My public (late) resolutions for 2019!

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

If there's something I'm not, it's a resolution guy. Never ever done this before. I always thought it's for people who'r not really happy with themselves. I know it differs from person to person, but we judge others by us. And I know that if I ever would decide to have new year resolutions, it would mean I ain't happy with my last year.....wait....yupp, I'm not happy with 2018 at all!

Not happy with 2018? Why??

Haha I don't even know!! I'm enjoying my days...Programming during the day and sports in the evening...but those are these small timeframe things...but on the bigger timeframe, my 2018 sucked. I was locked in Innsbruck the whole time, pinned to the place and working on the thesis the whole year. Also, my evening sports weren't really the sports I would love to do as the HPV virus made a home from my body and I got some stupid warts going on my feet. + knee injury in the beginning of the year. All those "issues" led me to have too much distractions and probably caused me discovering Steemit :D Anyway, I didn't travel at all and I didn't do the sport I want to do the most. Also, I've kinda started to live an adult office life. Which is nice..but will it really be in 20 years?? Things just got a bit shallow for my liking..is stereotypical the word I mean? Whatever..

DSC09504.JPG

So let's make 2019 worth it and better!

Tam-tararaaa. My first ever new years' resolution (made on 17th January :P) are here for you all to see and hold me accountable for them.

Must do's!

  • Have an alternative to 9-5 office life. Not necessarily already happening but kind of actively working on it. This goes kind of hand in hand with traveling and general future plans. Just figure this stuff out and get some plan together (inside note: if it's TU, I should deffo have more than just a localhost webpage and logo)
  • Finally explore diets! I've read soo much about the various diets in the past I still don't believe I've tried only vegetarianism for 6 weeks. That's why I want to: go vegetarian for one month, go vegan for 2-4 weeks, go pescatarian for 2-4 weeks, no dairy for 2-4 weeks and only local farmers animal products for 2-4 weeks (this needs more research how to ideally measure results and order how to do it...and also whether are couple of weeks enough to feel the difference)
  • Get rid of warts and be back in BJJ training (I got a new one 2 weeks ago! :/)
  • Dedicate some time for research of traditional investing (index funds/stocks) and if it makes sense, automate the whole process to invest cut of my income monthly/quarterly (ideally without need of my energy and time)
  • Start shopping in 2nd hand shops. My goal is the ratio 1:1 between new clothes and 2nd hand clothes for the whole year (underwear, socks and shoes don't count, I like those new :D)
  • Don't slack of morning meditation!

  • Just some extra ideas, not sure about them
    • If I continue vlogging, learn some proper SW for editing (not just this stupid Openshot)
    • Spend 2-3 months in Skaramagas refugee camp, possibly as a coordinator to also learn new skills as well (probably part of the bigger issue about leaving Innsbruck and what's next. But keep this as an option in mind)..ok this has really low chance of happening tho :D
    • Finally try the flotation tank sensory deprivation therapy
    • Get a blood test to understand more what food is good for me
    • Finally go out for a walk with dogs from a shelter! It's been like 5 years I've had this in mind

    I need you!

    As this is the first time ever doing something like this, I'm not sure how will I behave...will I just forget it in a month or? I hope not, but to make sure I'm not just shooting empty bullets here, I need you guys to hold me accountable for this! Means...if you want, ask me any time on any of those points and request a proper answer from me about the current state of execution. Also, remind me by the end of this year that I should do a recap/rewind :D Thxxx! Here are couple of you of whom I thought would be willing to help :) @phortun, @liltammy, @delishtreats, @evecab, @el-cr @zekepickleman, @jjprac, @booster916, @worldcapture, @hauptmann, @tibfox, @flipstar, @nuthman, @manoldonchev..

    Wish me luck! :) Matko.

    Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

    You can find my latest posts here:

    🏆 My STEEMMONSTERS trophies/scalps 🏆

    ATS_NIGHT VIEW-2.jpg
    Reached #16 in leaderboard
    ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
    One-sided win over JoeParys
    ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
    Proud owner of legendary Hydra

    PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I'll be... watching you...

Im scared :D

Za mě super! A neboj, budem tě "hold accountable" až budeš litovat, že jsi nás o to požádal :D

Haha dakujem, Uz som tu dostal aj ponuku na downvoty na konci roka ak to nesplnim :D

I def can and will support you buddy. I just wrote you a message on discord!

