Morning Page: Have you set your goals on steemit?

in #morgenseiten6 years ago

What is my goal in Steemit?

IMG_1592.png


This article is for my contest entry by @legendchew, but I will write this article anyway because my space ship Capt. @aneukpineung78 has asked me similar question few days ago. I will write about my goal and motivation to be on steemit briefly

This thing has been in my mind this morning so it is good time to go with the topic. I need to tell you a bit about my background or my past, here it is:

Our village had electricity which was supplied by our government in 1997 and long before we had one from private company may be within 1985 and 1990. I lived in very remote village in North Aceh district, where the political situation was so bad, people never feel free to talk and act under the government surveillance (I did not understand kidda things). Only one monochrome television at that time that placed in Meunasah (Public Building), it used 12 volt Yuasa Battery as it power. I dream to have one at home as a kid I realized that I will never have it and none of our villager would be able to have one.

One time, I talked to my father to buy one tv but a month later he managed to buy dual band radio transistor, we were so poor and a lot of fruits he sold out to get that one in a month. I was little disappointed, but he simply encouraged me to think differently; Radio will give you more information and learn more things, you can hear BBC London over and over again. BBC London is one of his favorite channel. I really did, I heard all information that was broadcast on the radio, and started to recognize some of English song. I dreamed to be able to speak and write in English like native does. It seems my father recognized my hobby and interesting on such things. He then bought me a thin comic book. One day he brought 10 pieces of thin comic books, I finished it in a day.

I love to read and read and read, but I could not find more books at my home. I will never let my mother thrown away the salty fish wrapping paper before I read it. She knew it and always kept it for us, because all of us love to read any available reading material. When I was 10 years old, I started to learn English from my sister’s school text book. My hobby become addict, I need to read something every day, a year later reading is not enough anymore I need to write my own things, it was so complicated to start. I didn’t stop, I gave more trial and more and more, I wrote anything I could. On my 12 years old I started to write in English (I did not understand at all how to write in English). How lucky I was, because my sisters got and extra ordinary gift from her teacher, an English dictionary!, because she got 1st place in exam rank.

From that day I realized a few things; If I want to know the world better I need to know English. If I want to learn more, I need to read more. Here on steemit I read more English articles but I did not put Indonesian articles aside. I practice my English skill by writing English articles or bilingual articles. I will not be good writer if I don’t read.

So, what is the connection with my goal on steemit?. Well here it is!

I have been on the other platform like facebook and instagram, but when I knew and had steemit account I found this platform totally different, It has much better thing to look at. I don’t have any goals at my first day on steemit. Day by day on this platform finally I have set my own goals because without a goal I will not go anywhere.

  1. Develop my English skills
    Why do I need to develop my English skill? It is simply because I need to be a good guide for my children. Why should I choose steemit for my training ground? Because when I spend time learning here I could get something for financial advantages. If I spend time on the special English course I will need to dry my pocket, and the fact is I don’t have any in it. Steemit has brought me one step closer to my dream from child-ages which is speaking and writing in English. I could not get good payment if I do not interact with people across the globe and English is a must for that purpose. Are we clear why “Develop my English” skills become my first goal on steemit?. I think so.

  2. Earning some benefit
    I live in real life my friend, and I don’t have particular job now which meant I don’t earn to fulfill daily need of my family. I fully understand that earning financial benefit from steemit will not be as easy as one night job. It needs more than that. I will need to develop my writing ability and pay good attention to other exceptional post. I need to think why do the people will spend 10-15 minutes on my article if they could not get any benefit from my post?. So, the solution is I need to regularly post good contents.

  3. Blessing other
    I knew steemit is very good place to help other people especially when I have high voting weight. I might help them to fulfill their daily life when I can give something as a form as appreciation upvote. It brought me to a stream of consciousness that I need to grow my account to have certain voting weigh. It will take some time, but I am sure with a good will then I will get it some days. While I am paying good attention to other, I realize that the owner of the universe will not let me down. Amin

  4. Expand my friendship across the globe
    Friendships are always gives us great happiness. I realized that when I cannot support other in one day my feeling is somehow not complete. Especially on steemit our little support will mean something for others, no matter how big our voting weight is. The feeling like being appreciated is something important to me, and I am sure that somebody else feel the same as I do. In this platform having more friends mean a bigger chance to grow so that I need to put this in my goal as well.

  5. Reading and writing Hobby
    The last goal on steemit is fulfilling my reading and writing hobby, this platform has many best contents compare with other platform I had been through. I can assume it because users will consider to make better quality post in expectation to have bigger payment. I believe that one day this platform will become the best content platform across the net. Amin

Those are my goals on steemit, you may agree with my thought and you also have your own goals that can be different from mine. It is totally okay to be different my friend, but please keep do you best for your post.


