Memories from abroad - Darker side of Bangkok

in #monomad6 years ago

Dark side of thailand.jpg

I got to see a different side of Bangkok, one that few tourists ever do.

And it was all thanks to a chance encounter. I mean, I know people hear about the prostitute bars, the drugs, the crime, but how many people have a chance encounter that turns into a full on tour of the darkest corners of the city?

I did. And it all started while I was crossing the border into Laos to renew my Thai visa. I met a man, let's call him J. He was the kind of guy you'd expect to meet on this side of the world. Friendly, yet rough, experienced, and to the point. He shot the shit, but didn't take any. An Australian miner with a history of acting with some really big names, this guy knew his way around the city.

I'm not sure if I would call him a sex tourist or not

But when I first came to chill at his place he was living with a prostitute. Apparently trying to reform her. A popular activity for many people who live in Bangkok. I never got to know her though as she disapeared after one night of my crashing there. He was taking some time off from mining, just relaxing in a small pad in an unremarkable apartment building. Lost among countless other identical places.

I got like a thousand stories about the week of chilling in Bangkok with him and his friends. But this particular image reminds me of the day he took me to the oldest prostitute bar in Bangkok. We were on our way to grab some food before our escapade. Before food he wanted to snag a couple beers to warm up and took me to a little nook where the locals gathered.

And, by locals I mean

The people who worked at, ran, and frequented those places of ill repute. To everyone it was business as usual. Another insert day of week, another beer, another visit to the pleasure houses. Whether to work or to partake. As we sat down I knew this would probably be one of the more unique drinking experiences of my life. Not for the quality, but the rarity.

The characters were unique, but still felt like they came off of some warped assembly line. A man talking to a working girl on her off hours, joking about the trade. Two girls laughing back and forth in Thai while slamming back beers. Beautiful, feminine in their looks, but real in their mannerisms. The world an open book not coated in sweet frosting. Other aged men, planning their night, open in all respects to what they were going to do.

But the beer was cold

And the stories J was laying on me unbelievable to the point of believability. After all, this was Thailand. And Murray Head sang about it best. One Night in Bangkok makes the hard man humble... damn, they could not have been more accurate. And my night hadn't even begun.

Thanks for dropping by and catching this memory of mine. I was inspired to write about it because of @brumest's #monomad B&W photo contest. I was seeking an image that fit the category, street, and evoked strong emotional feedback in me. This story/stories with J....got a lot more of 'em, hehe. Wish I had more pics, but there are places you just don't pull out a camera.

Similar Posts
Memories from abroad - Tokyo Tower
Memories from abroad - The real beginning of photography for me
Kyogen - Japanese Theatre - A visual journey

Sort:  

Man... Bangkok is intense. @brandyb and I spent a few days there is did all the stops... the pingpong show was intense. It was seriously one of our favorite weekends... but the underbelly is depressing if you think about it.

Hehe, my journey into the underbelly through my writings has not even begun :) The people I met, things I saw, was invited to do... Thanks for dropping by and reading! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-darker-side-of-bangkok


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.26
Server time: 22:12:27
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 640.27/800.00
Total Photos: 38
Total comments: 60
Total contest wins: 9
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

it's a great contrast from the beaches and temples. i guess everything has its yin and yang, yet life goes on.

Hehe, it sure is. I spent quite a lot of time in Bangkok. Lot's of stories about that deep city to tell.

Hehe, it sure is a contrast. Was in Bangkok for a good amount of time. Got lots of stories to tell about that deep city :)

Come on, you had such a cool experience, surely you can crack a story or two here

Plenty more to come ;)

One of my enjoyments living here in Bangkok for almost eight years now you think you have seen it all heard it all but everyday a new page opens and it's always intriguing listening while your drowning yet another cold beer :)))

I drowned many cold beers when I was there, lol. In many little bars, cafes, and restaurants :)

If you decide to come back here again i'll show you a few more underbelly places :)))

Hehe, always a good time :)

You got a 11.63% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @mikesthoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44