THE BEGINNING - If It Is To Be It Is Up To Me

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

G'Day.

I don't know about you, but for many years of my life I have been one of those people who had a lot to say about something (with know real expertise) but did absolutely nothing about.

It didn't matter if I was talking about the state of politics in my home country of Australia or around the world, or discussing a situation at work or home, I never really seemed to do anything to make a change. I suppose for many of us, just talking about issues was good enough and once we had been heard, and possibly validated, we could move on. But if there is an issue which is "getting on someone's goat" and they continue to talk about when ever they can find an ear, maybe they should be looking at stepping up and seeing if they can do something about it.

One day, not so long ago, I realised I am one of those people. Furthermore, having being validated so many times I came across William H. Johsen's following quote and decided to step up and put my money where my mouth is.

20171226-William-H-Johnsen-Quote-If-it-is-to-be-it-is-up-to-me.jpg

In short, I came across a political party I was aligned with an joined and got involved and even ran as a candidate in a couple of elections. I created a couple of events to help raise funds and awareness for a charities I believed in (which I still do) and so on.

I have made a number of others things happen in my life, such as going overseas for the first time in my life (as a nearly 50 year old) enrolled myself in a couple of courses and am in the process of starting a small business which creates events for fundraising and awareness opportunities for local charities and non-for-profits whilst supporting small local businesses.

William H. Johnsen's quote is front and centre in my daily life. Not only has it stopped me from just talking out loud about things, both good and bad, but it reminds me, it is me who has to make a difference if I really want there to be one.

I can complain, whinge, bemoan and even rave about things, but they are not going to change if I don't step up. Let me explain, there have been positives which have come along and I have done what I can to promote them.

This quote also reminds me to keep going when other question, berate or even belittle my efforts.

Over time, one of the things I love to do it look at daily motivational quotes (and others) and think about how they could relate to my life and even others, especially family and friends. There is a wonderful feeling you get when in a 'moment' you can speak to an other by starting with a quote and then discussing what if could mean in their life and situation.

It's even better, when you come back to them later and start the conversation again and include the quote - it let's them know you have been thinking about them and want to help them get from where they might be to where they might want to be.

When it comes to people, especially loved ones, if you have the answer or a suggestion in their times of doubt or anguish, would you not step up and help in what ever way you can, even if it is just a quote and a conversation?

Until next time

OooRoo!

Sort:  

Congratulations @bundahjoe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48