I really had to dig deep

in #motivation7 years ago

Have you ever wanted to do something or had a goal but just couldn't get yourself motivated to do it or stick with it ? If so then this might make you angry but you didn't really desire it. I've had to face this a lot in my life as there were a lot of things I thought I wanted.

I wanted to be an actor for a little while which didn't make sense cause I was super shy at the time. But I day dreamed about it a lot and I really thought I had a desire to be in Hollywood movies. I wanted to be an action hero on poster at the movie theater.

Looking back now, I realize that I didn't actually desire it or a lot of other things. I've learned since then that true desire is a lot more than just a feeling. It involves more than just your mind it involves choices and actions. If you truly desire something then you will do what it takes to get it or achieve it.

You'll make sacrifices and give up a few pleasures now to get what you want later. It's not easy but the first thing to do if you really want something is to find out if you actually desire it. A good way to determine that is to ask yourself what you're willing to give up for two years.

If you find out that you don't actually want it then that's okay! You're gonna have other desires or maybe already have them. Time to sort through those as well. It's important to do this because being unhappy that you don't have something that you don't really want is such a waste of unhappiness.

Now if you find out that you do really desire something and are even already taking some actions on it then congrats it;s the beginning of a fulfilling journey. The next step is to figure out a creative way to get it because trying to get there the traditional way or the way everyone else is just isn't gonna cut it unless you get lucky.

A few years ago I realized what I truly desired. I found that the two things I was most passionate about doing were creating art (especially through photography) and inspiring and helping others. A year later I found a way creative way to make A living doing both of those things. I'm so thankful that I did because there is no worse feeling in life than settling.

By the way! the quote in the photo is from a pretty popular book called "Think and Grow Rich". I highly recommend it. starting point.jpg

Sort:  

This is similar to my post from the other day. 3 Secrets of Success check it out by clicking the title if you're interested. I like you're way of thinking!

Thanks ! I'll check it out

Oops, sorry this is the post I talked about Napoleon Hill. You can check it out here How To Achieve Success Wise man with wise words! I think you will like them both. By the way, welcome to Steemit!

Great post @mickj. I agree, creativity is essential in so many aspects of life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55