MonoMad challenge - black mirrorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #monomad5 years ago

«Mascaron is my black mirror», I wanted to title it, but decided the less is better. Do you know what it is?


ta9ufde7jg.jpg
Canon 350d + 50mm 1.4 | all right reserved

In brief, mascaron is a building's ornament in a shape of faces (usually human, but not necessarily; sometimes angelic, sometimes frightening or chimeric). Initially their function was to frighten away evil spirits from entering the building. Later the concept was adapted to become a purely decorative element, one of the follies. This feature became most wide-spread in XIX century, the Beaux Arts architectural style employed mascarons quite extensively, and Art Nuovo, as well.

feb4qh9bkj.jpg

ogph4fqi6s.jpg

So, you may ask, did I pull it off from some XIX century ruines? Nah. Nothing criminal or illegal! Some of my friends just worked in a restoration workshop at the time; this mascaron was declared unsuitable for restoration, and one girl (she is Pro at fine arts, you may have seen her Easter eggs I posted recently) - instantly privatized it to her home... of course, we could not resist the temptation of having a photo session with it.

ps. as a bonus, a nice mascaron I've shot at Novodevitchje cemetary at St.Petersburg. Some things are aging in such a nice way!

uywc2cjb9x.jpg

This was my entry for the #monomad challenge a while ago, but went unnoticed. Probably it is the speedy temp of our living to blame; or a great amount of entries with good bokeh and slurred plot: twigs, flowers and other intresting and unique stuff. Well, I'm not in a rush; I will bring it on the top of the desk again. Probably it will not be noticed again. The lightest things are the first to reach the seashore, as Roger Zelazny noted in his 'The Isle of Dead' novel.

pps.
A decade ago I obtained tele- lens with purpose of researching and shooting the mascarons at St.Petersburg, and we did created a collection! If I will see a demand, I will happily share them in my future posts.

z030n29zo7.jpg

ha! it seems I just cant stop adding new entries to my post, hehe. next time!

Sort:  

These are such awesome photos @qwerrie! And I didn't know that those were called mascarons! I should have, but I didn't :) Thanks for sharing, and thank you to @bengy for featuring your post in our weekly Pay it Forward Curation Contest (@pifc) :)

@lynncoyle1, this is nice!! I mean, i didnt put my efforts for nothing and theres an intrest. I will create then a few more posts with the best streetshots of mascarons I did (we did - my wife and me; it is my half on that foto). someday, when inspirationwill visit me =^..^=

These kind of statues always inspire me to want to dig up my drawing pencils.

Posted using Partiko Android

@sketch.and.jam, thats a good idea, wow -- nice to hear my photos work that way !!

First and third one down would make nice charcoal drawings for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

@sketch.and.jam, you surely a man of many talents - a true renaissance kind! personally, I cant draw or paint, its my totally weak side. :/

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

These are beautiful shots... the black and white really brings out the features of the artifacts really well! They remind me of a Doctor Who episode though....

I have featured you and this post for a Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/community/@bengy/payitforward-week59entry-r8az0y9gp1

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-59-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

@bengy, I am glad my story pleased you. thanx for your good curation.

My pleasure!

Nice to see you're going strong, @qwerrie :0)

Fascinating post, interesting pictures. Thanks for sharing.
I found you today because @bengy featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the good work.

nice hearing of that. thank you for your visit. @viking-ventures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94