You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Highlighting life

in #motivation5 years ago

I'm often thinking about how to best couch criticism... as a musician and a teacher, I'm always trying to balance the way (public/private) to best persuade a colleague in a rehearsal or to best guide a student in lessons. At least both situations are situations where criticism is expected.. however, even then... there are ways to do it that influence the impact that your criticism will make to the end result. Ultimately, it might be tempting to bare all and to do it in a public way... but it is often counter-productive and results in nothing more than some public grand-standing at the cost of the dignity of the receiver of the "advice".

I have featured you and this post for a curation contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforward-week67entry-jnq385rg27

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-67-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Sort:  

It's a touchy subject with some people and in my opinion advice needs to be given carefully. I've seen people ask for it then take offence if the advice doesn't line up with their own thoughts, crazy but true. I think it's situational meaning a person needs to choose the right moment and of course, the right advice.

I try to put it back on the person...Say they ask "should I leave my job or not." That's not a decision for me to make and I think deep down most would already know the answer and are just looking for validation or confirmation of their own thinking. I would normally say, "what are your options" and make them list those. Once done I typically ask them again, "what are you going to do?" Roll that process out enough times and they eventually come up with a decision and move on citing how much of a good listener I am.

I'm not a huge fan of delivering advice to many people, outside of the parameters above, as the advice is often not well-received.

Thanks for featuring my post @bengy, much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60768.35
ETH 2411.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60