A bit of Will Smith for your Saturday inspo!

in #inspiration6 years ago
"Don't let your successes go to your head and don't let your failures go to your heart"

I wrote a previous post on this chap some time ago, but he popped again in my YouTube today… so here he is again! It's a compilation video of Mr Will Smith and his various thoughts and ideas. 

There are plenty of nuggets contained within, so worth a watch. I have a feeling a few bits in the second half are repeated, but no matter… get in amongst it as he is always solid. 

The Smith-meister is doing a bit more with his vlog on YouTube so keep an eye out around the socials if you like his chit-chat. Then there are always people putting together various compilations of this kind of material if you're in to the whole area of personal growth, inspiration/motivation etc. 

What I like is that he is all about humour. Even with more serious content and great points made, it comes with a smile and a backdrop of comedy. This is how it should be, or what works for me anyway. 

Another main point is having a laser-like focus in order to become world class (or at least very good in your chosen endeavour). Not only that, but leaning on a forward focus. 

In another video somewhere, I'm pretty sure he said he didn't take a drink (alcohol) in about 12 years. From what I could tell, this was nothing about drinking per se but more that he was so engrossed with being a success and doing his thing that he just didn't go out or really think about it. It would have only been a distraction and just wasn't at the front of his mind. I'm sure you can have a balance but something to think about, depending on your goals.  

"As a child my parents always told me you can be whatever you want to be, you can do whatever you want to do. It was something I heard my parent's saying but I didn't totally believe it. Yet I went out in to the world, and I carried myself, and I held my head high, and I stood there, and I looked people in their eyes, and I talked to people as if I was deserving of everything this planet has to offer" ~ Great passage from the vid, whilst giving a speech at an awards show

He's also an incredible storyteller. It comes back to speaking intelligently and insightfully whilst holding an undertone of fun, wrapped up in humility and spicy enthusiasm. His skydiving experience is a fine example and another angle on our old friend fear.

One thing he mentions in an interview - it doesn't necessarily get easier the more successful you are. In fact, it may even get harder, partly due to higher expectations and the shift in 'altitude'. 

I'll leave you with the following thought, paraphrased from Will and also said by anyone with a bit or nous in this area:

It may not be your 'fault', but it is your responsibility 

Have a delightful weekend!

~ Adam
@adambarratt

*****

Sort:  

Wonderful thoughts on a wonderful video. Will Smith can definitely get it on and make the lessons palatable.

Thanks for a great look at a great topic!

Thanks! Indeed, the guy's a legend and one of my faves. Cheers!

Will Smith looks like he's getting kind of old...

In any case, he's always seemed like an inspiring guy. Thanks for sharing!

In the picture perhaps but in the video itself and life he always looks the same age to me. Anyhow, I guess age catches up with all of us eventually!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51