Wow :O I see, thanks for that!

hey nice resolutions =) I mean even if they're not really resolutions ahahah but I will defo hold you accountable on Vegan and BJJ =)

Haha how come they're not resolutions? Aren't they? Im doing this 1st time ever, but I thought this is how the resolutions look like or? :D

yes they are ahah abut I know you don't like that word =) We can call it projects =)

Perhaps since it wasn't a spur of the moment New Year's Eve resolution you'll have better luck sticking to them! Writing things down and having support is always a great way to be more likely to stick to your goals. I love the one on buying more second hand. This last year I broke the bad habit of buying clothes just because and it has definitely changed my outlook on what I really need. Though I do agree on athletic shoes and undies. ;) I also think it may take a bit longer than a few weeks or a month to feel the changes on the dietary front. After going vegan it actually took about 6 months for my body to adjust and for me to figure out how much to eat within the plant-based sphere. I actually feel must less restricted than any other way of eating I have tried before because I have no restrictions if it is a whole food and comes from a plant!

Good luck on all you want to accomplish and I am sure 2019 is bound to be a good one!

Hah well coming only from a plant is quite a huge restriction for me at this moment :D And yeah...I'll probably deffo need to stretch those timeframes a bit more...haha oh yeah no undies from 2nd hand ever! :D Nice, so you're buying less these days?

Haha, I'm sure you'll find what works for you dietary-wise. I'm lucky with an almost year-round farmers market here, so I can get plants straight from the ground even in winter! I'll be hitting it up for my weekly haul tomorrow morning. :)

We watched the documentary "The True Cost" a few years ago and it was truly eye-opening. After years of working in retail and having access to super cheap clothing I definitely got in the bad habit of just buying because I could. After watching that and just reading more about minimalism in general it made me really re-think my habits. Not that I have ever been near as much of a shopper as most women I know, but I still definitely bought more than I needed. In 2018 I only bought undies, socks, 2 new sets of running shoes (a necessary splurge for a runner and trainer), 2 workout outfits, 1 dress, 1 blouse, 2 pairs of much-needed new boots, and maybe 2 t-shirts. I even opted not to get a t-shirt at one of the races I ran since it was an option (which is tough for me since I love free race swag, haha) For a full year that is the least I have ever purchased. It can just be tough when everyone else you know always has new things and puts so much emphasis on looking cute and fashionable, but I just figure if I workout and keep my body looking fit and healthy I could wear a paper bag and look good. 🤣🤣🤣 Now when I do look for new things I really need, I'm trying to focus more on quality so it is something that will last a long time and not be discarded after a few seasons.

Sure!

I tend to forget things myself though, so dont be mad if I forget from time to time.

About the floating, I posted some time ago about my experience but I am to tired to search it now to sum it up though, go for it especially as you already into meditation.

About the diet, I think some of those timeframes might be to short. I went vegan for 2 to 3 month and I felt great but only after the first 4 to 5 weeks.

Do you want punishment if you slack? Downvote or so?

Good Luck!

Wishing you the best!
As you see I am not very active at the moment on steemit, but I will give my best to remember you from time to time ;-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yupp I see....how long will the army training last? Already cleaned ur boots today?! :D

Cleaned my boots and also my room for 3 hours xD

Will be there for a minimum of 6 months. After this time I will decide If I will Stay or leave. So far everything is just awesome.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahah downvote for slacking sounds goood :D yupp we can do that with the must do's :) I'll be honest with you, no worries :D

Yupp I kinda thought that a month is not enough...but then again, Im not sure if I want to be the whole year under some "restricted" diet, trying to figure out some system of eating..and once I find what works for me, then completely change it again..cuz unless it becomes a keeper/lifestyle, it's still a diet...and diets are mentally draining to do...thats why I wanted to get thru them all and ideally choose one way which won't be a diet anymore but rather a "lifestyle"...well, I guess once I start, I'll probably be posting about it anyway, so you'll hear from me and the research regarding timeframes. I've lost almost 4kg since 20 December till 15 January cuz of partying at home and then the Greece mission. Soo yeah, the next month I just want to get back to my normal weight with my default food anyway. Let's see then :)

Thx for an input!

I’ll check in on you every once in a while to make sure you are staying on track :)

Eww, that'd be nice from u :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Those a lot of worthy goals. You really put some thought into them. I wish you the best of luck with accomplishing them and hope that 2019 is a great year for you!

hah thx!Let's see if I manage to accomplish them :) I wanted them to be quantified so it's measurable if I succeeded :)

nice one! I will definitely help you bro... you will see, and soon.

Sounds scaary :D

well, prepare yourself...

Fingers crossed you'll make it!! Remember if you want something really badly, you'll achieve it! Did you hear about this law? : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_attraction_(New_Thought)

Hah yupp of course I did :) Makes sense to me :)

And it works!! we checked many times :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59