Motorcycle Diaries : To Himalayas, Day 7: Manali-Keylong

in #motorcycle7 years ago (edited)

Till Manali I was not sure if I would continue the trip because of the knee injury I had from the accident on Day 3. I almost quit, by decided to carry on.I come so far, so why not ride for 3 more days for the final destination.

Day 1 To Himalayas: The beginning
Day 2&3 , Disaster Strikes
Day 4,5,6 - The Struggle and Though to Quit half way

Manali to Leh [460+km] is the best part of the road trip with mind blowing views. One has to pass through multiple high altitude mountain passes with drastically changing terrain / rough climate. We decided to take this slow and cover it in 3-4 days making the best out of the nature !

IMG_8879.jpg

We stayed at Keylong since this is the last spot where we could get electricity to charge our camera batteries before reaching Leh. Beyond this is compete remote places with just few Indian military camps in between (at least back then)

IMG_8853.jpg

To my surprise there were roads than what I expected, I was expecting Manali to Leh be mostly offroad. Some stretch of the Rohtang pass was full of slush. We all carried extra 4 Liter petrol as a back up which was never used. Infact after reaching leh I had almost 5L left out in the tank. Today there was not much drama, yes but there was some excitement of seeing a all new world. We rode very relaxed all the way from Manali to Keylong, almost stopping every now and then.
Here are some photos from todays short ride, hope you like it !

To Rohtang Pass

IMG_8863.jpg

Landslides are normal !

IMG_8855.jpg

So does the slushy roads on the way to Rohtang..
IMG_8850.jpg

Waterfalls on the road.. yes thats common too..

IMG_8883.jpg

My bike wanted to take a dip. It fell by itself. Now i think of it , my rain pains looks so funny !

DSC08685.jpg

IMG_8884.jpg

On top of Rohtang Pass

IMG_8870.jpg

DSC08646.jpg

For the tourist !

IMG_8867.jpg

A small road side shop. The Starbucks of Himalayas !

IMG_0978.jpg

A local kid playing , she was very friendly !
DSC08641.jpg

IMG_8868.jpg

IMG_8904.jpg

Beyond Rohtang....
IMG_8873.jpg

DSC08653.jpg

IMG_0995.jpg

IMG_8878.jpg

Bikers !
DSC08664.jpg

IMG_8891.jpg

On our way !

DSC08716.jpg

IMG_8902.jpg

And this guy on his Cycle !

IMG_8899.jpg

Locals..
IMG_8901.jpg

DSC08713.jpg

Every turns gives you a new terrain !

DSC08736.jpg

IMG_8905.jpg

On the way to Keylong
IMG_8910.jpg

DSC08750.jpg

IMG_1049.jpg

The only Petrol pump between Manali and Leh...
IMG_8913.jpg

IMG_1039.jpg

Leave a comment if you like what you see, have you been to Himalayas ?

To be Continued...

Thanks for Stopping by !
@ashwirajt

Sort:  

Wow! Good for you for keeping going! I climbed a mountain in Borneo with a knee injury, so I know how you feel. Your photographs are amazing too btw! Keep the awesome content coming! I'll be following you from now on :-)

Glad you Like it , thank you so much.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you. This is a great initiative

Now that's an adventure! I don't think my bike would last a day there doing what you guys are doing.

One of the must visit place in India , we had our ups and downs in this trip. Thank you for selecting for travelfeed.

by the way didnt knew you ride.. what motorcycle you have

injury?
I hope you're better now. It's good that you keep going. perfect squares and you've accumulated memories :)
Congratulations my dear friend. I congratulate the adventurous spirit. We watched a wonderful share ..

I had a small fall on day 3 of the trip. Thank you , yes I completely recovered since then - but still have marks on my knee as a memory of this road trip :)

Awesome, incredible journey. Glad you didn't get hurt when your bike dropped.

Beautiful photos! I only went to Tibet.

Thank you , that would have been amazing experience !

What an adventure! Absolutely beautiful scenery too. I've been to Leh a while back and I miss that region.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30