You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mini Motivation: Love the skin your in...

in #motivation6 years ago

I wouldn't wish it on my worse enemy the things I had to endure but it kills me when I visit potential ostomates in hospitals and they are prepared to sign the 'Do not resuscitate' form rather than live life with a bag, one young lady signed it and was prepared to die even after she saw that my life was worth living, it's wasn't until the moment arrived that she changed her mind and then spent weeks in ICU as she was so ill going into the surgery, if she had agreed a week earlier she could have saved herself that pain but everyone has to go through there own process, she still to this day hates the bag but she is alive and will see her 30th birthday with I think is good. She now just needs to find a way to accept herself but sadly many do not and spend all their time and energy hating the life they have been given.

I love that there are other ostomates on Steemit too, not many but a few of us. However in saying that there could be more but none as open. I have gina tag me if anyone uses the word ostomy but mainly its the shit posts advertising the bag markets that comes through.

Sort:  

oh thats a good idea using Gina for that.
People may be like me, I'm quite open about my bag, but I never seek support, never did support groups or any of that. They may not like talking about it at all.

I think my opinion of life with a stoma might be a lot different if I were single though, as that would be a hell of a thing to have to mention to girls on a date. The rejection would cause some serious mental problems. Even if the rejections were related to the stoma, you would think that was the secret meaning behind it.

Very very true, I was dumped the night before my surgery, he actually wished me dead on the operating table, charming bloke and the best thing he ever did for me, but being single was so so hard as I truly believed that no one would or could love me like this. I was very wrong but your head will go where it does and I was super lucky to meet a man that had zero issues with my illness or the bag, just loved me for me. :)

Thats bloody horrible to wish someone dead on the operating table, what an asshole.

Got it in one, funny thing, he contacted me on FB a few years later and told me it was only cause he loved me so much that he didn't want anyone else to have me... WTF... Some people, I can tell you I wasn't so kind before I blocked him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36