The Unsung Hero

in #motherhood6 years ago

There are those who sacrifice their all to give life and meaning to one or some. These sometimes don't have to do it, but they are doing it all the same. For some others, life happened to them and life imposed this responsibility on them. All these are the Unsung Heroes.
hero

I used to refer to myself as too active to be idle or be a stay at home mom. Life proved me wrong in the last few months as I've had to stay at home longer than expected.

As a new mom, I settled into my new role quite easily thinking my maternity leave would only be for a couple of months. Due some administrative hiccups, I've had to stay home for about 7 whole months 😭😭

I once trivialized the sacrifice stay-at-home moms make thinking they could have done something more worthwhile with their lives and time. Life has taught me otherwise.

What could be more worthwhile than nurturing a life?
nurture

Stay-at-home moms sacrifice their time, dreams, careers, happiness and their lives just to raise their kids.

thanks

I almost lost my mind waking up every other day to almost the same routine- tend the baby, attend to chores, look good, rest, exercise, read and of course steem (this came up along the line). I acquired some new skills and fine tuned some old ones and got some new professional certifications staying at home but i still long for something more.

Stay-at-home moms are super moms.
super

I was afraid for my sanity at some points but my bundle of joy made every bit of the sacrifice worth it. And many thanks to husbie @idowu-kunlere who stood by me when I threw tantrums 😂😂😂. I guess I'm better at managing my emotions now.

It is not easy staying at home every day for this long for me and I'm sure those who've been staying at home for longer might share the same sentiment.

For every stay-at-home mom who's had to sacrifice their time, beauty, comfort, friendships, career, pursuit of their dreams, sanity, and lots more, you're our Unsung Heroes whose praise I've come to sing today.

Thank you for the almost hourly feeding of those babies.
Thank you for the diaper change.
Thank you for the laundry (either hand wash for machine wash)
Thank you for cleaning the house.
Thank you for taking care of everyone at home. You're the last to sleep and the first to wake up.
Thank you for making home a welcoming place for us all.
Thank you for the meals.
Thank you for washing the dishes.
Thank you for choosing to spend time with your children.

best

Most importantly, thank you for not losing your mind. If you've lost it as a result of being overwhelmed, we wouldn't be here today.

Thank you for all the sacrifices. I know better now not to trivialise them.

You're the best.

Your price is far above rubby.
You deserve the highest office in the land.
You deserve the feathers we've got to our caps.

This is dedicated to all stay-at-home moms and here I am on behalf of every life you've nurtured, saying:
thanks

Image credit

P.S: Thursday, 8 March, 2018 is International Women's Day and this is coming off the heels of that big day.

Thank you for reading.

You should check some of my recent posts:
crushing on @fisteganos

About last weekend

What next after 'Yes'

Sort:  

You ladies try to be honest...Lol..I pray I become a better man to understand all your stress.

This is timely especially for me @evashinen. Thanks for nicely putting your thoughts on motherhood and expressing it well.

Wow. . . Thank you for the comment. I'm glad you could relate with the post.

Amazing stuff. 7 months came rather quickly. I am happy you somehow turned it around!

You are a super mum babe.

Thank you Papa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44