Monomad Monday Macro - Flowering tree

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

This is my first Monomad post. I have been charmed by many of these beautiful images over my 11 months on Steemit, and today I was inspired to join this fun project by @aksounder's captivating arachnid post.

Fun with black and white


Black and white photography brings out the essence of a thing, which can otherwise be almost hidden by the garishness of color. Don't get my wrong. I am a huge fan of color. But I find that stripping it away lays bare the raw beauty of objects and things in nature.

I took this picture today on a lunchtime walk in a little town near my office that seems to still be trying to enter the 21st century. I came upon a giant tree, incongruously placed in a tiny yard, and its burst of white flowers took my breath away.

I currently don't have a good camera at my disposal, so this was taken with my iPhone 6S.

Monomad-flowers.jpg

Springtime starts late here in Minnesota. We had our last snow storm one month ago, and we are finally taking off our jackets and watching spring explode all around us. Can't you almost smell the springtime sweetness in those flowers?

About Monomad


Monomad is organized by @brumest. To join the monochrome madness, see the original post for the guidelines.

The basic task is to share an original monochrome photograph on Steemit, following the daily topic list below, and use the #monomad tag.

Monomad daily topics
Monday: Macro
Tuesday: Street
Wednesday: Abstract
Thursday: Animals
Friday: Flowers
Saturday: Silhouettes
Sunday: Skies

I guess I need to come up with another flower picture for Friday!

Thanks for visiting and happy Spring.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Glad I could provide inspiration Jayna! One key to a good monochrome photo is the subject, and you nailed it here. Great contrast.

Thanks, @aksounder! I think I have to work on the macro part but I probably need a better camera for that.

Don't let it hold you back in the meantime though--work with what you've got! But yes, smartphones aren't capable of true macro photography. Other than macro though, I've been really impressed with some of the images people are capturing on smartphones these days.

Thank you so much for the encouragement, @aksounder. I love photography and have invested time and money in the craft and the equipment at various times in my life, so I feel excited about dipping my toe in from time to time. I may have to start looking at cameras again.

Stunning!

Beautiful pic! Snapping photos for steemit does make you keep your eye open looking for things you wouldn't otherwise see or notice.

Thank you, @negativer. Yes, it really does. I took a few close-ups of some bricks yesterday as I was looking for macro opportunities. I would have just passed them by, but they grabbed my attention as I was on the lookout. They are quite interesting close up. I’m sure I looked like a weirdo, snapping pics of bricks!

If I may know, what is the name of that flower?

Oh, I wish I knew. There are so many flowering trees here, and I don’t know the names of them, unfortunately.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T21:18:09
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59