S.M.A.R.T. Goals Aren't So Smart - Why they miss the mark.

in #motivation7 years ago

I’ve recommended that you ditch your goals altogether. But if you find value in the goal-setting process, let me give you one quick tip that has helped me immensely.

We’ve been taught to set S.M.A.R.T. goals:

Specific

Measurable

Achievable

Results-focused

Time- bound

The funny thing about this method is that it sounds very thorough and precise, but it actually has a big gaping hole. The SMART method of goal setting says nothing about your goal being in your direct control or not. And therein lies the difference between goals that are predictable or just a shot-in-the-dark.

I began thinking about this when I first read the book How I Found Freedom In An Unfree World by Harry Browne.* He implores the reader to focus on results that you have direct control over in your life, and let go of worrying about things that you have little or no control over. You don’t need to watch the news, participate in politics, or sit on committees in order to gain more personal freedom. Because in all of those cases, you end up spending a significant amount of mental, emotional, and physical energy on outcomes that you have little or no control over.*

I try to implement this in my life and it has made a great difference in my personal freedom and sense of contentment and well-being. But it sparked an idea in me about the goals that I had been pursuing. I, like many others, was in the habit of setting goals that were ultimately out of my control. Sure I might be able to influence the results to a certain degree, but ultimately the accomplishment would require just as much luck as work.

Let me give you a couple of examples, then you can examine your own goals to see if you are falling into the same trap.

Fitness Goals, “SMART” vs. Direct Control


A SMART fitness goal might look something like this:

“I want to lose 8 lbs in the next month.”

Does it meet the criteria for a SMART goal? Sure. It’s very specific. Obviously, it’s measurable. Is it achievable? Well, that depends on how much one needs to lose, but let’s assume this person is 50lbs overweight and just getting started. So yes, losing 8 lbs in one month is achievable.

Results-focussed? Check!

Time-Bound? Yep!

In your direct control? Maybe not.

Weight loss is far more complicated than the calories-in vs. calories-out mantra we’ve been taught. Hormonal fluctuations, water retention, body composition (muscle to fat ratios) all have a huge impact on what you actually weigh. You could do everything right and still come up short of achieving your goal.

I’ve witnessed this in my clients over the years. I’ve seen people get measurably stronger, leaner, lose inches off their waist, feel better, have more energy, get off blood pressure meds, etc... and still be frustrated because they had some number goal associated with a weight that they didn’t achieve.

Ironically, their goal actually kept them from seeing their own progress.

Before we get to a better approach, let’s look at one more example. One that hits close to home...

Steemit and writing goals


I have a vision for my writing career. I see myself traveling the world, studying various subjects, learning various skills, and sharing that growth with you so that you might learn from my hard work. I have several books outlined. I post on Steemit as well as LiveAllYourLife.com. I am confident that I will have a location-independent income that will allow me to escape the drab winters of the Pacific NorthWest.

Some specific “SMART” goals for this might look like:

I will have 2,000 Steemit followers by November 1st, 2017.

Or...

I will make an average of $150 per post by the end of the year.

These certainly meet all the criteria of SMART goals, but guess what? I have absolutely no control over the outcomes that are being measured!

Better than "smart"


Instead of a weight-loss goal, set a habit goal.

For the next 30 days, I will not eat processed food or white starches/sugar.

For the next 30 days, I will do a minimum of 10 minutes of intentional exercise every day, and more when I can. This could be Acro-Yoga, CrossFit, Indian Clubs, a briskly paced walk... but it will be more than I’m used to.*

These goals are under your direct control. The results may be the same as the weight-loss goal. After all, I assume if your goal is weight loss that you will have some sort of plan to get there. But here’s the big difference; when you focus on your habits you can feel successful every single day that you do them. When all you’re focussed on is the end result, you are delaying any sense of achievement for the final day. That is if you hit your goal.

When you focus on your habits and actions as the goal, you can still consider yourself successful even if you lose 6 lbs instead of 8.

Instead of setting writing goals for followers or payouts, I have habit goals. I write every day. I’m endeavoring to publish one article for every day in September- and presumably going forward. I’m also reading or watching lectures every day to improve my writing. Quantity will be unsatisfying if the quality is rubbish, so I’m striving to improve my writing through my daily habits.

I have control over this. Yes, it can still be very hard. Outside influences can still get in the way, but I have control over my actions and the responses I give to those obstacles. I have absolutely no control over who upvotes my article or how many people decide to follow me.

I still enjoy seeing the milestones. On Steemit, I recently passed the 200 follower mark and it looks like my last post might be my first $100 post! You can use those metrics to see that you’re making progress. The pounds lost or the followers gained can give you valuable feedback. Use them as guidance in improving your approach to your habits. But make your habits the goal.

