Motorcycle Diaries : To Himalayas: Day 2&3 , Disaster Strikes !

in #motorcycle7 years ago

This was the toughest day for me in this journey. In case you have not read Day 1 blog click here

Day 2: Pune-Vadodra 530 KM / 330 Miles

IMG_8575.jpg

Morning we started along with my friend Charuth, so that he can guide us to get out of city, GPS was not a thing back then.
DSC08402.jpg

From Left to Right - Charuth , Vinal and Me

While we were ordering breakfast , I called a local friend MG to meet him. MG arrived after some time , we said bye to Charuth and started ride towards Lonavala.

IMG_8642.jpg

IMG_8576.jpg

DSC08414.jpg
Vinal and MG

IMG_8566.jpg

MG tagged along with us on his motorcycle till Lonavala. He suggested I put on my rain gears as it's expected to rain in and around Lonavala. He told us the route to reach Mumbai and had to take off.

IMG_8624.jpg

IMG_8623.jpg

We followed the route and entered the city after a bit of confusion. At one place we took the road below the over bridge and we stopped to see if it was the right route. I went back to check the sign board When I cam back saw couple of cops stopping people. I rode close to them, they didn't stop me. But they stopped Rahul and Vinal. According to them, we were not supposed to come back in fact should take a u turn, which was right. They asked all papers and DL , we showed it. Seeing our registration which is out of stake they took us for a ride :). And said we have to pay 1800 INR, we had only 1000 (around 16USD) cash with us which went into his pocket .

IMG_8635.jpg

IMG_8638.jpg

IMG_8641.jpg

We thought we could ride till Ahmadabad. But we could reach only Vadodra. It was raining in the evening and it was very difficult to ride, since we had to keep helmet visor opened and also to pass all the big trucks.

IMG_8633.jpg

IMG_8641.jpg

IMG_8571.jpg

We stopped riding around 8 PM and looked for an ATM. Took cash and the hunt for a accommodation started. Couple of rounds in the market here and there ,finally got a decent room for 400 rs (around 6USD ).Got safe parking in the basement. We ordered food , took bath mean while. After dinner and phone calls to family its time to close the eyes without knowing what's waiting for me next day - worst day on the trip for me !!

IMG_8596.jpg

Day 3 - Disaster Hits** - Vadodra-Rishebdev - 290 KM / 180 Miles

As usual we got up started getting ready. We found the oil level was low and chains were loose.We went to the near by gas station, brimmed up. We also bought an oil can and topped all the motorcycles, got the chains tighten as well.

IMG_8582.jpg

IMG_0841.jpg
Farmer getting the milk ready for transport

IMG_8664.jpg
Look at those ears !

Today the roads were so empty and Inviting that I was ripping like anything. Since I was carrying a back pack instead of saddle bag I could cruise on a higher speed than them. There was not much crosswinds like in Bangalore-Pune stretch. I could keep the speed 125-130kmp and occasionally touching 135 in long stretches on a 255 cc motor.

IMG_8673.jpg
@vinal

We always tried to fuel up from the station where they accept credit cards. So I slowed down a bit and stopped in couple of places to see if they will accept card. One guy said there in one station 5km ahead. The roads ahead was full of curves, I wanted to stop and take a pic of one of the curves. I slowed down and was looking for a good place to stop. Suddenly Vinal just passed me so fast, I wanted to stop him saying that there is a petrol bunk 5km ahead and we need to stop there. I accelerated and there comes a big curve. I took it and the foot scraped the road, I didn’t expect it. I lost my balance a bit, before I lift it back the curve almost ended and my friend tier skid.There I go ,Phewww!! . I remember me rolling , I was just in 60-70. I got up and kept the motorcycle in side stand, then arrived Rahul.

IMG_8675.jpg

IMG_8676.jpg

Not much damage on motorcycle couple of scratches and a broken right indicator.

IMG_8679.jpg

Then I looked at myself, my left knee was hurt. I was feeling a bit giddiness and I wanted water badly. There was a local kid I asked him to get some water since we were running short of water. He did’nt go, I could see a house a bit far. Then I though it’s better to sit so that I don’t fall if I go unconscious. I knew I was going to since I had couple of instance like this when I skipped breakfast. Soon I was out, when I got back I could see many faces revolving around me. I got up and said I was ok. Some one got water by that time in a bucket from a nearby house. Rahul had called Vinal by now and he came back. Locals said there is a hospital a km away.

IMG_8681.jpg

My knee guard and elbow guard had taken most of it. But somehow then left knee guard was bit loose or it got loosen when I rolled and hence I got hurt. Luckily no fracture. After taking rest for some time. We went to hospital. Took anti septic injection and got dressed up. There were 2 big wounds on knee and quite bad . This hospital was like a temple that I had to remove the shoes before stepping in , he he. And we had to first get registered before getting the first aid. After they cleaned and dressed up my wound , we got back on motorcycle and continued the ride.

IMG_8694.jpg

Stopped for lunch, by this time my cousin brother called me and was asking how is the ride. I did tell them about the accident. Then I thought will ride my friends motorcycle for some time so that I can keep the leg on the crash guard which was not on my motorcycle. Rode for some time but it was difficult to keep my leg. Also to change the gears I had to bend the knee which is hurt. So it was difficult time. Then I stopped and thought will take Rahul’s motorcycle. Here changing gears was bit more ok but again hurting. In this also tried keeping the leg on crash guard and again it was not comfortable.

IMG_8693.jpg

Then I got back on my motorcycle. We stopped to fuel up now. I again started feeling tiered. And It was damn hot here. Lied there for some time, then I realized than I cannot ride any more then, and I asked my friends if we can call it a day. Then we decided to stay there for the day. Vinal went in search for accommodation. There was a resort nearby and it was costly, so we skipped that. After some time Raul went to see Vinal. They both came back after 15 mins and got a place. All of us were damn tiered because of the hot weather. I took a pain killer and we all slept.

IMG_0856.jpg

By eve we all got up. They went out to look for a place to wash motorcycles.

IMG_0868.jpg

Then I thought to walk and see. I was feeling better. I took some photos from the terrace. In the next compound I saw 100s of parrots flying here and here. I was so surprised to see and hear them.

IMG_8695.jpg

Once they came back, I thought will go for a ride to see if I can ride. Took Vinal as a pillion and I could ride. I felt lot better. Came back to room and thought , I will see if I can ride tomorrow morning , If not rest for one more day if still not possible then I decided to quit and they could continue. With all pain and prayers I went to bed.

IMG_8717.jpg

Phones back then..

Next day we had to reach Delhi , long way to go and I am not sure of I can continue riding or my keen wound gets worst.

To be Continued..

Thank you for Reading
@ashwinrajt

Day 1 Blog

leh1.png

Sort:  

Hi! I featured one of your images that you submitted to my 7 World´s Continents Photo Challenge in today´s color challenge. What an amazing image. Kindly see if you can attend the post to answer some of the congratulation comments for your increased engagement. Tomas

ColorChallenge - Yellow Wednesday - @ashwinrajt in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Thank you Tomas !

Nic bick ,nic posts.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54357.85
ETH 2282.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31