Motorcycle Diaries : To Himalayas: Day 4 & 5 , The Struggle and Though to Quit half way !

in #motorcycle7 years ago

So here is day 4 and 5 of my 16 days Himalayan adventure with lot of drama .

You can read previous days blog with below link

Day 1 To Himalayas: The beginning
Day 2&3 , Disaster Strikes

Day 4. Rishebdev to Gurgaon - 711 KM / 441 Miles

Though for a wrong reason we stayed in Rishebdev because of my accident, this was a special place. Really calm, there was an ancient temple here around 5000 years old. Last night when I we for a test ride to check my knee pain we had gone close to it. But the gate were closed and locals said it will open only by 6 am.

IMG_8746.jpg

Next day we started early and went to temple. Temple was not so big to my expectation. We didn't got inside. I just prayed to give to strength to ride and we started. Getting on and out of the bike , changing gears was very difficult since the injury was on the knee. I took off my shoes and wore socks and Rahul's slippers, Because of low heals as compared to my shoe, this felt a lot better.

DSC08459.jpg

We reached Udaipur, had breakfast from there.

IMG_8723.jpg

IMG_8734.jpg

I got a puncture meanwhile.

IMG_8750.jpg

IMG_8749.jpg

The weather was so how and felt like I am riding inside a micro oven. We took a break , I left the keys on the bike as usual. To keep it safe Vinal took my key and kept it in his pocket. We took 10-15 mins break.Every one got back on bike. Vinal just went ahead taking our keys . We tried calling him on his cell, but he was not reachable. After some time could reach him and he came back. He gave Rahul's key back. He said he gave my keys back while we were taking rest.

IMG_8755.jpg

IMG_0885.jpg

Then we went back to the place to search the key. I did not had a spare key with me. We didn't find it any where. I had kept my helmet on road instead of keeping it on bike to avoid fall and getting scratches. While we were searching the key by bike fell by itself and it fell on the helmet. Result, lot of scratches on my new visor :). I didn't bother to keep the bike back properly since key was more important. I told Vinal to check his pockets again.There it is, it was with him only all this time lol . Now went back and kept the bike properly.He he, its not yet over, my clutch liver was broken, now I cant use it. Damn!! Bad luck one after the other :)

IMG_0887.jpg

Fortunately Rahul had a spare old clutch liver and we fixed it. Again to get it he had to search his whole bag messing up all the packing. All this under the hot sun.

Mobile Cloth drier :)

IMG_8743.jpg

We got some good rain which took off our visibility and hot sun in a short distance. By evening we reached Jaipur. And by this time my knee injury was totally in bad shape. I could not ride any more . R and V said we will have to reach Delhi today at any cost , otherwise we will get delayed further.I lied down near road side where we took break for some 10-15 mins.I got back on bike and went ahead. And this last 200kms was full of traffic, so had to change the gears very often - adding to the knee pain. I used my big toe to shift gears, that way not giving much movement to the knee.

IMG_8739.jpg

IMG_8758.jpg

100kms more to Delhi , I got the second puncture - Damn, yet again why me ? While it was getting fixed some guys gathered and one of them started teasing Vinal. Actually he was very stupid and he started asking all stupid questions. Vinal was really getting irritated.

IMG_8761.jpg

IMG_8759.jpg

By now it was 8:30.So we decided to crash for the day and started searching for a room. A resort was there near by but was very costly. We searched all the way till Gurgaon for a room and Finally got one . Dumped the luggage in the room. V and R went to buy food. My knee was paining like anything. I wanted to remove and clean the dressing of the wound. I removed it myself, but I couldn't dress it up myself. I waited for them to come. At this point I really felt that I will have to quit the trip and go back. They came back and Vinal helped me to get it dressed. I told them that I might quit once I reach Delhi. We had food and slept thinking that I might have to go back next day .

So will i ride next day ?

