Tony Robbins, the 6 core human needs & the 4 steps to ultimate success!

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)
"Knowledge is only potential power"

I've been listening to a bit of Tony Robbins recently. I know the big TR is huge in the personal development space but I've never actually been a big fan. Always a lack of substance and plenty of noise for my tastes (I also prefer learning from those a little closer in level). However, I'm pleased to say I have discovered depth and intricacies in his work. He's a smart cookie and true Force in every way.

As ever, YouTube throws up suggestions for my viewing/listening pleasure and I have a quick dip in most days. Suffice to say, I have listened to some of our Tone's material and of course the algorithm of YT throws up similar stuff to what you've previously watched… so more Robbins appearing. 

I recently heard a good one on goal setting but don't have the link unfortunately. It may be somewhere in my YouTube history about a month back but it's unlikely I'll find it. Yesterday, after watching a bit of the epic Will Smith, I listened to this one. It's on the 6 core human needs and I would say required listening for all. Or certainly  something to look into further anyway. 

I won't go into detail as it's all in the video but for those who want a quick summary, the 6 basic human needs are:

  • Certainty
  • Uncertainty / Variety
  • Significance
  • Love & Connection
  • Growth
  • Contribution

Watch/listen to the video for the full juice! 

And here's today's offering - 4 step ultimate success formula

I couldn't quite make out the 4th so did a bit of quick research to put something here. I also discovered that he generally cites 5 rules and I've included the 5th. 

  1. Know your outcome (Goal!)
  2. Know your why (not in the vid but covered elsewhere and quite important)
  3. Take massive action (get moving and in as big a way as you can. Also, never leave the site of setting a goal without taking some sort of action towards it, right then)
  4. Know what you're getting (ie. assess progress from action)
  5. Change your approach (adapt and keep trying, based on feedback)

Oh, and check out I Am Not Your Guru, a Netflix documentary and behind the scenes at a Tony Robbins seminar. It has a bit of hype and cheese as you may expect but there are some fascinating aspects and you may just be a little surprised. 

An important point to remember, is you tend to not realise that people like this have had a shit time. He hasn't always been 'Tony Robbins', rockin' it on stages. He (and many others) have been there. Ok, he may well have gone through all the processes and reached peaks at a younger age, dipped, and then grew again… but no-one springs from the womb with it all figured out. In fact, it's the history and experiences that maketh the man/woman and lead them to do what they go on to do… and hopefully help a few others in the process.  

Happy Sunday! 

~ Adam
@adambarratt

"Don't get too busy making a living that you forget to design a life"

Related:
Tony Robbins tells the Rocky story

*****

Sort:  

Gotta love Tony Robins! The motivational Guru. He is definitely one of my favorites. He has a lot of great videos out there and I think I've seen most of them lol..

Indeed, he's a beast!

Wow thanks for introducing me to TR. Having a defined goal and going hard is definitely crucial for success. I feel like the 4 steps should be pinned everywhere on steemit so we can get more motivated people to produce better content

For sure, thanks for stopping by and glad you got something from our ol' friend TR!

Awesome. I included a link to this article in my new post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23