My Wish for You: Survive Your Story

in #motivation6 years ago

I’m not being dramatic. Survival is about more than being alive; it’s about living. About thriving.

I want that for you. I want you to remember that you deserve to thrive, to find joy no matter how hard it is to locate due to depression or other circumstance.

image

I believe in you. I believe you. And if you needed to hear that just now, again, I believe you.

Why today? It’s the Monday before a major American holiday. If you have family pain, it is rising.

I am feeling it too. I am feeling isolated, ironically by individuals who refuse to honor my requested boundaries by not contacting me. I even offered a therapy setting so we could talk without harming one another. They feel safer breaking my boundaries and triggering me, or maybe they don’t take me seriously. Maybe they don’t believe me when I say their actions hurt. Maybe they are to embarrassed to face their potential missteps.

Maybe they don’t believe I have a right to hurt for the reasons I do.

Raise your hand if you have been told how and when to feel, who and what you are allowed to be.

I am feeling the hurt, but I will survive it. I will continue to thrive. I hope you will join me.

What pain are you carrying? I’d love to hear and support you.

image from pixabay.com and edited with WordSwag

Sort:  

When will people learn that their understanding of someone's pain or not has no bearing on whether someone feels pain. Just because they don't get it, or think it's silly, or think we should just get over it... doesn't reduce the pain we are burdened with... if anything, it belittles and worsens it. We need to teach respect for the feelings of others, especially when we don't understand them, because under such circumstances, isn't it obvious that we can NOT offer useful advice since we are oblivious to the problem? Here's to survival. Thank you for this encouragement.

Do you have a post on this? If not, will you write one? I'd love to read and resteem.

where would I post something like that?

On your Steemit blog . . .

sorry, I meant under what tag or category would something like that be posted? I don't know if it's motivational?

LOL. That question makes more sense. Yes, motivation, positivity, psychology, life. Any or all of those!

it's posted in motivation

Very interesting post.

I as well have been in a position where people didn't understood the way I felt and most importantly why, and demanded me to change the way I was and act or feel in a different way in order to "keep appearances" and act like a "normal human being".

It's sad that this is happening and while it would be nice to see things change, I don't think anything will, at least not soon. Not a lot of people are willing to understand there are others besides them, other human beings, individuals each having unique characteristics, feelings and pains.

Really nice post, I would like to answer the question at the end, but sadly, after years of keeping everything for myself and dealing with things my way, I got to a point where almost nothing bothers me.

It's great because I almost never get hurt, but it's really bad whenever I want to establish friendships or relationships. I can't care. I guess at least I'm safe from all kinds of pain.

Anyway, thank you for writing this and for all the work you put into your articles :)

It can be difficult to be so far into defense mode there is no feeling anymore. But I remember your post about your inner world and I see my son do what you described. I see how it helps him to have somewhere else to feel, just like I have the safety of my closet. Thank you so much for this thoughtful response!

Great motivational tips for a monday

Very nice post.

Thank you for reading!

I also believe that I need to thrive. Thank you foe the great message. I have just followed you

Thank you! I will be over to visit your blog soon!

You are welcome. If you find something interesting, leave a comment

Hello friend. I have just posted an article about "Influence: What Makes a Great leader." Would you like to read it and give me an upvote?
Here is the link to the post https://steemit.com/influence/@arnoldmusa90/influence-what-makes-a-great-leader

I believe you and believe IN you. Here if want to share the load. <3

Thank you, beautiful friend. ❤️

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59