IMG_0898.jpg

Day 5: Gurgaon-Chandigarh 290 KM / 180 Miles

Usually every day it takes half an hour to tie up luggage on bike and lube all be bike chain , so did today. Started by 8:30. Initially the traffic was more but got better later. Again some confusion to reach Delhi locals showed us the way out of the city.I want to get the wound dressed up. I was still skeptic to continue or not. Finally found a small hospital and went inside. They really scared me. Looking at the wound they said its very deep and it would definitely need 2 months to heal. He said I need 3-4 days bed rest and should not move my knee at all. I really got tensed, at this point I almost gave up. I was not able to walk since they tied it big and tight. I came out and said I am thinking of going back .Vinal said better not take risk. Seeing me last night they both had a fair idea how bad my condition was.

IMG_8776.jpg

We stopped for breakfast in a Dhaba. I didn't call it quit yet. I thought lets ride till Chandigarh and see how it goes. This was the most expensive Dhaba we had food. Just for a veg curry it cost 100rs back then .They royally cheated us. Ride till Chandigarh was the most boring stretch for me in the whole trip. It was damn hot too.

IMG_8804.jpg

IMG_8793.jpg

At some point when we stopped Vinal said he was feeling bit giddiness. So we took a break had enough water and snacks . Vinal had called up Chandigarh probiking to get the motorcycles a mini service. We reached there by 4pm. we got the bikes serviced in Chandigarh and they fixed all broken parts as well

IMG_8816.jpg

IMG_0884.jpg

IMG_0901.jpg

Once we all were done we started looking for room to stay for the night. We asked an old wise man selling bun and other snacks about the rooms. He said there is a temple guest house and we can try there. We went in front of that and was thinking to see whom to ask.

IMG_8800.jpg

By this time Old man came again and he went with Vinal inside , talked to them to give us room. We had to give a copy of Id proof. So he again went with Vinal to the near by town and was showing all the shops and all. Finally they came back. I told Vinal just to give a tip since he helped us a lot. When we offered he didn't take. We were touched by his kindness.You don't get to see these kind of people very often. Then we bought some snacks from him. He gave Vinal his mobile no. We checked in the hotel and went out to take cash from ATM and buy medicines. Then I came back took bath m meanwhile V and R went to buy food. I took some rest and had snacks while I was waiting for them to come back.

Day-6 Chandigarh-Manali 312Km/ 194 Miles

IMG_8843.jpg

Initial 100km of this stretch was boring and not good roads, then road and vistas started getting better. While starting today the only thought in my mind was I have to do offroading once we cross manali.

IMG_8817.jpg

IMG_8820.jpg

DSC08538.jpg

IMG_8831.jpg

My injury might lead me to stay back in Manali. We reached Manali by eve. Now had to look for a room. While we stopped in the town I got bit by a bee twice.My bad luck still follows me :) . And it was paining like anything. We got a decent room for 300 bugs. Today I had to change the knee dressing , found a hospital near by only got it dressed up. As usual these guys also scared me, saying injury is in bad condition. Came back to room, took rest.

DSC08512.jpg

DSC08532.jpg

Manali to Leh is the most interesting part of the trip. These are high altitude mountain ranges with mind blowing views
Usually is recommended to say a day or two on Manali to get acclaimed to the climate before you proceed further. The higher you go less oxigen and more difficult it will get for mind and body.

I took medicine to not get affected by AMS[Acute mountain sickness]. V and R had gone out to get some stuffs. After some time my lips started shivering. I was not sure why this is happening. V and R came back after food and they also took tablets. I couldn't eat the parcel food completely even though it had chicken. I asked if they are feeling some thing after having medicine[Diamox]. They said no. Then why only me ? I didn't tell anything to them and slept.

DSC08549.jpg

DSC08550.jpg

Day 6 Onward vistas are gooing to get interesting and real adventure starts !
IMG_8883.jpg

IMG_9100.jpg

To be Continued !

Thank you for Stopping by!
Cheers!
@ashwinrajt

Sort:  

Awesome man waiting for the next one.

thank you , will share it in couple of days

I am so impatiently waiting for the Himalayan mountains, and valleys, and lakes part of your trip!
Seems like you guys reached there very painstakingly with so many set backs, but please be there already :D
Also, love the photo of the bike in the waterfall.

thank you. Will update soon this week. Not getting enough time to write the blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31