ENJOYING SOME "SLOW FOOD"

in #motivation6 years ago

Life isn't a race. He who gets to the finish line first is dead.


I've been there and done that when it has come to fast food lunches and TV diners. If it has been packaged as food and sold on a shelf, odds are I may have tried it. These days though, I'm enjoying a bit different lifestyle.

THE BLESSING OF VARIETY

We just enjoyed some homemade "zucchini sticks" for our last dinner. Personally, I've neither heard of these before or tried them before, but they were delicious. Also, while we did purchase the zucchini, the bread crumbs that they were coated with were not only homemade bread crumbs, they were made from homemade bread.

You'll notice that in between my random adventures, contests, and wild animals, I also eat. A lot of my diet is becoming farm-raised and home grown these days, which has been a huge blessing. Unlike your local McBurger, we have no menu. If we want to enjoy some fresh rainbow trout on the grill, we go trout fishing.

If we want a special desert, we'll think up something interesting or @mama-pepper will find an online recipe that she thinks will work. It not just choosing between an ice cream cone or a shake. Often I say that "options are limited" in many situations, but they are a lot less limited when you get to choose what is on the menu.

PAPA'S POINT

The point of this post is not to make some lame attempt to brag that I ate something homemade and healthy. That's just not my style. This is meant to be a motivational post.

What I would like to accomplish is to encourage and inspire you to slow down and enjoy life. While fast food may be appealing and it certainly is "cheap and easy," cheap and easy is not always a good thing. Perhaps spending an hour preparing a meal that will only take you five minutes to eat doesn't seem like a good way to invest your time, and I understand that. However, we all actually have the same amount of time each day, and perhaps some of us need to slow down.

Why do so many of us run so hard all day long? Why are we constantly rushing to and from places? Have we taken on too much? Are we working too much/too hard because we have not been wise financially? Whatever the issue is, I would suggest that it may be wise to slow down, take a break, and enjoy some slow food. In fact, don't even enjoy the food by yourself, but share it!

Do you remember these tasty Kiwi "Popsicles?" They were so good that after all the effort @mama-pepper put into them we blessed the family of @jaguarlife and @ladyjag and the family of @bluerthangreen and @allforthegood with what we had leftover so everyone in their families could enjoy some.

Anyway, I wanted to keep this short and encouraging, so although most of you are fully capable of buying a bargain burger at the nearest drive-thru and saying "yum!" However, sometimes life is more pleasant if you take the time to enjoy it more thouroughly. Just some food for thought.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-zucchini-sticks

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I have to say fast food is getting expensive too. Unless you order only greasy fries.

I do get your point. Most importantly we need to focus to enjoy life with whatever we have and have fun doing it.
no need to over think about what we have to eat as long it is healthy.

Sincerely I like your menu, homemade, it means you know where the food comes from.
Have a good time with love ones.
Keep on steemin'

Looks delicious. Love the chocolate dipped kiwi fruit. Gonna try that for myself...

Give it a go! It was great!

Ya everything looks sooo tasty

I did something similar and I posted some time ago pictures, here they are, I usually use zucchinnis or/and yellow squash and on this picture I even used sliced egg plant. You can also use bell peppers...

Slice zuccini and yellow squash on half, trim bottoms a little bit to get better stability, sprinkle over seasonings, pizza sauce, some salami if you like and you are not vegetarian and cheese on top. You will get delicious and healthy food, with the taste of pizza ;-)

0001.JPG

0002.JPG

Maybe I burn them a little bit, but I like stuff well done ;-)

0003.JPG

I've done that too! A long time ago in steemit history, but they were great!

Hello:)
this post resonates with my philosophy of trying to be more slow - i have just written an article about it - if slow travelling interests you:) let's rush a little less and appreciate the world- and food- around us more!:) Ps. mama-pepper seems like a great person! Say hello from me!:) cheers!

Interesting, I'll check it out!

Wow great photography all the images are amazing..... foods looks really good and delicious and yummy thank you for sharing the recipe....

They were certainly all some tasty food! Thank you @universalpro!

that is definitely one of the best ways to cook zucchini - and you're right. food is better when you slow down. you mindfully create and cook and prepare it, then you mindfully eat it.

I appreciate the freedom to slow down and enjoy. Thanks!

aaaah nice idea man, i gonna try this myself :D
thanks for sharing :)

Cool! Try it! Thanks @marsell!

This is wisdom. Absolutely spot on. Slowing down to enjoy the seemingly little things in life does help. Home made meals or anything is way more healthier than the junks eaten outside. I am with you totally on this. I wish i could taste that really. Never heard of it before but it sure looks nice. Thank you as always. I enjoy reading and learning from you. @mama-pepper is on point!

Looks so delicious. Even more appetizing is the fact that it is pure organic. Grown by its own efforts, produced all his works. I also try and work towards that goal. I have grown a vegetable garden. And now I want to expand my farming, to have some animals. The pigs and chickens. This will protect my family from chemical additives in food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66687.09
ETH 3585.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.04