I have nothing against setting SMART goals. But I think they are exponentially smarter if you make sure they are actually in your direct control.

What do you think?

 

 

 

*If you ever read one book that I recommend, make it this one.

*We can go deeper and debate the validity of this line of thinking in a future post but for now let’s stay focused on how it applies specifically to goal-setting.

*If 30 days sounds daunting, make it 10 days to start.

Sort:  

To all the commenters: This article flopped as far as exposure. Which was disappointing to me only because it is a topic that I'm passionate about and I think could really help a lot of people. But I really appreciate all of these comments! So thank you for that!

It was a good post. I found it because @lesliestarrohara resteemed it.

It did help. I was going strong writing and posting six days out of the week (my plan), but then fell off over Labor Day. Hard to get back into it today. Will start again tomorrow. Thanks for the encouragement.

Right on!
I followed you back. I look forward to seeing more of your work. Cheers!

@layl this is a good post that @cryptonet was kind enough to submit to upvotable which is my series of posts aimed at helping each of us get recognized for what we contribute. My smart goal with Steem is to do at least one post every day :)

Would you follow me so that when I post a few more tips for Steem you will see them because I have a post I am writing soon that I think will be helpful showing how most of the views on my posts come after 7 days and that my entire strategy is based on this instead of upvotes.

Great! Following you.

I acknowledged and assimilated this lesson two years ago, but then I slipped. I just looked through my current list of goals and found that two thirds of them are out of my direct control. Damn. Thanks for the reminder!

It definitely takes vigilance. I label would-be "goals" that are out of my direct control as Visions. As in- a vision of what I want to happen. I've categorized these ideas into a system of sorts. I want to write a post about the system but it always ends up being such a huge task I'm having a hard time getting it out. This post is a sort of soft intro to my system.

For the things I want to see happen that are out of my direct control, I label it Vision. A powerful and detailed vision for where you are going keeps you motivated to keep working on the habit goals on those inevitable off days (or weeks) we all have.

Guideposts are the objective measurement tools. Not all of these have to be in direct control. For instance, if my goal is to post every day, but at the end of the month I get no more followers, there's a red flag Guidepost that my habit goals may not be aligned with my Vision.

I also don't like the time sensitive nature of SMART goals. I think that's another part of the trap that I didn't go into above. Instead of hard and fast deadlines, I prefer to look at the Trajectory. Am I improving in the right direction? If yes- then cool. Don't fix what ain't broken. If I'm not, or it's so slow as to not seem worth it, then be willing to re-examine the Vision/Goal relationship and see if one or both needs to be tweaked.

I don't know why I felt the need to write all of that but there it is. LOL!

Thanks for all your support on here Starr, it really means a lot!

Hello @layl, I liked your post so much that I included it in my curating post Look What I Found. You can take a look at it here: https://steemit.com/curating/@stortebeker/mushroom-leather-solar-oven-and-goals-that-are-beyond-smart

You're welcome!

You're giving me flashbacks of so many pointless meetings. SMART goal setting is especially pernicious in the realm of sales. It also causes you to focus on the wrong behaviors. Like, the goal might be to sell so many customers on a membership scheme, but nobody recognizes that the high-pressure sales environment is actually driving away more customers than it retains. So everyone gets to feel lousy that they're missing their goals, and the company gets to lose money and eventually go out of business.

Really nice post , I got the same advices from my Poker coach and it really helped me to get better at the game .

Really? Ha! That's awesome. Thanks for sharing.

An old boss would always ask how many new credit cards I would open for customers that day. We would argue over and over about this..... my answer was always 0. What if NO ONE walks in today? What if the people who do don't have good credit? What if they already have cards with us? --- I can't control any of those things so a goal in that regard just never made sense to me.

Oh man! I can so relate! I worked for Bank of America (aka- EvilCorp) for 5 years. Had similar ridiculous goals as a fitness Director for a Bally Total Fitness Center. It sucks when I significant portion of your income is out of your control.

Congratulations @layl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It's one of the most frustrating things in talking to people about goals. I hate them, and everyone looks at me like I'm insane. But it wasn't until I started ignoring goal setting and started focusing on habits that I saw any serious progress in my life. I think you're dead on the mark here.

Thanks! Absolutely. I struggled for years. As a big dreamer, to be honest, goal-setting was really kicking my self-image into the dirt. I felt like a constant failure when I was trying to do the traditional goal-setting approach. Now I make challenges for myself to see how many consecutive days I can work to develop a new habit, skill, or knowledge set and I am making huge strides.

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. Much apriciated!

This is a good post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70