Morning page.jpg

My friend @shortcut has created #morgenseiten tag, the purpose of this tag is to encourage his friend to write a post from the soul in the morning. All things are crossing our mind. I just started to follow the trail and put this as my tag as well. Another one I saw from @katrarsisdrill is #releaseyourinnerhippie and this also quite interesting me and this one also came from #shortcut, he has millions of ideas. You can check the post from @roused. I suggest to follow and support them as your friend before you use those tag!

Best Regards

@el-nailul

Expect for the best and ready for the worst

Sort:  

Your English is fine, I can understand everything you write.

Are you still 'in the very remote village in North Aceh district' or somewhere else now?

Yes, I came back to my village 3 years ago, and doing my little adventure in Aceh Tropical rain forest, not much I can do now. Little farming thing and collecting some data from the jungle @slobberchops. I am glad if you can understand what I am writing, that mean my english is improved now...:D

Wanted to let you know that @freedomshift has featured you in their entry post for the Pay it forward curation contest.

Love your goals for steemit. If you achieve your non-financial goals your financial ones will follow. Build some relationships and just keep plugging away.

Thank you very much @thedarkhorse, I wish @freedomshift will get what he deserve. And thank you for you generous support on my post

Hi @el-nailul, thank you for your participation. Your entry to "Exclusive Blogging Course Giveaway Contest" has been approved.

I wish I can support more next time my friend @legendchew. thank you!

Thank you for your support @el-nailul.

It moved me in a lazy sunday morning as I opened Steemit and read this. You wrote it from your heart my friend. And it seems you are absolutely a good writer...Write more and more..Try some short stories and post here..

BTW, for the last line in the post...we used to say here like HOPE FOR THE BEST AND PREPARE FOR THE WORST....Just saying

It is a worthy post as nominated by @freedomshift in Pay it forward curation contest.

Great going..keep it up and stay blessed

hi @angelro, thank you for your visit, yes #freedomshift is a generous friend of mine. I like your constructive comment, thank you my friend. this is what I like from our #PIF family.

Thanks for your lovely comment...and nice to meet you over here

Stay blessed

thank for your great support @angelro

You are welcome... Keep on writing..

Hello, I was pointed to your post by @freedomshift in the payitforward initiative.

Thank you for sharing your dreams and aspirations with us. It is refreshing to find others courageous enough to allow others to see behind the social mask. I look forward to watching not only your progression here at Steemit, but your growth in mastering English.

Hi thank you @practicalthought, I really appreciate your visit. I am learning to get my english better. If you don't mind you can put your criticize on the comments

Really, you are doing well with how you are coming along. Some of your sentences are a little awkward, but I think as you interact more it will smooth out. I am not suited for critiquing others word usage, probably because I despise what is called a grammar nazi. At the end of the day, words are a tool for communicating and you wield this tool well enough I understand you. I applaud your ability as if this exchange relied on me using your language this exchange would not be possible.

Ya, sometimes I feel better to not use google translate and just write what i know. because when I use it, my article become worst if I miss to do some editing process. thank you very much, it will make me more careful to choose the words next time.

Wah, saya belum made up my mind, cici yang maksa terus... Hahahaha

awalnya saya juga gak berfikir sejauh itu bang @dipoabasch, tapi akhirnya saya harus menentukan utnk apa di steemit. pada dasarnya ini kan pilihan kita juga bang

Iya juga ya, tapi untuk sementara ini biarin aja kk mu yg ambil peran, saya masih harus mikir untuk belikan sawah yang diinginkannya. 😁, sukses yaa (ntar kan kecipratan dikit)

You're doing wonderfully being self taught with English. I wouldn't worry about that too much. There are so many that it is their language and can't speak it or write it well.

You have wonderful goals. We start of thinking one thing and changing to something else or our posting leads us in a directions. Your goals are what make this platform what it is.

Thank @freedomshift for featuring you on this week's #payitforward contest hosted by @thedarkhorse

Thank you @tryskele, we all need to make something good to this platform otherwise we will have no purpose to be on it. @freedomshift and @thedarkhorse are man of encouraging!

@freedomshift featured you in the Pay it forward curation contest
Goals are good to have ..best of luck to you

Thank you @wolfhart. I think I am really bless to have steemit friend like @freedomshift

Morning and spirit steemit💪

Terimakasih lilawangsa

Saya menyenanginya, @el-nailul anda teman baik di steemians, terima kasih

Steemit goals nya mantap bang. Terimakasih udah komen dan support post saya. Selamat postnya menjadi salah satu pemenang kontes. Salam kenal @el-nailul.

Salam kenal juga @akbarsanjani, sukses selalu untuk kita semua

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58