Travels with Connie #4 Mingus Mountain

in #motorcycle7 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.


Top of Mingus Mountain looking into the Verde (Green) Valley

For a motorcycle rider, the road up and over Mingus Mountain is like a carnival ride. Hard, tight corners mixed in with sweeping vistas and delicious scents. There is plenty of up and down, with enough straight stretches to let you look around. They charge most people a lot of money for that kind of ride at a theme park. On Mingus Mountain it is meerly the cost of time and gasoline.

The State park on Mingus Mountain was brand new when this picture was taken, and we found the facilities much to our liking.

This is what it looks like for motorcycle camping. It's really nice to travel with friends when full on camping, that way no one person has to provide everything. Meals are a colaboritive effort, and at 7000' Elevation are incredibly tasty! There is my Honda ST1100 that I rode before Connie. I put over 100,000 miles on that bike.


The Jerome side of Mingus Mountain


A reminder for the Hang Gliders that frequent Mingus Mountain

Mingus Mountain is another great place on the road to Sedona. The riding is magnificent and the scenery is nearly unequaled. If you are any kind of Geology buff, this is a wonderful place to go. Not too busy and one of a kind.

The next lap will takes us a short ways to the Verde River Valley. There is a lot to be seen there, I hope you will join me for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimar. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

I am a huge fan of the Minnow Support Project and Adsactly. Both have had an enormous impact on my success here at Steemit. You might want to check them out…

Sort:  

Damn I am really jealous. Here in germany we got like 0°C and I dont have grip heater on my bikes ^^
Would love to ride now

When I lived up north I used to throw a tarp over my bike during the winter. There is nothing, I mean no thing that is more sad.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bigtom13 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63