Monomad Tuesday - Street

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

So I ventured into the Monomad project yesterday with a close-up of a spring blossom, which was the best I could do with the macro theme using an iPhone 6S. I won't pretend I'm going to do this daily, but I had so much fun with it yesterday that I decided to go for another!

Lovely black and white


I've always loved the beauty of black and white photography and its many moods, from starkly beautiful to sinister to film noir-ish -- which can be elegant, edgy or sexy.

I took this street picture today on a lunchtime walk near my office. On the left side of the street you will see flowering spring trees. In color, they alternate purple and white. I love the fetching rich gray of the purple trees in monochrome. I also love the fact that the street looks a little desolate even though in real life there was activity all around, and right behind me was a daycare center with children playing noisily in the yard.

I currently don't have a good camera, so this was again taken with my iPhone 6S.

IMG_6728.jpg

I wish you could smell the blossoms. They are heavenly and sweet!

About Monomad


Monomad is organized by @brumest. To join the monochrome madness, see the original post for the guidelines.

The basic task is to share an original monochrome photograph on Steemit, following the daily topic list below, and use the #monomad tag.

Monomad daily topics
Monday: Macro
Tuesday: Street
Wednesday: Abstract
Thursday: Animals
Friday: Flowers
Saturday: Silhouettes
Sunday: Skies

Thanks for visiting and happy Spring.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful! I haven't done the 'Street' theme for a while, since I always imagine it needs to be something fancy and foreign. But here you make a mundane street look interesting. The light/dark contrast to the trees at the left are amazing on their own.

Guess I'll have to grab some 'mundane' street images of my own!

Thanks, @negativer! I thought exactly the same thing. It has a kind of hometown feel to it, like “It was one of towns where nothing ever happens....” But then something does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44