My entry for the monomad photography contest #monomad

in #monomad5 years ago

My entry for the monomad photography contest #monomad

D2869C3E-2884-4B5A-BFC6-33FBC9F3ED17.jpeg

Title: Summer Clouds

Or should I rather say summer clouds of yesterday? Another photo from my archive. Taken when a film allowed you to take only 36 photos...

Sometimes I cannot believe what we do have today and take pretty much for granted. Digital cameras, tablets, mobile phones, the internet together with all its amazing possibilities...don‘t get me started. It never fails to amaze me. When I think what it took to take that infrared picture and then to process that film. All those stinky chemicals. A genuine pain in the...behind.

Or the fact that you had to look for a phone booth in order to make a call and then hope that the phone booth was still working, given the fact that they were well loved by vandalizing maniacs. Or the ease of writing something down without having to use a noisy typewriter. Don‘t get me wrong, I think typewriters are great pieces of craftsmanship, they don‘t need electricity if they are those sturdy mechanic ones but I would not use one again unless I would have too. Hell no. Been there, done that.

All the riches of communication and the free availability of knowledge on the internet. 500 books or more? Yes, thank you I take them with me. That alone is insanely great! To have a library at your disposal in one device. That is like a dream coming true. Vast amounts of music? Photo archives? Making art? Doing yoga classes? Learning languages? Doing banking without having to run to a bank branch with ridiculous opening times and borderline rude staff? I loooooooove my digital wonderland!

I pity two kinds of people though...those who take it for granted, hardly being able to wonder and those who stubbornly resist technology. I still come across people who are totally clueless and still think that a) the internet is that weird new stuff which is merely more than a fad which will pass b) is absolutely dangerous (they said that about the first railways as well, remember?) c) that they need to be some highly skilled technology afficionados in order to use it. Miraculously those people are often even not that old.

I admit that I have my sentimental vintagey moments from time to time, but I would never go back.

Location: Potsdam near Berlin
Camera: Nikon F801s
Photo by: @ohmygoodness Susanne Tiedemann
All rights reserved

Sort:  

Hahaha - I am old enough to remember all that! :) And have used them all too... And I wouldn't go back either! ;)

To modern day advancements... and never looking back!! :) :)

Hey, that‘s the spirit :) I think that a lot of people who are against technology more or less are doing this for various reasons. Fear might be one. The feeling of being overwhelmed. The feeling to be to old or not capable to keep up with technological advancements.I remember an old lady always insisting on calling an electrician in order to change a light bulb. She was convinced that this simple operation would require an expert, a man of course as she thought that women were not capable to handle technology at all. her telephone and the television were pretty much all she ever touched. She was horrified when my mother simply grabbed a chair climbed up and changed that light bulb. Afterwards she called the electrician anyway, because she was convinced that my mom would have damaged something. The electrician came, had a look at it and was happy to have earned a decent amount in no time. He even called it a stupidity fee. Even today so many people are simply missing out and do not realize that they could improve their lives in so many ways, by communicating, by getting knowledge, by learning new skills, by having access to culture and even by making day by day tasks easier. The list seems endless. Yes, I do appreciate technology a lot. However there are some red lines for me. For example the vast collection of data for dubious reasons to name just one. Have a great day :)

Ohhhh goodness... lol... But I totally know what you mean!
I'm so glad my mum was exactly what you described - she did carpentry, cooked, knitted, crocheted, repaired almost everything around the house.... We are a family of 3 sisters, no guys around as my dad was always away... so no waiting for guys to do stuff, or they would never be done! So, I guess we benefitted from my mum's attitude... and she loved new stuff and learning to use them!! 😊 Looks like we both benefitted from our mums... Cheers, and have a great day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub

You can see our daily report in this link

Again, your support is highly appreciated. Thank you :)

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 1.06$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86