"Oh Why Did I Do That??..." - Motivation Moment #33

in #motivation6 years ago

Have you ever done something, and then on the after-thought felt that it was a Bad Idea or Horrible Decision?

I just did it. I signed myself up to for my First 21km Run!!

cache_2477865616.jpeg
Source

“Oh Why Did I Do That?…”

We all go through this PULL vs. PUSH Factors of Motivation.

Sometimes it is what we really-really want, like a Wish-List, a Dream or a Deep Desire! You know the kind of fire within our belly that will get us there at whatever the cost? Yes that’s what I’m talking about. It is that GOAL or OUTCOME that you may have felt you deserve. That’s the PULL Factor.

The PUSH Factor is a little different. This is where people are in the avoidance mode of things. They actually get motivated when there is a problem to solve, an issue or a challenge to take up. They often need to be Pushed from something bad that actually acts like a trigger for them to begin taking action and be driven by it.

I remember when I was really tired of that lack of energy, and I looked a little bloated and overweight a few years back, even friend commented that I look a little “prosperous”. Yeah, why don’t you just say it… Mel, you are a little on the round side mate = Cute like a Plum!

And that didn’t really bother me as I was not really motivated to get on a diet or hit the gym! But then one day it happened and I had a sharp pain in my chest. Hmmm, never had that before. I relented and rejected the thought of seeing the doctor but after a while it persisted and I shared that with my wife. She booked me immediately to do a FULL Medical Check-Up. (How I love my wife)

So I went, a little scared to say the least and after a few hours of doing everything from Scans, ECG (Treadmill) to Blood Tests and X-Ray, I was done. Then came the most scary part…when the doctor read out the report. THANK GOD I was cleared on many of the major things but only a little High on the LDL and the Sugar Levels. No medication was needed just a warning from the doc that I needed to watch what I ate and begin a consistent Exercise Regime.

So I rejoiced with the results. I’m fine! YAY!!!

No REAL Motivation to Exercise, until...

I was neither motivated by a PULL or PUSH Factor in relation to Exercise. I was not Pulled towards exercise as I saw no benefits of it and I wasn’t Pushed to begin exercise as my health situation was not that bad after all!*

But it all changed ONE DAY. A simple thought crept into my mind, Imagine if you had a heart attack and stroke, Mel, “Do you want another person to walk your daughter down the isle in X years time?”

NO WAY!!!

Chloe.jpeg
Source

That one thought, was a Powerful PUSH Reason… I started walking, then jogging and then running!

The TRUTH Is…

I HATE running. And to find myself beginning to "Like It" now, is nothing short than a MIRACLE :)

And then came the PULL Reason to Run. I get Extremely Self-Motivated when I set GOALS to Achieve!

1. 365 Days - 10,000 Steps a Day with my FitBit (CHECKED IN 2016)
2. 500 Days - Move Goals achieved with my iWatch (CHECKED IN 2017-2018)
3. Run my First Marathon - Half 21km would be sufficient (NOT YET CHECKED 2018)

And so a few days ago, I decided to Run my First 21km. It’s called FORCE OF NATURE RUN. Yes and that's my number!!

21km Force of Nature - Mel Leow 0148 (May 2018).jpeg

I will keep you guys posted…

Stay tuned for more "Motivation Moments"...

Mel @coachmelleow


Everyone needs a little push, a little encouragement, a little inspiration ~ every single day.

That's why I created Motivation Moments to help you move forward.

MotivationMomentWithMel.jpg

If you benefited from this post, please give it an Upvote or Resteem it...Thank you! 😊

Sharing is caring.


Here are more Motivation Moments...

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

yes, that is right, exercise is very important, it boosts your energy, personally, I never go more than 3 days without exercise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28