riding at high speeds do it on a track. The track won’t have sand or potential hazards and speeding fines.

  • Always wear your protective gear. When not wearing your helmet put it on the ground on top of your gloves. Replace your helmet if you drop it and buy a new helmet that fits well. Helmets save lives, so do not cheap out.

Thanks for reading Steemians and if you would like to leave a riding tip or comment feel free. I wonder how many other riders out there decided to stop and for what reasons. Cheers

Sort:  

Hello I understand 100%, the fear that you have raised.I have been driving my bike for more than 35 years and I have already transported more than 700,000 km. There is always fear and respect towards the motorcycle, to the road, to my head, and especially to other drivers on the road.I really have only one final goal, and this is a safe return home, to my family.This can only be understood by a motorcycle, because the feelings in the drive are unique. I hope that someday you will overcome fear and will be slowly and reliably returning to the enjoyment of riding a motorcycle LIVE TO RIDE andRIDE TO LIVE

That's a shame you had to give it up, I know how you feel I let go of my MX5 this year, (not a bike but still important to me).

After reading your story it sounds like the best decision for you, better to stay alive. Even the best come off at some point and with the amount of cars and trucks around now days the potential is always there for something big to happen, so well done on making the difficult decision!

Giving up your pride and joy is always a big deal, sorry bout your mx5. Yes, I knew I was due to come off, possibly why I made this decision after the near fatal crash. My friend who rode motorbikes over 30 years said 'we all come off at some point'. I guess you could say, I quit while ahead.

Sorry to hear that you gave up your bike mate. I think one great point (although all are great tips) is to stay within your limits!!

I cannot agree more. Don’t push your bike more than you know she can take and always stay within your own limits. Don’t let a car behind you dictate how fast you need to travel.
Nice to see a fellow Aussie on Steemit!! Following.

I agree. Sometimes if a car gets to close I would pull over. I cannot handle drivers that tail gate, there is absolutly no need. Thanks for your good comment :)

Cheers and welcome to steem it :)

Phew.. that would be a really tough decision. Difficult enough to have my Rocket in winter storage for 5 month :-/

Yes it was, but it felt like the right decision. I have not regreted the sale, I just miss it sometimes, especially when stuck in traffic or when you see that cool bike cruising by ;)

Really enjoyed reading this article. I've felt a similar feeling but for different reasons - years ago I had to sell my pride and joy Honda S2000 for financial reasons. Still miss driving her to this day. Thanks for posting this.

Glad you enjoyed. Honda S2000 is a sweet ride, sorry to hear you had to sell. I have a Honda euro and It's like driving around in a lounge ;) I always loved the old school Honda NSX.

Wow i love how you told us of your 'almost accident' experience and at the same time, you also gave some tips at the end! Truly helpful post! Thanks for sharing! 😀

No worries, it is in my best interest for riders to avoid accidents. I would have had an accident earlier if I didn't pay attention to some of these tips. Tip 5 -Always buffer and keep as much distance from other cars.

I would have had better vision of what was a ahead. Tip number 11 - make sure you can see a good distance ahead of you according to the speed you are going. Slow down if you are unsure of what is ahead, such as a car turning ;)

those are some really great tips man! thanks! :)

Congratulations @imperialaussie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @imperialaussie to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Now I know why you don't ride anymore. That was really close. I've had such experiences a lot of times too but I never thought about stopping riding. It is through these experiences that we become mature riders. Looking forward to seeing you back on the saddle on your dream bike soon! :)

Thanks for stopping by. I have thoughts about buying a cruiser ;) harley possibly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82